Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cathode Ray

by Figglewatts - Compo Entry

Cathode Ray is a game about a CRT screen.
More specifically, it's about a single electron inside the cathode ray tube of the screen on it's epic quest to display the words "ENTIRE GAME" on a single screen.

To play the game you simply alter a magnetic field to change the electron's trajectory.

WARNING: Game may not be physically accurate (but I did use all the right words!).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Innovation4.07
#113Fun3.68
#136Theme4.04
#158Humor3.23
#204Overall3.59
#249Audio3.22
#277Graphics3.54
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

Joris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:33pm

This game is evil. I can't get past the 2nd level. Loads of fun thoough. Really interesting concept. Great game!

Linkigi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I think there's a Slight typo on lvl 2 where it says to use 'W' and 'D' instead of 'W' and 'S' (I'm assuming). But I think the game is great. I really like your interpretation of the theme and it feels good to make the electron swoop around.

Figglewatts says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18pm

I've corrected the typo now. That's what I get for leaving the text to the last minute!

RedPanda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Super cool! :D

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54pm

I can't get past the 2nd level too, but game is awesome!:)

Wakka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Awesome Idea! Had a lot of fun, and I really like the challenge. But that second level is a bit tooo hard in my opinion.

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:05pm

The game is still hard to control I'll be honest but it give the challenge.

Glad you made those polarizing things, for I would have only managed by pressing space! Good game all together~

Madball says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

The audio is perfect!
I think the second level is actually the hardest one, mainly because of vertical walls, maybe because I wasn't used to the game yet. At first I was a bit frustrated by it, but after I completed it I completed the whole game and was like "That's all?"
Controls are complicated. All those magnetic fields changing your direction all of sudden, and spacebar affecting your movement in a strange way both when pressed and when released. It is difficult to learn, but you can make many original levels with it, so I would like to see a post-compo. It would make a great high-difficulty game!
And OMG the theme! The theme! That's brilliant!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:34pm

So hard!!! :-(
But I love the concept the audio and the graphics - great job!

Homletmoo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03pm

It's like a fun version of Flappy Bird!

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:35am

I really wish you had added arrow key support for that. I tried to play it, but with a non-qwerty keyboard, level 2 just wasn't possible. It looks like it could make for some really interesting levels though, and the graphics are really nice. It also helped out a ton once I realized that the lines show you the exact trajectory you will travel if you change to that direction.

Fnkee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Mind was blown. This must be the most unique twist of the theme I've seen so far during the season. The game rocks, and I really wished for there to be more stages! Really addicting. Good job man!

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Very interesting concept, very! The music fits well, and kept my attention into the game. :)

aeveis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:20am

Ah, I beat it. I think the mapping of the controls just made it very awkward. holding and pressing buttons at the same time is very hard. Interesting concept though! The pathing for red and blue helped a lot.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Really cool interpretation of the theme. The game is crazy hard but really cool. I think this mechanic could be fleshed out into a really cool game. Good work.

TheThirdOne says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:53am

I really liked it. Pressing space was weird. I would really like a infinite runner version. (Easier than level 2 pls)

Boracho says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:19pm

excellent use of the theme! Game is HARD but that's not a bad thing.

sorlok says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:19am

I like the general idea, but the game was too frustrating for me. Good mechanics overall.

rjhunter says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:24am

Fabulous entry.

Brilliant interpretation of the theme, slick execution, hilarious text.

Like many people here, I struggled with Level 2. Level 3 was a breeze, and Level 4 was hard but not Level 2 hard.

Also I know you said you fixed the typo but the version I downloaded still says "W and D". I wonder if, co-incidentally, space+D might be a better choice of control than space+S. For consistency.

Great job all around!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]