Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

flop

by ix - Compo Entry

For this theme, I decided to create a platforming game which never scrolls. Instead, triggers mutate the level around the player.

Unfortunately, 'flop' appears to be a relatively prescient name -- owing to some early time lost to silly bug hunting, I have a fairly long TODO list remaining. (Most noticeably, this is my first LD entry to *not* include sound. Somehow I've always had time before.)

This is known to work in Chromium 39.0.2171.71 under Debian Linux; your mileage may vary (I didn't have time for compatibility testing either).

POST-COMPO FIX: the "Web (post-compo Firefox fix)" version makes the arrow keys work in firefox; it is otherwise the same as the compo version of the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#35Theme4.38
#96Graphics3.98
#137Innovation3.84
#240Overall3.53
#371Mood3.14
#395Fun3.25
#528Humor2.52
#2112Coolness24%

Comments

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:47am

The way u change lvls .... is really awesome.
Great graphic and theme

justinooncx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:58am

It's like jumping in molasses. But still, it was interesting.

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14am

The level changing was really awesome.
But the controlls are awful, it felt unprecise and sluggish.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Really fun interpretation of the theme. The controls are a bit quirky, but that might also just add to the game. Quite fun and relaxing.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Hi there. Like the flying off and on coloured paper effects for level changes. Good job!

chrisamaphone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Great interpretation of the theme and use of triangles. :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Anybody else having problems with Firefox? I can't use the arrows.

Jaenis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Great take on theme!
Almost got to the end, got stuck on "THE" level at middle of the "H" letter, snif.... ;)

Valtaroth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I really like the visual style you went for, including the way you gradually change the level. The jump feels a bit wonky but once you got used to it, it works great.

friken says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:48pm

nice work. I really love the concept. Only wish was controller support. the controls feel floaty and hard on kb, but would feel great on a controller I think

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Totally awesome concept. Very polished graphics !

Mokosha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Absolutely fantastic game! Great job!

One (minor) criticism: The controls could do with a *little* bit of polish. It was hard to get a feel for how much I should hold left/right when jumping.

I got stuck in the H near the end (?) but otherwise was a great game, and good interpretation of the theme!

inkeystring says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Doesn't seem to work for me in Firefox either..

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Cool style. Very nice level change effect. Controls could be more responsive and movements quicker.

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:53pm

ok, done. really. =]
Haha the end was funny. The moon-jumping was pretty frustrating though.

Larry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:54pm

It doesn't work on Safari but I got it to work in Chrome. I enjoyed playing the game. I got stuck in the 'H' and couldn't escape.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Love the game idea with the theme!
Char is a bit hard to control and music lacks a bit, but very nice work! =)

Hoothoot says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Favourite game so far! Looking gorgeous! The controls were a bit hard to get a grip on. On some level, I kind of like it that way though.

zzq says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Great visuals. Love this live naturally flawed triangles.

guimonpa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Nice style, love the transitions. The end was a nice touch, wasn't expecting that.
The controls felt a bit floaty and I would have liked to have some more air control.

ix says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:48am

I've added a fixed version which might make the arrow keys work in firefox (and maybe safari, if we're really lucky). I ran out of time for tuning the air control (the thing that really bugs me about the controls is jumping off of ramps, actually).

tobyp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:34am

I really like the concept, but the controls are awful. BUT you completely nailed the theme - the levels rearrange themselves! Small thing though - I managed to get stuck in the "H" in "THE", and failed to reach what I assume would have been "END".

Nitrodeus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Wow really nice and addictive game !

wlovas says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:40am

I also got stuck in the H, but i did make it to the end, and also finished. Fun despite the "ballistic" controls..

nassi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Cool idea, but I'm not a fan of the floaty gameplay. Pushed all the way till the "true end" though.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:55pm

very very nice use of the theme

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:52pm

love it :) simple but creative, well done

pladams9 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:08pm

I know some other people have commented on the controls - they don't feel THAT bad to me, but a little more control during mid-jump would be less frustrating (I don't expect realism in my platformers, lol). But I think it's an awesome game. Fun, very pretty.

Add some sound and maybe tighten those controls up just a wee bit and keep going with this. Looks awesome.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:53am

Really cool interpretation of the theme, and I love the art style! The contrast of the pasteled rough triangles (that can dart all over the screen) and the little round guy (moves an animates so smoothly), it really works! Well done!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:32am

Love the art style, fits well with the theme. Good job

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:11pm

A genius mechanic, and a beautiful visual effect. Clever interpretation of the theme. The lack of sound & music draws away from the atmosphere, but it's very beautiful and fun to play. More gameplay mechanics might have been nice, although admittedly you did mention a lack of time. The physics were a little floaty, with little to no air control, but other than that no problems there. I'd like to see an expansion with tighter physics and some level selection, along with some sound effects and music.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Unique visuals really make this game, the controls and collisions were somewhat frustrating however, trying to fall down a 1 square gap but constantly catching one edge or the other almost made me rage quit :P I think more air control and gravity (read player weight) would really help. That aside I did enjoy the experienced and loved the way collecting each objective mutated the environment. Nice work :D

DA_KID says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Platforming feels floaty and terrible. needs sound. Awesome concept.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:08pm

The art and the effects were really awesome. Gameplay needs more polishing, though I understand it was a time-related issue.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:31pm

You achieve to break the theme limitations really well. So fantastic that point. The addiction is really strong and I needed to went until THE END. Congratulations, really solid entry!

jpmit says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:06pm

I really like the feel of the controls, and the look of the game is brilliant. Also, an impressive amount of gameplay for 48hrs. All round, a great entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]