Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

TV World

by GaTechGrad - Compo Entry

Make your way through the nine channels of the TV World!
Collect remotes... shoot everything else!

Arrow keys to move
Spacebar to shoot

Red remote - increase fire rate
Pink remote - increase fire spread
Gray remote - go to the next channel

Tools used:
Engine - Unity 4.5.5f1, Playmaker 1.7.7.f6
Graphics - Blender 2.68a, Gimp 2.8.4, Taron's Verve Painter 0.99u.12
Audio - Audacity 2.0.3, Bfxr 1.3.3, Garage Band (used Apple loop samples to compose music)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#176Humor3.20
#287Audio3.15
#472Mood3.00
#505Fun3.13
#696Overall3.07
#718Graphics2.82
#1032Theme3.08
#1077Innovation2.25

Comments

KipKilligan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:26am

It's nice fun Shoot'em up, the movement is a bit weird besides that I enjoyed it.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Nice shoot-'em-up. The fact that you move between levels on the same scene was a good implementation of the theme. The range of musical styles was impressive.

Only wish the max on fire rate/spread was higher so it would be a little more bullet-hellish. :)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Hi there. Like the intro music. Nice layered movement. Killed the first boss and got a few red remotes. Good job!

recursor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:19pm

The variety of channels to go through was nice. I wish the enemies would shoot back as I had no trouble plowing right through them with my spread shot. Bonus points for including the spread shot power up.

lukepilgrim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:27pm

fun little game.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:52am

I loved the muzak!! nice work!! :)

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:46am

Very funny idea :D

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:47am

Funny little thing, overall I'm a bit "meh" on it, although the backgrounds are hilarious.

You'd have guessed "snowmen" were the theme at the beginning.

Nice job overall.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:55am

Yay, another TV game! Have to give you a good theme score for that (because that's what I went with too ;p )! I found the gameplay to be fairly fun, and the range of channels was good too.

Things that could be improved:
More difficulty for the later levels. For me it was the weather channel that was the hardest for me, since once I had all the power-ups the game didn't get any harder
A reason to keep grabbing power-ups. Perhaps something like them only lasting for a certain amount of time, so they're not pointless in the later levels.
A softer fire noise. I liked the music for this game, but I found the fire noise a little too high pitched and grating.

Apart from those issues, I thought this was quite a fun little game!

StrayCat says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:55am

I enjoyed my time being an evil tv shooting purring kittens. It would be fun if the powerups didn't cap so soon, but overall it's nice. Good job!

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:00am

That dog in the last level is terrifying. Also, once you get full speed and spread, you become invincible if you stand still and hold fire

lase says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:00am

Cool entry! I like the idea & the aesthetic of the game, but you can get pretty overpowered pretty quickly as long as you don't die immediately.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:02am

fun but pretty easy. good interpretation of the theme. would have liked some variation between levels.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:03am

This kept me playing, just to see what channel I'd end up on next! It's a cool interpretation of the theme. The movement feels a little sluggish, especially when you first press a direction.

gquibao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:05am

Enjoyed playing it. The graphics are a little bit weird, but the game is very funny. I think the greatest problem is that it's pretty easy, once you've reached the max level of fire rate and spread (which I reached on the third or fourth channel), you just have to stay still and shoot, everything will be destroyed without any effort. The bosses could move a bit, something to make it more challenging. Really enjoyed playing it!!!

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:23am

I see, so you have to shoot enemies to get upgrade... But still, the control is a little bit hard for me. It's not just that the fire rate is a bit quirky at the beginning, but also the acceleration of moving is a bit hard for me to master. Bullets don't protect me very well and I always haste to get upgrade so end up dying a lot. LOL

The audio is impressive. Nice work!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Great variety, cool take on the theme, great game! I Included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Z4bPWwSnLLA

vinull says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Other than my concerns for the dark and twisted art style that seems to be in all your games lately, nice game =)

tomhunt says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:50am

keyboard controls wouldn't work for me in Chrome browser. the arrow keys would just scroll the page and spacebar did nothing.

khahem says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:08am

Fun game ! Good variety in the channels, it was cool to go through all of them.

A bit more difficulty in the later levels wouldn't hurt though.

Budaniel says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:01am

That TV is a relatively big object to maneuver, and the controls feel sluggish until you get enough fire rate improving power ups. The concept is pretty interesting though, going form channel to channel.

voxel says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:34am

Yeah! Go Jackets!

I really liked the aesthetic here. It's the best kind of madness. Low res backgrounds, enemies that looked like pickups (it was difficult to convince myself not to grab the lollypops), great music for each channel, loved all of it.

I'd like to see some kind of transition between channels. Maybe a flicker of static for a couple of frames? But otherwise I really can't fault this for what it is: a simple, fun sidescrolling shmup.

Dissiden7 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:00pm

After you get all the upgrades there's not much of a challenge, which is a shame. Having some enemies shooting back at you would've probably fix it.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:10am

This is a really solid little shoot'em up. One of the few games I've played here where I was compelled to keep trying to get better. Nice work.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:28am

Really a fun game, once you get going. I really didn't care for the 3D graphics, though.. Kept me playing a while, nonetheless!

calavera says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:40am

felt a little sluggish but i kept playing just to see more channels! i liked it!

Kain.Oborin says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:07am

I really loved this game, but it was for a reason I can't really place. Despite the fact that it's easy (which I can't stand in games), I really enjoyed it. Thank you for the experience.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:55am

The Idea of being a remote control is brilliant, and so are the enemies and stages seen as channels.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:35am

Great ! surprising super hard shmup :)

Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:20am

LOL! I kept on laughing while playing at this game, no wonder those boots can kill the TV. Really fun, Great game :D

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:24am

Nice fun Shoot'em up< The movement is a bit weird for me. Well done ++

Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:13am

like these types of games. This is just a bit easier than other games. But overall you did a great job :D.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]