Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Adventure

by FrankieSmileShow - Jam Entry

Welcome to Tiny Adventure!
A tiny tiny adventure in a big, big world.

Game by FrankieSmileShow (Francis Coulombe)
with music by Cboyardee (Eric Shumaker)

Move with the arrow keys
Attack with C
Prevent movement with X
Use Items with V
Cycle Items with D and F
Escape quits the game

You can leave items you don't want in the stash in your house.
Just leave your house to begin!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Theme(Jam)4.52
#80Graphics(Jam)4.28
#146Audio(Jam)3.56
#221Mood(Jam)3.45
#225Overall(Jam)3.56
#326Fun(Jam)3.28
#475Innovation(Jam)3.08
#579Humor(Jam)2.44
#1783Coolness37%

Comments

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00am

I love the expanding view when the player first emerges from the starting house -- it's a wow moment. Seeing the entire world on one screen really works well for this game. I like the colorful micro-graphics too, I just wish they were a tiny bit larger on my display to help prevent eyestrain. Overall, great job with this!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:01am

The art is amazing, and the controls feel tight. Wish it was finished though.

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Wow super cute, that game is really nice, nice take on the theme !
I think it would be nice if we didn't have to restart from the beginning after being killed.

rabbit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:37pm

I gave up after a few minutes. The area that I'm allowed to see is just too small and I was always lost.

jelly says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:02pm

hai guys old gw'er here and i remember you two. i'd love to play. any chance for a mac version in the future?

ramoncb says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Is indeed a very nice concept, but maybe things are a little too small ^^'

I think a zoom button can be a good solution and yet don't be out of the theme ;-)

Anyway, good job and sorry my bad english ^^'

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Couldn't figure out how to drop stuff into my stash, so I was stuck with 8 items in my inventory and couldn't pick up what I presume were important or useful items. Also couldn't figure out what use certain items had, such as the skull or dagger-looking thing.

The combat was tricky since I couldn't attack while moving, and all movement happened strictly on the grid. Might have been a bit less frustrating if my sword had an arc, so I could hit guys diagonally.

The limited indoor vision was claustrophobic. Part of that might have simply been the small tile size, but even if it were of more ordinary size, I think the range of sight would have felt constraining. An explored fog of war might have removed most of the pain, though, since I was most frustrated by not remembering the layout of the map.

There were a bunch of walls on the left side that weren't colliding with the player properly. I just walked into the room in the western forest without even having a key.

The idea and execution had a lot going for it, and I spent some time trying to get used to the combat controls and explore the areas, but eventually got annoyed. I think the room in the forest with all the loot was the the point where I gave up, because I couldn't pick any of it up due to my full inventory.

Rothens says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:46pm

wow.. I love the concept, but the gfx could be a bit larger :P my eyes are tearing :D

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:55am

Wow, this is neat! Hard to see, though, heh. I love the graphics and the elaborate world. Unfortunately, I found it a bit hard to control. I guess I didn't feel like the controls responded quickly enough? It would be hard to slice at some monster then dodge out of the way, like you do in Link to the Past. One more thing; I didn't have any idea what this world was or why everything was out to kill me. Still, though, pretty good work. ;)

Hempuli says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:52am

Fantastic art and gameplay! I really enjoyed playing it, although it's a shame that the map's unfinished. Still, you managed a lot in a very short time.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:03am

Neato, love how much content you put into this game! nice game!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:34am

Love the graphics (although they are really tiny) and the exploration of hidden parts of the map. Fighting felt a bit stiff, but the fight with the giant ogre was still the most fun part.
Being restricted to 8 inventory slots was really frustrating, and I wasn't even able to drop stuff I didn't want.
With a better fighting system, a finished map, maybe some explanation what items do and the option for a zoomed in view (looking at such tiny stuff for too long is hurting my eyes.) this would be a really awesome game.
Still good job for the LD timeframe!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:19pm

This was absolutely amazing! I loved the concept, and altough it would probably need some refining if you wished to properly release it, it had style to spare, and the game felt very polished, even if a bit on the hard side! Super well done though!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:07am

The graphics and music are very nice ! Is the game finished ? There's a lot fo place with no collision map and it seems there's no castle behind the cyclop. I could not find a way to drop my items in the stash and I could not find a use for most of the anyway. However it's still an huge ammount of work for a 72h jam and it's also a very good execution for the theme.

The game suffer from having no SFX. Some sword, hit and grab item sfx would add a lot to the mood.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:57pm

The graphics were really neat. Fitting an entire adventure game one one screen must have been a huge undertaking. Not making it fullscreen made seeing some stuff really hard but A really neat little game nonetheless.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Really nice job. The game has a nice epic feel with the large map. Great job.

Victor RENE says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 12:16am

The graphics are way to small. I didn't really see weapon upgrades to hit the bulls. The potion worked though. Nice music, but the effort is ruined by the screen size. You could have put everything in one room and load the next room after opening a door (like a MUD).

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:36pm

I made a highlight of this game in my stream. http://www.twitch.tv/alucardx60/c/5696327

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]