Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Car Survival Horror 3000!

by doos - Jam Entry

So there I was, minding my business, being a spider, eating some flies, when OH MY GOD!! This crazy driver comes out of nowhere, ruins my crib, and now I'm stuck on the front end of a joyride from hell..

The cursors help, but she keeps turning at random and I'm flung every which way, trying desperately to cling on.. It's survival, man! At least there is some sweet tasty bugs to chow down on.. With some sweet sweet barbecue sauce.. Or maybe some more bug. Mmmmmm-mmmm!

Use cursor keys to move around!

Uploaded another version and went for the Jam instead, as it needed more time to fix some bugs..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Theme(Jam)4.15
#111Humor(Jam)3.56
#372Audio(Jam)3.07
#524Innovation(Jam)3.00
#593Mood(Jam)2.92
#662Graphics(Jam)2.93
#686Fun(Jam)2.81
#719Overall(Jam)2.96
#1461Coolness47%

Comments

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:37am

Game on one windscreen... Ha, I get it...!
I found it too easy to stay on the windscreen, eventually just walking off the edge to see what would happen...
Kinda sad I didn't get a score or something, I ate more bugs than any other spider would in it's lifetime...
I think there needs to be some sort of visual indicator for the wild turning that the old lady does, to show why your spider was moving fast and now is hardly going anywhere...
Add some chomping sounds, and maybe change the collisions with bugs a but (they often stopped me from flying off the windscreen) and it'd be alright...

doos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:20am

Thanks for the feedback, I added more polish and moved to the Jam..

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51am

hehe quite fun :)

Azlen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:34am

A bit too easy, incorporating some kind of danger other than falling off would make it more fun. Plus maybe you could make it easier to fall off.

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:39am

Nice idea. It'd be more fun if it was a little harder to play.

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10am

Oh man this was really funny.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Great take on the theme. Liked the silly graphics and audio. Fun to play but could be a lot more fun if it was really hard to stay on!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Hi there. Like the graphics and sounds, fit well. Didn't find any challenge though after a minute or two just ambling around chomping.

doos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:48am

The difficulty should ramp up over time alive until it is impossible to stay on.. Which is too hard, I guess. One solution would be to have a character select about who to put in the car.. Boy racer or granny.

I was thinking that if you don't eat the bugs in time, she uses the windscreen wipers of doom, but it was too complicated for the jam..

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50am

Sort of fun, but I think too easy? Maybe if the car moved around and you had to keep up with it, so you didn't roll off the side.

I liked the feel of it and the idea!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Way too easy, but the graphics and audio are really nice :) Good idea too!

gillenew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:36am

very nice game hahaha, was 386 points

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:40am

lol, funny concept, the visuals are nice

LimeniusTeam says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I think you made the right decision taking 24 hours more, the feeling of the second version is so much better. Love the graphics and the audio. Curiously enough, a bug on a screen was the second idea we considered for our game; we didn't choose it because we were not sure to be able to make a fun game of it. But you really did it, good job!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:58pm

This was a cute concept (:

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:39pm

A bit easy but fun game :)

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Fun little game.

jachepe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:43pm

hahah funny game but it's very easy

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Hahaha, the sounds and graphics just make the game hilarious! Great!

lukepilgrim says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:39pm

funny :D but a bit easy

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nice - would love to see high score and progress tho

+ points for making it easy to play via Phaser.js and HTML5 :)

Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:08am

It really fits the theme, and the music is nice, but its very easy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]