Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

pluvia

by ENDESGA - Compo Entry

Are you a pluviophile?

This is a small game, where you follow Lucas (also in COR) in the rain.

When you open pluvia, you can easily tab out, and just listen to the rain :)

Or, travel back forth through the darkness, and discover what happened...

This also includes a link to my new album "EXTEND"

----
I have had a few comments about it being "a concept" or "small". While making it, I ran out of ideas. But I'll definitely be building on to this!

Thank you everyone for your nice comments! <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#13Audio4.12
#17Mood4.20
#96Graphics3.98
#271Theme3.84
#298Overall3.46
#601Innovation3.07
#838Humor2.02
#1024Fun2.47

Comments

Aomeas says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Looking good, but I don't have Windows :/

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I sadly can't export it to anything else other than Windows and Android, sorry :(

Hellequin says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Wow... it's so nice! I really loved the concept so innovative! ^^

plump says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Well, it isn't a game at all. It's decent anyways.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:26pm

@plump Technically, it is a game :) But I understand your misconception. Hope you liked it though!

mr_mg says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Looks really nice and an interesting way to take the concept.

alvarop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:09am

Interesting take on the theme. The rain looks so cool.

alvarop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:21am

Hey, I'm not here to police or anything, but from what I can see you used a track you created before the compo? I saw this here : https://endesga.bandcamp.com/. I don't care, but it'd be cool, if it's the case, that you mention it so you opt out of the audio category.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:26am

@alvarop
I actually made the track last night, but added it to my album :) It's all legit bro :D

alvarop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:24am

Hehe, we cool then, we cool.
*goes away in the shadows, his silhouette becomes one of a detective*

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:28am

@alvarop hahaha :D

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13am

Also looks rly good, but also on a mac :(
wish I could play.

glaze_96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24am

The mood is really awesome. This, as a concept is great!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29am

Short and sweet.
It feels like an intro to something.
I like the wet footstep sound.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

@ElectricSeagull
Yeah, I guess it could be an intro :)
It's actually also a sequel to one of my previous games: COR

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

After a bit I couldn't move, and couldn't exit the game. From what I did get, though, it's great. I could just sit and listen to the rain or the music.

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

It's REALLY good :D i just loved it

daftcube says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:55am

That was something else. Captivating. The unique art style and music made this awesome.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:55am

Left me wanting more, Frustratingly so.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56am

Looks and feels great. The rain is awesome. Was a bit slow for my taste though. Walked back and forth a few too many times. :)

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

I loved the sound and music, as well as the mood you achieved. I kept expecting the gaunt man to jump out at me or something. Is there a reason you chose to have a black background around the character?

iMer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

Really enjoyed this.
Nice and relaxing after all the stressing out :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

@Groydis
I'll definitely be building on to this! I just ran out of ideas :P

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

Very polished! Great music, great visuals. Not super interactive, but not everything has to be!

oranebeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58am

An interesting game, that uses the theme well and backs it up with great music and art mood.

devshawn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:59am

This was pretty good.

MrSun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:59am

The graphics are beautiful. The story's pretty cheesy, but I think that's forgivable given the short time. Reminds me of Passage.

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00am

Simple, but with a very clean execution. It definitely leaves you wanting to know more about the characters of this little world. And you can't fault the music, it was beautiful (I did also check out the album and that too is fantastic)

dpulrich says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:01am

The visuals, audio and overall mood is amazing. I just wish that you made it a bit longer, but it's okay since there was a 48h time limit. You should consider expanding this game, and turning it into a full story. This idea has a lot if potential!

Fnkee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:03am

Amazing soundscape, combined with a really cool noir art style. The story was really sweet, and I loved the part with the gaunt man. Didn't expect that!

A really great game for 48 hours, and you managed to fulfill the theme as well. If you ever build more on it, I'd love to see more.

Oh, and I really liked that walk cycle.

Seraphina says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:12am

I like what you've got started here, but it is definitely very short. Nice piece overall though.

komjaur says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16am

32bit dont work :S

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17am

@komjaur
I'm afraid I can't do much about that, sorry :/

rallebauz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:34am

The music and lighting is perfect

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

The mood this game puts you in is great. Mood is hard to achieve and you did a great job. Stayed true to the theme as well.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

I am in love with the ultra-smooth visuals and sound effects. There's ton of potential in a game like this being fleshed out.

