Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Heartbreak

by elemel - Compo Entry

Heartbreak is a Breakout clone with physics and procedural levels.

It requires LÖVE (version 9.1 works for me):

https://love2d.org/

Download heartbreak.love here:

https://github.com/elemel/heartbreak/releases/tag/v1.0.0

You control the paddle with the arrow keys. You score by hitting static bricks with a ball, by breaking falling bricks with the paddle, and by scoring bricks that fall off the screen. You are awarded an extra ball every twenty points.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#760Audio2.33
#914Theme3.29
#971Innovation2.47
#1024Fun2.47
#1041Overall2.65
#1086Graphics2.18
#2152Coolness22%

Comments

ketura says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Fun enough, though I have to question the decisions to make the paddle spherical and the movement acceleration, which makes movement frustrating and decreases one's tolerance for what could otherwise be played indefinitely.

sausagroll says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30pm

The game doesn't work. Soon after it starts it says "attempt to call method clone (a nil value)" and crashes.

elemel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:39pm

ketura: Yeah, I'm having second thoughts about those things too... If I do any post-LD hacking on it I'll probably switch to a flat paddle and add mouse controls.

elemel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:41pm

@sausagroll OK, that's both weird and unfortunate. The only clone call I have is for playing multiple instances of the same sound in parallel. What version of LÖVE are you using?

elemel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Since @sausagroll was having problems, I've updated the description to say that LÖVE version 9.1 works for me.

Aglavra says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Wouldn't you provide .exe file? I liked the screenshots, but all I see on download link is .love file.

elemel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Aglavra: I didn't have time to package it for all platforms. You can download LÖVE separately, it's nice and simple. Sorry for the hassle!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Interesting concept of having a spherical paddle. I really liked that you can smash the falling pieces.

solarexplorer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:22pm

The control for the paddle felt really loose, I felt like I was always guessing where the paddle would end up. Nice animation with the falling bricks.

elemel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

HuntTheWumpus: Yeah, it gives you something to do while waiting for the ball. And there's a nice risk/reward to it.

elemel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:46pm

solarexplorer: Agree on the paddle controls. I usually die instantly the few times I make it to level 3.

jangler says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:23am

Made it to level 3. I loved the color scheme. The bricks falling & breaking was cool. Nothing too new here, but a solid playable game.

vrld says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:58am

Interesting idea, but doesn't really work because the controls are way too "inert".

elemel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:33pm

jangler: Well done!

elemel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:33pm

vrid: Yeah, agreed...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]