Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Gingerman And The Christmas Tree

by markusfisch - Compo Entry

Deep in the night, the gingerman awakes to climb all the way up to where the mighty star shines so bright.

Beware of the fire of the candles and use the christmas balls to reach the top. There are only a couple of levels everyone should be able to master.

Edit (2014-12-12):
Please use the Web link if you prefer to use keyboard controls (arrow keys). When the game is embedded, all keyboard input is swallowed by the embedding page. Sorry for that. Pointer input was primarily meant for touch devices.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#277Graphics3.54
#320Humor2.86
#424Fun3.22
#546Innovation3.14
#599Overall3.16
#600Mood2.89
#1032Theme3.08

Comments

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43am

Control is great. Theme so fun. Congrats. It's fun

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Some may say the animation is simple, but I just love walking, celebrating and even burning Gingerman :-) !!! Great game !

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Strange controls; it might have been worth explaining them (or using something a bit more conventional). Nice theme and very appropriate graphics.

bobombe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:53pm

The controls are a little weird (I don't know if i like or not ^^). Anyway, the game is fun (the graphics too) and a bit challenging :)

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37am

Cool mechanic, I like the christmas theme :P

tMalicet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Fun game, I like the controls.

Bernhard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Interesting controls, the mouse only thing actually works.
Cute graphics nice tree generation.
Some Christmas-y music would have been perfect :-)

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Nice one, easy to pick up and get into even though the controls aren't conventional.

brokenbeach says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Fun controls and cute visuals. Good work"

brokenbeach says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Fun controls and cute visuals. Good work!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Interesting control mechanic, simple game but well executed!

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Interesting game. Nice graphics, and mastering the unusual control scheme represents the core challenge. Fun to play, it'll be nice to have more level / propos in a post-compo version!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Hi there. Managed first two levels, third one always burnt after first bauble. Shame no xmas soundtrack. Nice graphics. Weird but intuitive control scheme. Good job!

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:24pm

This is lovely. Gingerman is awesome. I'm your greatest fun! ;))

Valandre says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Nice entry, very cute graphics and very fun.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Cute little game, great idea and I really dig the art style. Wish you could have used arrow keys or wasd for movement and jumping through.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:21am

I WON!! It's an adorable game!! And I liked the innovative way to control the main character.
Nice graphics and cool animations. I just wish it had more levels hahaha :P
Good work! :D

Hoothoot says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:10am

Great little game! Felt like the controls would suit mobile devices well.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Simple but sweet! I love the pixelart and palette, and feel like such a pro dodging flame on those last couple levels.
Nicely done!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Short but sweet. Very solid entry and good level design. Shame there's no sound though (Also the gingerman deaths are pretty funny).

Downtown says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:59pm

very nice, straight forward little game. that last level was quite difficult to line the final jump up but got it in the end.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:13pm

When I saw the first tree I thought... man, that's was really easy, are you kidding me? But when I up the level at the next tree, I fell in love with that cookie buddy. Then I arrived to the last one and when the game says... You won... I was expecting for more levels... so... DO MORE LEVELS NOOOWW!!! Love it :D

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Hey, I thought your game was really sweet! Very relevant to the time of year, now I'm kinda hungry. :I Some audio would have been nice, but I quite like what you have already - it's actually rather pleasant after the extremely hectic games I've seen so far. Well done, I enjoyed it!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Simple, beautiful and very very charming. Some polish would be nice of course (title screen, sounds/music etc.) but what's here is very enjoyable.

Tuism says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Hmmmmm so it was made *for* touch? Keyboard works much better though the touch potential is there.

I was very excited when I thought the levels were procedurally generated. But when I realised they were not I got less excited :P

But a cool effort :) Pretty :)

zatyka says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:57am

Made it to the end. I appreciate the atypical platform setting, and think it worked out well. Graphics were cute, and the levels were fun, though a bit repetitive. I was hoping that more game mechanics would be introduced.

It took me a few seconds to realize I had to click the mouse, or hit space to respawn. is there a reason you didn't want to auto-respawn after dying?

markusfisch says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:59pm

@Tuism
Actually I tried to procedurally generate the levels but that didn't work out too well. That's the reason there are only four levels :) Generating a well balanced but increasingly challenging distribution is quite delicate.

@zatyka
No, I just didn't realize because I was hitting space all the time while developing. Auto-respawning will be definitely in the post-compo version.

Wirtualnosc says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:37am

Very nice little game! Wish it could be a bit longer.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]