TKF15H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:48am

I love how polished it is. The bit with the quiet dude felt random, maybe I didn't get it. :P

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54am

@TKH15H It was a little random, but things will become clear in the 3rd Part of the Trilogy!

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:16am

Lots of previous games on one screen put into one. Coding a pong API in 48hrs is pretty great! Good job!

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18am

that was pretty cool

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:23am

Super polished, fits the theme perfectly and walk cycle is flawless! What you can do in 48hrs is amazing!

mahalis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50am

Very cool. Loved the rain particle effects and the music. Clever use of the light to bring things in and out of the scene... I'll admit I didn't know what was going on at the end, but the whole thing felt kind of pleasantly contemplative.

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:10am

Set's the mood really well, not much in the way of interactivity but the music/sound and art style are all really well executed.

flouiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:54am

Nice mood, graphics & sound. Your story sound well ;)

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:21am

Very nice! Good looking,nice music, story with potential(but sadly short).
Hope you will work on it!

maxyan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:21am

Beautiful artwork!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23am

Awwww, I cant get it to run correctly. 4K monitor here and its just a black screen. Is there any way to run it in a window?

Mixer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23am

Very moody.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:42am

@benmcnelly Wow, I never considered compatibility for a 4K monitor! No sorry, haha I don't think it'll work :/

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:01am

Great atmosphere :)

tedling says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:03am

interesting, and as a lot of people already said: a nice concept that could definitely go further.

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Aw..... :')

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Damn it - this looks amazing, wish there was a web version!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Beautiful and atmospheric. It would be an interesting concept to try and raise this seemingly depressed character into happiness as a goal in a future version.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:50pm

7.8/10 Too much water ~ IGN

pjchardt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:20am

Delightful experience! I love the atmosphere you created. I did encounter a bug where the event with the character that shows up on the left never triggered and I was stuck in place with the audio cue playing repeatedly. I had to force quit and restart :( Other than that, I really enjoyed the experience.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:35am

Incredible piece of art, sometimes i wonder what will happen if a psychoanalyst gets to review our games...

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43am

Short but pretty powerful. Love it~

barry.p.evans says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45am

Best word i can use to describe it is "Clean". Very pretty and the sound design was great!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08am

Well done. Really enjoyed playing this. Loved the noir art style. Good Job!

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:51am

This was a very relaxing game. The sound, and overall tone of everything was top notch. Hope to see you expand upon this in the future.

mtanton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Really liked the mood between the art style and the audio. It's a nice, chill entry. Nice job!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:58pm

So it's a game of walking back and forth... Interesting. Love the soundtrack btw, keep up that good work :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:04am

@Grindstorm haha I guess you could think of it like that :D

Thanks!

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:16am

Great sound! Although the game itself feels a little bit empty, but it's a cool experiment overall.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:11am

A refreshing entry and the music is captivating, but as a game I was bored.

MonoS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:01am

I really enjoyed this little beautiful game.
It successfully build a very interesting mood in me.
Also very good graphic and sound [right now i'm listening to the soundtrack].
I'd like to know where you find inspiration for this game.

rubna says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:44pm

liked the atmosphere, but the events in the game don't really connect. I liked them individually though; and the clearing up of the skies at the end was cool :D
nice!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:24am

This was a really nicely executed little vignette. I'm looking forward to where this might lead in the future! Thanks for sharing it.

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:38am

Great little experience!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:09pm

It was a beautiful experience!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:30am

Well, if there's one thing you can say about me, it's that I certainly love rain... ! I played this with a storm outside. The audio sampling for the rain and footstep SFX is really nice, and the graphics are really clean. The story was kind of spotty, though. When the character said the rain made him fall in love, I thought the gaunt guy was going to be the target... I guess I ended up feeling a bit like no meaningful choices were available, and that events were totally random--even sometimes thematically inappropriate.

Still, as an aesthetic vignette, this is very pleasant. You did a great job of the design! Thank you.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Wow I really love this game. It appeals to me more so than ever right now because of it's personal nature and the themes it deals with. The smooth walk animation was really lovely too.

I don't know about sending the player to your album afterwards. It feels kind of pushy. I did listen to and enjoy your music. But slightly guiltily.

Indieindio says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:02pm

wow nice game

Indieindio says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:03pm

android link?

runvs says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Wow, that was awesome! I really like the way you are telling the story. Also the dark and opressing mood is great!
Nothing to say about sound, it just fits perfectly. Please keep up the great work (+1 buyer for your album :) )

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:05am

Great use of atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]