Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Toy workshop

by StMatn - Jam Entry

Toy workshop is a management game, where you plan, construct and sell toys.

IMPORTANT (REALLY!):
-Remember to unpack the zip! Do not start the game inside it!
-Game needs a Java 7 JRE or JDK installed on your system

HOW TO PLAY:
To plan a toy, click the "new project" button at the top and select the project size. Once done, click the drafting board. If you did it succesfully, the selected project size will be shown under the drafting board.
Now drag a worker in front of the drafting board and he will start planning the project. Once the percentage reaches 20%, a checkmark will apear above the drafting board. Drag this checkmark to a suitable spot inside the building. Your project is now in the carpenting phase.
Drag at least one worker in front of it to start the work. Once the percentage reaches 60%, the project enters the painting phase.
Once the percentage reaches 100%, your toy is ready to be delivered. Drag the checkmark above it to a costomer on the left to sell it. The Overall score "O" will go to your reputation; all three scores ("O", "C" and "P") go to your money.
Keep an eye on the rent payment countdown. Once it reaches 0, rent will be taken from your money and rent will be increased. You must not get in dept at all times. Once you cant pay the rent, the game stops (No feedback for this; the game just stops running).
If you keep playing until the game ends and you have read this wal of text, please post your score (=reputation) inside the coments.

Have fun playing!
Thank you very much for playing!


TIPS:
-Start your first project imediately, since time is running
-Let the carpenter do carpenting (20%<progres<60%) and the painter do painting (progres>60%). They are good at their profession, but quite bad at the other.
-Your workers gain experience and skill over time, which improves work speed and quality
-Ignore the numbers under the customers. They are quality requirements, which have not been implemented :(
-Ignore the deletion button (red cross), it doesnt do anything


TRIVIA:
The game is inspired by "painters guild" and a little bit by "game dev story". It is not nearly as nice as these games, but if you like my game, you may want to check them out. Originally you should have been able to hire/fire workers and build decorations to improve thw work quality, but time ran out as always :D I hope the game entertains you anyway at least a little bit :)


Fixes:
9.12.14:
-Fixed crash on clicking checkmark

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#589Theme(Jam)3.46
#635Innovation(Jam)2.83
#679Overall(Jam)3.00
#681Humor(Jam)2.24
#788Fun(Jam)2.67
#855Graphics(Jam)2.46
#900Mood(Jam)2.33
#1742Coolness39%

Comments

Basim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:44pm

I like the idea of the game, being naturally attracted to games like this but it crashed once I had completed my first toy. Although the description worked for me I would have preferred to have something in-game that served as a tutorial. Nonetheless it was a great game and an orginal idea!

Wevel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Nice idea, the game crashes if you you only click the check mark rather than dragging it.

StMatn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Aw, sad to hear that :( I'll check the bug.
Thanks for reporting the issue!

geckojsc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17pm

A fairly nice base for a strategy game here. Unfortunately once you've got a few projects in place, it seems to just boil down to watching numbers get bigger and smaller (but the game is still fun if you leave it running in the background while doing something else)

On the user interface side, there seems to be a lack of consistency in the way dragging works. Sometimes it's click, move, and click again. Others I have to click, hold and drag.

This wouldn't really be a problem but sometimes the game freezes when you try to release a planned (20%) project in the wrong spot (and that happened a few times because I didn't realise I was supposed to drag).

Also there's a lot of extra screen space! I guess you were planning to put more stuff to the right, but ran out of time? Anyways, good work! What you have so far is pretty promising, and the progression is nice. :)

NPException says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30pm

I really like these click-drag-plan kind of games. Not much to say about it except: well done!
It just could use at least some placeholder sounds.

I also fixed the issue you had with my jam entry "Banana TV". You can try it again if you don't mind :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=28802

TriSquare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:13am

I like it, good job. Strategy games are my favorite

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:12am

Interesting ideas here, unfortunately it crashed after building my first toy :(

Crushenator says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:47am

I quite enjoyed this. I was very determined to win but I kept getting distracted with other things and running out of money.

hbocao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:08am

Very addictive. It is kind of slow, but I used the time to play other LD games. It's very cool to see the toy being fabricated. Would be a great game with the planned features implemented.
I got 7096 reputation by the time of writing :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Pretty good idea for a strategy game. It's a bit slow for my tastes though, although maybe my attention span isn't the best in the world. It'd be cool to see it expanded into something bigger, though!

sorlok says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:13am

A solid game, and cool mechanics. Would like to see it developed more, and maybe some cues so that it doesn't need such a complicated set of instructions? Also it was not clear to me what the difference was between the two workers. Anyway, great job! Would love to see more!

LukuluK says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:56am

A funny theme ! I'm not a fan of waiting games but it's well done. I think it could go a lot further and be a funny management game !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]