Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Blue Cave

by NuSan - Compo Entry

Use your flail to kill some bats and maybe find the blue cave boss.

Arrow keys : move, jump and fall
Enter key : Reset

There is some items that can improve your weapon, but it might be too much to raise.

Tools : Unity - Paint.net - SunVox

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#399Audio2.97
#553Innovation3.13
#555Graphics3.10
#613Humor2.41
#666Fun2.97
#674Mood2.81
#749Overall3.00
#802Theme3.40
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:37am

I couldn't figure out the flail's controls, though Space seemed to do something. Pretty interesting overall.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:42am

I like this, it has a wonderful charm about it, flail FTW. Great Job!

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43am

Neat idea. Controls were kind of tricky to figure out though.

wavertron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:45am

Nice concept, but the flails were just a little hard to use. Some sort of attack button that gives the flails a sudden vertical force/thrust would have been nice to help use them. Most of the time they were stuck on that middle rock pillar when I moved to the right side of the screen. Music had a suitably 8 bit NES/SEGA feel. Great job.

Ossi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:46am

That was really fun! It took some time to get used to controlling the flail but I eventually got the hang of it. Really cool idea to have the momentum of the character be part of the swing. Jump, press space to launch them forward. It feels really active while at the same time putting you in front of danger to keep things interesting. The shield power-up really helped against the final boss! Good moody "cave" music as well! Well done!

Valtaroth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:50am

Great concept, but I couldn't quite control the flails. At some point they were all just lying on the floor.

Krisjet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:51am

Cool idea!
Controlling the flail was a bit tricky though, and when you got a lot of them it got harder to climb to the top platforms since at least one of them tended to get stuck underneath the platform you were on.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24am

I was hard but I did it! I defeat the boss!

Jadernak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:30am

While the concept is nothing new, this was a lot fun and it even looks good. My only critique is that the balls get stuck sometimes. Good job though.

peeweek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Very Nice and smmooth gameplay :) Had a great time playing.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Hi there. Ball on chain was interesting, very tricky to fight with. Managed to hit first two bats a bit. Nice (very loud) music. Good job!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Nice, it remind me about Hammerfight! I completed it. It was not that hard, because character can push boss right onto spiky balls.
By the way, I found some problems: chains are very loose, it's hard to spin the balls around.
Also, after grabbing some separate-chain-attachment bonuses I can't even get the balls up from the ground.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:50am

very difficult control system but the game looked pretty cool - nice job

Neil says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:23pm

That was fun, but hard to control! It was pretty easy to play, even though I struggled to control the flails and got stuck on the environment. Nice art, fun entry!

Junuxx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:21am

Trick to defeat the boss easily: jump on his head and press him down on the flails that you are unable to lift.

A bit too easy to win and the flails didn't really work like you'd expect, but a fun concept!

taviandir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:36pm

I like the idea, but that thing was so heavy it was hard to control and kill bats, but they just kept on coming! D:

stipple says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Very nice game. I like the simplicity of the physics-only weapons. Takes a while to get the hang of moving to "throw" them around, but it is fun once you get that.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:43am

I was literally flailing around for about 10 minutes with this game before I managed to kill the cave boss. The biggest problem I have with this game seems to be that picking up more flails, even though it should feel awesome, makes the game so much harder. The weight of extra flails cause them to never really get off the ground. I feel like a lot of the problems stem from the fact that the flails are not attached to the player, they're attached to some other attach point which is then attached to the player. The spring force of this attachment is not strong enough to sustain the weight of multiple flails. The optimal strategy seemed to be to jump on top of the enemy and force him down into your flail instead of swinging the flail into them.

The pickups (aside from extra flails) also seemed a little overpowered. I was able to live quite easily with tons of bats and the boss shooting at me by just picking up the invincibility shield and health pickups when I needed them. The collision on the platforms also seemed a bit off. I could stand on the side of a platform and sometimes even jump from it. It was a little frustrating that you couldn't jump when standing on flails, especially when I had a ton of them. It felt like I couldn't move. In some ways this game was too easy and in other ways it was too hard.

I think the art and music mostly worked well for how simple they were though the scale of the player in relation to the bats was a little absurd. The music sounded somewhat halloween-ish, but also a little hammy which works for the concept. Overall though I still have fun with the idea, and I think with some tweaks this could be a super fun game. I'm looking forward to see what you can come up with for the next LD!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]