Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Rude Bear Ride

by Alex Rose - Jam Entry

It's Rude Bear on a hoverboard, and you hit stuff. What more could you want?

This is the 8th game in the Rude Bear series (and 7th in the core Ludum Dare series).

Code etc. by Alex Rose @Vorpal_Games
Art by Gaby In-Wonderland @GabysWonderland
Music and music system by Atmospherium @Atmospherium
SFX by Christopher White

Controls:
BEST PLAYED WITH A 360 CONTROLLER. LIKE.. NOT EVEN WORTH TRYING IF YOU DON'T HAVE ONE. ALSO BEST PLAYED WITH FRIENDS, LOL LIKE YOU HAVE THEM.

Left stick = Fly.
Right stick = Slap.
A = Choose option/return to menu (if game is over).
B = Return to menu.

On keyboard it's the same stuff but with WASD and directional keys for player 1, and for player 2 it's IJKL and the numpad 8456. Think of it a bit of a bonding Fingle-esque experience, hands over each other.

Space = Forwards.
Esc = Menu.

<--- BONUS --->
If you play multiplayer and let the Wizard win a round, you can play Onslaught 2 coop. Enjoy.


If you use AZERTY, it's /actually supported/!

The music system is very clever and by Atmospherium. It on the fly figures out the situation and changes the music to match it. So that's cool. Also, the light on the background changes to match the TV's glow.

Aaaand, this is the prequel to Rude Bear Radio.

We actually made 4 games this weekend, 3 of them sucked though. This one took half of Sunday and all of Monday, about 29 hours in total.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#113Humor(Jam)3.55
#168Audio(Jam)3.50
#184Graphics(Jam)3.94
#289Overall(Jam)3.46
#306Fun(Jam)3.31
#321Mood(Jam)3.30
#390Innovation(Jam)3.21
#544Theme(Jam)3.51

Comments

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:21am

Really fun. I will have to get a friend to try out the multiplayer.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34am

Cheers! Yeah, that's a problem with LD I guess, rating is generally a lonely process, which is why I threw in single player. Game was originally designed to be MP.

If you do end up trying it, might be worth trying Coop, by letting Player 2 win Battle mode and then choosing Onslaught.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:58am

Tackling a multiplayer game in a game jam is no joke. I think you pulled it off pretty well on the keyboard, but I definitely want to try again with some USB controllers!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29pm

I really liked it!

Controls are a bit iffy with keyboard but that's only to be expected with the mechanics at hand:)

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Love this game. Really fun and it looks really good.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03pm

As usual from you, quality stuff indeed. A deceptively simple idea, but surprisingly challenging. Nicely polished presentation.

Pete_H says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Fun game, was a bit fiddly with keyboard controls but as soon as I switched to the pad it much better. Only tried SP. Very ambitious doing a MP game in a jam! Good job :)

elvaq says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:40am

Pretty nifty concept with the dual stick! Again it's hard to judge MP but I had fun just coming to grips with the controls. Swatting things feels really satisfying

Recon says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Funteresting!

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:50pm

I like the game. I think I'll rip off my right stick if I'll play more)

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:13pm

This game is great!!! Psychodelic bear surfs on psychodelic waves :)

blay09 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Really nice graphical effects. The music system sounds pretty cool and the 'produced' music felt smooth and natural.

And of course there's the very nice implementation of the screen wrapping (the way it doesn't just teleport you, but seems to 'cut' the character in two) which is also an interesting use of the theme (rather than 'just' playing on a Sony screen ingame).

Overall, another cool entry in the Rude Bear series and I had fun, thanks!

VDZ says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:14pm

I think the inclusion of single-player likely has a detrimental effect on your ratings, as the singleplayer isn't very interesting while this seems like the kind of game that could be a lot of fun in multiplayer...but not having anyone to play it with nor Xbox controllers, I'm rating it having only played the singleplayer, and I expect many others will do the same.

For singleplayer, I thought Onslaught wasn't very fun, being just dodging balls with the option to slap them away with the somewhat awkward slapping controls (you have to actually slap to get them away instead of just pushing them, which is fun in theory but just awkward in practice). (It must be noted that I'm also not very fond of twin stick shooters, so maybe it just isn't my kind of game.)

Battle mode is something that would appeal to me a lot more...except the enemy literally doesn't do anything in singleplayer. I'm very sure I'd have a lot more fun with this game in multiplayer.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:52pm

The game looks totally cool. It is also fun to play and even has controller support. Congrats, especially because you made three other ones and this one still turns out so well.

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Wow. This game is polished like crazy and is fun to play! Big download but I'm glad I took the time. Great work!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:11pm

nice graphics

Poxymyr says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I love it! The idea is good, it looks like you have done a 5 times better version of the game I intended to do :D I always love Rude Bear games and this one is no exception!

mohammad says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:34am

Great game, probably even the greatest game up here.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]