Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lazy Hero

by mybluecorners - Jam Entry

CONTROLS:
Left Click to advance dialogue
Mouse to Aim
Right Click to use Grappling Hook
Left Click to Swing Sword

DETAILS:
Lazy Hero is a 2D game where the player has control of a classic RPG hero who is tired and doesn’t want to get out of bed to start his journey. Parodying the classic style of The Legend of Zelda games, Lazy Hero takes place on one screen as the RPG adventure comes to the player. Combat is simplified so that the player can grapple enemies and slash them with the sword. The game was created in about 55 hours and is designed in Unity3D. The development team consisted of 4 people.


CREDITS:
backrowstudio.com
https://twitter.com/mybluecorners

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#8Humor(Jam)4.29
#21Innovation(Jam)4.17
#30Theme(Jam)4.32
#54Overall(Jam)3.94
#98Fun(Jam)3.72
#135Mood(Jam)3.64
#235Graphics(Jam)3.81

Comments

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:49am

Good job. Great concept. I liked it. But I think I found a bug. One of the monsters spawned up the wall. I cant get to him and he cant get to me so I couldnt advance.

Kazoodtd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:53am

Funny game, good use of the theme

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:01am

Hilarious references. Well not hilarious, but made me giggle =) The mood made me want to continue playing. Good job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14am

Nice artwork and zelda references

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14am

Great job! I really liked the theme of a lazy hero and the grappling hook/sword combo were fun.

YourNerdyJoe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14am

Great game, love the idea. Wish I could have beat it but I can't keep batting the ball back this late at night. (I'm about to literally fall asleep ;D) Will try again later.

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15am

I almost gave up the game thinking it was breaking, dont have a right mouse button. If you can simplify the controls, that would be great, I like the concept but I kinda lose interest. Nice pokemon like graphics. Funny dialogue.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17am

Very enjoyable experience, couldn't beat the princess though, also a monster spawned on the wall, but I could still reach it with the sword so it wasn't game breaking. Good job.

Spilim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:21am

Hahaha, good game, very funny. In the end I died against Zelda because a bat changed the direction of the fireball, it went reflecting all over the screen until it hitted me. And that was also funny for me haha

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34am

Hilariously funny and a great use of the theme. I sucked at the princess-fire-pingpong and got "killed".

Very nice.

guldlock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Graphics are really good!

Yarek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:13pm

I'm resting well after killing her :D I love the references and the idea is really original. Good job :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Cool entry, really well polished

billrizer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Amazingly original concept - well stylized GFX.

Bedroom RPGs FTW!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:11am

I feel like this game was about me, except the version of me that has access to a grappling hook and a sword. Nicely done! It was fun enough to keep me playing until the end. I would have liked to see another classic items maybe, or even the ability to upgrade your sword.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:57am

This was fantastic! Absolutely enjoyed it. :)

The graphics, the mood, the humor -- I was expecting him to climb out of bed, and when he didn't I laughed -so hard-. :D

Great take on the Zelda-like concept. Really unique!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:52am

Fantastic entry, I love the humor, the idea, the everything. Very nice work.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:13am

This was great from start to finish. Great mechanic added to by the fantastic humor of the game.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:16am

Awesome game. Loved the way the theme was used.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:42am

Really cool concept and very well executed. :)
Like all game jams, a bit more content would have been awesome, but can't do much about that. :D

Well done. :D

friken says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:49am

LOVE IT.... well done

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:53am

Neat game! I really liked your subversion of the usual heroic narrative in video games, and the sound direction is just right. Volume on SFX, especially the chickens, needed to be tuned a little bit to match the music volume, though, and I felt that the campaign was a little bit underwhelming. I took very little damage and didn't understand why I was collecting rupees and maps if I was never going to use them... I expected the Happy Mask Seller to come by, heh.

Still, a solid entry. Thank you for the game!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:53am

Have you ever been so lazy... you saved the world from your bed? Lol nice game.

davient says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:19am

Enjoyed the concept. I'd like to see where you can take this next?

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:57am

Interesting concept! I like it, graphics and audio are quite nice swell. Great entry!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:43pm

nice work. I loved how funny this game is. no much game play though, except for final boss and the chicken hunt, you can make games out of these mechanics, the rest is just too easy, you dont need skills to do them.

I liked how the art and Music all fit.
over all good job

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Cool. 5 stars from me!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:11pm

great idea!

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:25pm

This was amazing. :D Could you open the map though?

Wertle says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:10pm

This is wonderful. I really enjoyed that the game itself was still fun mechanically and didn't just rely on a throwaway joke. The Zelda tropes were really well done and I giggled the whole time. Super great work!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:02am

I LOVE THIS GAME!
The idea is great and well developed!
Perfect music, nice graphic and funny quotes.
Great Work, well done!

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:53am

That was great! I'm lying in bed while I type this, though, so I'm biased.

blzkz says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:28pm

So great! And fun! ooohh this game was awesome

bORAT says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Great Concept. Very Original.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]