Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Wavy Jumps

by Mefteg - Jam Entry

Wavy Jumps is an arcade game in which you have to avoid waves and collect bonus to increase your score.

How to play:

- Keyboard
-- Move: Arrows
-- Jump: Spacebar
-- Restart: Enter

- Gamepad XBOX 360
-- Move: Joystick
-- Jump: A
-- Restart: Start

Made by the LadybugRiders team (http://ladybugriders.com/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#164Fun(Jam)3.54
#209Theme(Jam)3.88
#246Audio(Jam)3.33
#274Overall(Jam)3.48
#293Graphics(Jam)3.70
#342Mood(Jam)3.27

Comments

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17am

Started off pretty easy, but got frantic quick when things spawned in quickly...
Quite enjoyed the simpleness of it all...
Good work..!

wavertron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:47am

Interesting idea. Graphics very clean, a sort of simple elegance to it. I felt like it needed a little more complexity in the mechanics.

Mefteg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Thank you guys! Did someone play with an XBOX controller?

Yoona says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Thank you for the feedback :)

I tried to create simple and nice graphics like the gameplay !

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Score 4442. Gets pretty challenging! I like :)

Asaratha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56pm

I really like this game! You did a great job. Also is the delay in the jump intentional?

cinderous says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56pm

I liked the simplicity! Never felt so stressed out over circles... Thumbs up for the xbox controller support too!

tudd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Graphics were great! Could use some music and maybe rings shouldn't spawn right next to you.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Pretty cool game! The difficulty curve of the game is really good. Took me a while to figure out that jumping over the circles doesn't give you extra points. The color scheme is cool, as is the tweet button (this is absolutely the only situation I would ever use one of those!). Downside might be that because it is top down it is sometimes hard to see when you have to jump to get over a circle. Also, every now and then the game has a little lagspike which is not something you want with games like this. This would also be a pretty fun multiplayer game!

flyingbear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:05am

Just a few simple elements, yet it adds up to a nice shape-avoiding game as your brain tries to piece all the different circles together. That's some elegant design right there!

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55am

Elegant is a great way to describe this. It needs some soothing tones as the circles start. Almost like rain falling.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Really good fun jumping in and out of the waves!

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I can't seem to go North-West and jump at the same time, though that might just be a problem with my keyboard.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Very clean and simple visual style, looks very polished. Music complements the graphics nicely.

Played with the keyboard first then tried out a controller since you asked and everything worked flawlessly! It would just be nice to have a button to restart the game (or a cursor to move around) so you wouldn't have to grab the mouse to do it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17pm

A cool game, jumping feels more real than I expected. The UI is polished and the graphics looks nice. Music, in my own opinion, does not really fit the tense game play though... but overall it is a great game!

lekochen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Elegant design, visual and gameplay.

hectorhon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18pm

3919. Easily the most aesthetically pleasing game I played so far, with good audio to it too :)

acerunox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Wow! Simple, but great game. First try - 6049. :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:53pm

The game is simple and fun. Sometimes it is impossible to escape a situation, but maybe you just should not go there. I like the simplistic aesthetics.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59pm

I like this game's minimalistic design. Simply and relaxing

RetroEpic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Really good. Simple, elegant and well executed.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Hi there. Appreciate the overhead parallel lines perspective, but very tricky to judge height. Nice sounds.

Mixer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:40am

Bugger, only shows a black box for me :/ Win 8 Firefox

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:45am

Wow, a lot of polish on this for such a short timeframe. Really enjoyable game, every aesthetic touch suited it perfectly and there wasn't a single one too many. If you're continuing to work on it multiplayer might be fun to play around with ;)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:52am

Simple fun and graphics, great work. I've felt calm as well while playing it. :D
Loved the minimal art style. My score is 5540.

Yoona says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Wahou ! We really appreciated it !

We spotted great ideas and we will try our best to improve Wavy Jumps :)

Thank you very much !

Pankoman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:54pm

I liked the appeasing feeling you get when you play, audio is great too. I think adding mouse controls would suit perfectly.

cabezotta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:24pm

I really enjoy it! i like its graphics! :D

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:47pm

simple, but fun and challenging game, well done

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:01am

Very original, good job

camlang says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Simple and fun game. Nice job!

Mefteg says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:30am

Thank you! We'll try to had a leaderboard and, if time allows us, a multi-player mode. What do you say about it?

Aske says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Really great with a game with gamepad support

Managore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:24am

Beautiful game, I adore the style and sounds! 6108.

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Beautifully done.

Nice music and + points for making it accessible via Phaser.js

Would have loved to see some additional power-ups, levels and global high scores

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:18pm

It was just my clumsiness of not having the Scroll lock on, but apart from that, it was a great game! included it in my random LD31 gameplay video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ei_gJeG5cgM

pht59x says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:46am

Lovely sound, music and minimalist graphics. Overall, it's a good funny little game. Maybe a quicker pace to begin with would be better.

Mefteg says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Thank you guys! We really appreciate your feedbacks :)

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Nice game and good use of phaserJS ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]