Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Very Dungeon

by JaviCepa - Compo Entry

You awake in the middle of an empty room and don't remember anything.
You try to escape but don't get too far, falling on a spike bed.

You awake in the middle of a storage room and don't remember anything.
Your clothes are pierced and have blood on them. You try to escape but don't get too far, being eaten by a gigant spider.

You awake in the middle of a dungeon and don't remember anything.

You awoke in the middle of...


Infinite levels, one screen
10 different upgrades/items
2 playable characters
And many more mysteries...

Downloads and Links




Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:58am

Awesome game!!!
The procedural Generation sometimes felt a bit unfair,
but at least not bad for 48 hours!
Keeping the upgrades was really nice idea.
Good luck :)

besieger1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

Very nice game, really like the pixel art.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Really ? You are genius man.. :)

scnoobi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:59pm

the jumping is pretty inconsistent. otherwise pretty good but some of the deaths feel super cheap like oh a spike right in front of the door. there is no way i can avoid that:P

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Great looking game, I really like the aesthetic and how the rooms are presented. The visuals are a bit blurry for me though. Overall, great job.

Threef says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11pm

I love Rouguelikes and it looks pretty nice, but somehow it's totally bugged for me. I've jumped through ceiling, fell into other room and then straight to exit. Every room was blinking too.

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:09pm

A bit too easy, and the controls are kinda floaty. A chest spawned in front of the exit and I couldn't get the item... Nice graphics, nice music! I'm playing more to see all the items, heh. Great job!

eigenbom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Great little game, reminded my of lode runner for some reason :)

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:56am

Nice one! I found it quite hard sometimes, but overall a great game! Also, it reminds me of Spelunky.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Un juego muy chulo. Muchas trampas, muchas muertes... Es muy divertido, tío. Te has lucido.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Well done!
A bit hard, but nice mechanics. It got a nice upgrading system, like a real metroidvania should have.

I like the name of the genre ;)

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Really nice use of the theme. Only issue is that the dungeon generation seems to trap you into unreachable areas. I've tried five times and have been unable to explore the whole map.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Wow such a good interpretation of the theme and so well made. Very challenging too. We like it and will share it on Twitter :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:15pm

It was really hard to see some of those enemies at those sizes, and often it wouldn't matter if you could because the random generation would put you in unwinnable situations. Still, that wasn't really a big deal for how short the dungeon was, and the fact that you pretty much had to play it several times to beat it. I really enjoy these kinds of games, and this one was pretty well put-together, considering the time constraints.

Crefossus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:19am

The deadends and insta death trap rooms are both hilarious and frustrating. I love the humor and fun graphics. The detail in the animations like the fall animation really help polish it up.

The main mechanic (moving + jump) gets a little boring..since it's always the same and exploring happens instantly. The great humor helps push the game along though.

Pleasant to play through!

NuSan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:37pm

I love procedural dungeon, the game idea is realy cool and fun. It's a bit frustrating at first, when you only have your slow walk and jump, and you get stuck and have to kill yourself. Keep up the good work !

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:40am

wow! The procedural or random generation whichever you are using doesn't generate fully traversal levels all times. I got stuck twice with no where to go. Had to start over but I didn't hesitated at all. I like the aesthetics of the game and soundtrack is pretty good as well.

Well done!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:44am

Also, when you open the door, the enemy either spawns or is already there at the door and it hits you which is really frustrating :)

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:24am

Nice another entrie! It remind me Loderunner game and other 8bit era games, cool and very fun to play, and also great pixel gfx, congratz for this good work !

Manderxan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:11am

I like this a lot. Really good atmosphere.
Downside being the random generation putting spikes in really unfair places. If you get hurt, it should be your own fault, or you should at least see it coming.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:27am

The concept sounds nice and the game looks good but it seems to have a lot of bugs. It's didn't seem very well optimized for my computer and I guess the drop in FPS made it easy for me to clip out of bounds. Especially after getting the speed boost. I'd like to play a finished version of this though so keep at it.


Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Just 48 hours? Amazing results.

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Very nice tiny dungeon, and an impressive amount of work for a short amount of time. I think I found a glitch where I could walk though walls after getting the super or double jump powerup, but I still made it to the end door. Good stuff!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:58pm

this was a great game - adding to my favorites - really great job on the procedural dungeon

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]