Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Precise Shot

by TimBeaudet - Compo Entry

A pretty simple bow shooting game.

The difference between Easy Bow and Master Bow is not the difficulty like it would seem, sorry about that, the difference is in the way the bow is controlled, and Master Bow seems to be quite a bit more difficult in this nature.

Please leave comments on what you did or didn't like, I read them all and try to improve for next time. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Fun3.50
#324Overall3.43
#371Audio3.00
#400Graphics3.33
#541Mood2.95
#705Humor2.29
#781Theme3.43
#829Innovation2.72
#1631Coolness42%

Comments

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16am

Fun little game. Text and music are more retro than the graphics.

voxel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Definitely my favourite arrow dropping simulator of LD31. Music loop was a bit annoying but the gameplay was great :D

Robber says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:39pm

nice shooting mechanics, would be cool that a grade, or have some judges give you some a rating depending on the stats :)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Hi there. I like an archery game, difficult to capture mechanics from real world archery. Would have been nice to have an infinite arrows mode too. Good job!

mtanton says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:13am

Pretty fun game. Makes me want to keep playing just to master shooting the bow. Nice job!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:53am

I found it somehow hard as aiming seems bit clunky but maybe it's just me :-) Otherwise the game seems polished, graphics is clean and nice. Shooting sound could be little bit more quiet. Good job!

BlackBird says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:15am

If you are finding the aiming clunky or hard, I suspect you are using "Master Bow". If you instead use "Easy Bow" the control of the bow changes drastically and is much easier and more intuitive to shoot, but I liked the challenge of the Master Bow so I left it in.

Downtown says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:58am

Always enjoy bow and arrow games, generally enjoyed it, and hitting the targets felt very satisfying, aiming was a little rough. Music got annoying especially the sudden loud portion. Nice work though, challenging and fun.

paperweight says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Nice! Controls needed more work however.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Loved it! Simple and addictive, with lovely details like the "jetpack" targets. Graphics and physics are great. The music can become a bit annoying, and the sound effects could be improved. Great job!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:29am

Pretty sweet little arcade game here. The gameplay was simple, but intuitive and fun to try to master. I had some trouble with the targets being to low. I believe there should be a way to hit 100% all great shots + power shots which one could maybe consider "beating" the game, however, when the targets were too low, it didn't allow me to get the power shot and still hit the target. I found that aspect of the game frustrating, as well as the "drop arrow" mechanic. I can see a lot of ways to add more variety to the gameplay such as moving targets, different types of arrows, weather effects, even enemies potentially. As it is now, it feels a little incomplete. The master bow mechanic felt too random since the arrow seemed to follow its own path without much intervention by me. In order to have a mechanic that the player is expected to master, I believe you should have a much easier to understand mechanic behind the bow physics, and just make the actual execution of it more difficult. I think the art works really well, but it is also somewhat based on existing visuals for very similar games. The background was good at separating the foreground elements to keep things clear. The music was felt a little off to me, I would expect a more whimsical theme with the music given that it's an archery game. The electric guitar and tempo particularly seemed to not fit with the mood. The end screen was pretty satisfying, and I liked the sound effects for when the stars show up. There seemed to be a bug where I had more power shots than total shots. I also really wanted a scoring mechanic to judge my progress as I got better. Overall though, I had fun play the game. Really nice work polishing what you made. Thanks for sharing your game, and I hope you join us again for next LD!

BlackBird says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:34am

Thanks Nick for the feedback! I actually spent 8 hours getting targets that could rotate and move, and implementing the ability to create pre-designed levels to play through. As things were nearing the end I needed more spice on the results screen and had to ditch the level idea since I only had a few levels that were too easy. Will write a more filled post mortem but I certainly appreciate the advice and you do bring up a good point about the 100% great shot + power shot combination. My thought was I wanted to give people a reason to shoot with less than full power, however given the feedback from you and many others this was a bad idea and is a frustrating experience.

Thanks playing!

erik says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:08am

It was interesting enough to get me to play a few rounds. I found using the mouse to aim to be quite frustrating though. The bow never seemed to move the way I wanted it to. Perhaps it works better on a touchscreen.

wavertron says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:33am

Nice game. Kinda fun getting a power shot/great shot. The Master Bow felt odd, just inaccurate/random. Perhaps moving targets would be a better idea?

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:50am

Simple but super fun! Arrow physics feel great and the graphics are very well done. Bow shake on the long draw is a really excellent mechanic, makes it quite satisfying to nail a few in a row!

Valeour says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Man I love games like these. This is awesome for as simple as it is. :)

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Not very original but well done.

banana4life says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I like

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Solid game play! Background music is cool!
Well made!

Ossi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Fun game, I really like the bow and arrow mechanic! The game was fairly challenging especially on master bow mode and the charging mechanic was pretty well done. The fact that you have to not only aim correctly but time when you let the arrow go makes it all the more engaging. Great job!

madalaski says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Weird, fun and strangely addicting. All round a good entry.

BlackBird says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Great! Glad to have a good entry for a game made in a weekend!! Master Bow control implementation definitely seems off and I should have just cut it instead of adding a separate mode.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Innovation n/a: It doesn't innovate.

Fun 4/5: Pretty fun!!! A bit hard to control.

Theme 3/5: The game runs in a single screen.

Graphics 4/5: Cute simple graphics!!!

Audio 4/5: Great chiptune!!!

Humor n/a: I can't find humor...

Mood 5/5: I felt great when playing!!!

Overall 4/5: Great game!!! Too difficult to control!!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]