Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Battle Of The Internets

by leo_gri - Compo Entry

Fight in the screen arena for the glory of the internets !

WARNING: needs 2 players

Controls (customisable in the standalone version) :

- Player 1: - Arrows to move and jump
- "k" or left-click to aim
- "l" or right-click to shoot
- "m" (azerty) or ";" (querty) or middle-click to cast you super xtreme special power

-Player 2: - q (azerty) or a (qwerty) and d to move , z (azerty) or w (qwerty) to jump
- "f" to aim
- "g" to shoot
- "h" to cast you super mega spell

(the weird bars at the top of the screen are the cooldowns and the lives of the player :p )

Characters :
- The Troll : moves fast and can teleport himself !! (sort of)
- Forever Alone : fires tears :'( Kind of sucks except for his special power : he can clone himself !
- FuckYeah : fires powerful grenades. He can summon a shield

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#313Humor2.88
#872Audio1.97
#937Theme3.26
#976Innovation2.46
#1040Mood2.23
#1050Fun2.42
#1167Graphics1.89
#1179Overall2.27

Comments

chakitp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:01am

How can anyone Play this Game.. No control mapping for both players.. how can one know which controls to use??

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:58pm

AHAHAHHAHA Very fun!But, I was confused by the controls

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Very fun but it's hard to use the controls of each character

Nitrodeus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:29pm

HAha funny game ! But just... why is the window called harry potter ? :p

MrSun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:57am

I like the humor you incorporated and the whole concept, but yeah the controls are hard to use, as other people have said!

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Lol. Funny concept. I like where they battle too. Keep improving. Keep making games.

Well done!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Very fun but it's hard to use the controls of each character. can be improved. Thx ++

Shampop says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Awesome Idea, but yeah, controls.

Right-click to shoot wasn't the best idea, given that it open the box each time..

But very fun !

d3garcia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Mechanics look good but I had a hard time aiming since I dont have an indicator from where the bullet will come out.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:48am

Funny. Reminds me of a game you had an Windows XP background where you needed to fight against virusses.
Controls where "meh" thought. Maybe a little polishing.
Mechanics are pretty cool.
Well done!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:11pm

web player crushes on safari, check please

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:44am

I like the idea, but it just wasn't fun for me. The shooting was annoying to use, and the controls were a bit frustrating to use.
However, the graphics and sounds were decent, and it was kinda funny. It also fit the theme well.

01rafael says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:11pm

It seemed like nothing to do here except to stick around. But anyway this is a nice concept and great character customization.

davidB says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Thanks for azerty version. I toke some fun with my son. hard to control shot direction with some avatar.

Bemmu says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Fits the theme perfectly.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]