Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Gone Pondin'

by xhunterko - Compo Entry

Gone Pondin' is a small fishing game meant to played during breaks as a small distraction. Chill and relax as you catch 9 fish from a small pond. Catch them all!

Controls:

Use the mouse to move your hook and bobber!
Wait for a fish to get under your bobber, then click to catch one!

Mini guide:

Don't try to catch a fish by hovering on top of it, try to sneak up below on it's left side!

If you do startle a fish, don't panic! Go over to the other side and simply hold as still as you can. Then when the fish darts under it, click!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#768Humor2.19
#782Graphics2.74
#888Audio1.88
#889Mood2.54
#1013Innovation2.39
#1022Theme3.10
#1114Overall2.52
#1123Fun2.23
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Hi there. Game runs okay but couldn't work out how to catch even one fish, they just seem to run away from bait hook. Shame no background sounds.

Wertle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:59pm

I caught all 9 fish. I enjoyed the retro graphics a lot and how there wasn't a lot of flashy things going on. I'm really impatient, but I appreciate how the game does have a relaxing feel to it.

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:41am

do you know that sometimes we don't catch a fish but a frog, a tortle, a jellyfish... ???
(it made me laugh!)
The game is relaxing OR not challenging (with frenetic click, you can finish it quickly...)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Nice setting, the game would be a lot better with some bgm - i know it is hard to do that in the compo, my game also does not have any music, but your entry begs for a nice, relaxing tune.

Hard to catch a fish, as it is in real life. I tried to follow your tips but couldn't catch any of them - maybe you could make some of them dumber, bitting the bait more easily than others.

Overall a cool patience-based game, good job!

anissen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Good idea but I found the fish very hard to catch. Also there didn't seem to be any way to win/lose the game - or maybe I just didn't find it. Nice graphics and I liked that the hook could be caught in stuff floating in the water

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I think it would've been better to make the "clickbox" on the fish a bit bigger so catching is easier. Keep it up!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Hey, not bad. Short and simple, those fishes were pretty tricky, but managed to catch them all.

dkellycollins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:54am

I think that game would benefit a lot if you added a timer as it would give players something to improve on each time they played the game. Solid game though.

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:32am

Hey, interesting controls for a fishing game. I eventually caught one fish, but it was a little frustrating trying to time things. Wasn't sure what the logs and lilypads were for, either. Anyway, it was nice and playable. Good job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:40am

Gotta catch 'em all !

Crushenator says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:42am

This reminds me of that electric level in alleycat.

Alendro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:02am

Very relaxing. Couldn't catch any fish, but good job anyways :)

JonnyGinger says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:05am

Couldn't catch a fish.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Took me quite a while to get the hang of it, but I do appreciate that the game requires more than just pointing and clicking. This makes it relaxing, but not boring and thus really well-suited as a small distraction.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:10pm

seems like a nice little distraction game, but boy howdy did i have a tough time catching any fish

nuqu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:25pm

I really like the graphics! Its very calm, I wish there was a soundtrack, like a calm one for fishing :). I didnt get any fish :(, maybe too hard? Overall, I like it

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:13am

The mechanics in this game were interesting. I like the way your bobber would get caught on debris but still attempt to follow your cursor like a real fishing line would. I also like the way you had to "lead" the to catch them (though it was frustrating that some fish would dart away even if I wasn't moving the mouse).

xhunterko says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:43am

Thank you all for the comments so far! I'm just glad that you don't utterly hate it! ^^

Kimau says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I thought they were frogs till I caught one. Too much frustration for my liking but very nice one screen concept.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]