Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Falling Dots

by gikdew - Jam Entry

How long can you last in Falling Dots? Focus is key to achieving a high score.
Hold or release the screen to shift to either a green or red and matching the incoming balls.
Challenge the Impossible.

This game has been made usign Libgdx, java and photohsop for graphics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#242Fun(Jam)3.40
#315Overall(Jam)3.42
#417Graphics(Jam)3.45
#524Innovation(Jam)3.00
#624Audio(Jam)2.24
#631Theme(Jam)3.41
#700Mood(Jam)2.76
#745Humor(Jam)2.09

Comments

Theorem says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:57am

Although the dots (or entire game?) get laggier the faster they go, I really enjoyed this game. Those with older phones might not get as much enjoyment as their devices might choke before it gets challenging. Could use some subtle sfx when making menu selections and "catching" the dots.
Overall, I'm keeping this installed on my phone; hope you will update it for a while!
(Beat my highscore! :D https://www.dropbox.com/s/kenue9fe8x8aefv/2014-12-07%2008.48.54.png?dl=0)

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:41am

A bit laggy on my Nexus 7 :/

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:53pm

only for android? This minimalistic idea has some potential , keep it up !

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:54pm

I would absolutely love to play this, but alas - I don't have an android Device. It looks pretty fun!

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Simple, works nice. Didn't really want to see adds during the game though. Good job overall, smooth game.

Fnkee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Really entertaining game, with a simple concept. I can see myself playing this in every waiting room, on every bus stop. Current record is 62. Running smoothly on Samsung S5! Good job on this!

gikdew says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06pm

I have try to improve the performance on every device, the update will be up in about two hours. To make it more playable in old devices. Only android, yes.

TagliatL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Awesome ! Graphics are cool, gameplay is simple and addictive, I keep it on my phone :D

Hammers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Nice little game for mobile. Could actually see myself picking this up to play again every now and then :)

Alexgg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Sorry but, how could u play 20 games in 5 minutes?
don't do it dude.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22pm

A bit annoying that it's not on pc, but the game is absolutely fantastic. Amazing job!

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Fantastic game, exactly the type of thing I want to play when I have a few minutes to kill, and inevitably the game I constantly say 'one more round' to.

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Fun game. Nice design, very clean. Impressive for a few days. All the social stuff and achievements seem a bit unnecessary and including ads I feel was a bit much for ludum dare.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Aw, I want to try this game!! But I have no android device, would there be any chance of getting a PC port?

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44pm

well I don't have an android so... port it over to something else?

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Less is more? Minimalistic.... very interesting design. You gave me something to ponder.

Second on the highscore list on my 3 try :P

Was fun. Thank you.

Herku says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Running fine on my Galaxy Tab 4. Nice and simple game, loved it.

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22pm

My second try got me the currently third placce in leaderboards with 126 score :D

Minimalism is the key here. I don't even want to wish for something fancier. But I definitely won't play this on a constant basis.

Homletmoo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Very nice intuitive game mechanic.

fil00dl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:05pm

smartly simple and terribly addictive

Resonious says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Has kind of a cool rhythm to it.

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Simple, stylish and fun. Perfect formula for an app game! Good job!

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28pm

I liked the game, the concept is really cool and the execution is great (especially the graphics, too bad there's no audio) but:

- I kind of disliked the fact that there are ads, that's not the point of LD for me.
- It's sad that you didn't give the source

tonypai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:31pm

It's pretty neat and funny! I think this casual game very fit busy people! I've already install into my phone. :D

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Really simple and a lot of fun. Good job.

Little laggy on my Nexus 5.

Wakka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:58pm

A really good and well made game. But ads for a jam entry? Are you serios?

Omer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Awesome - a good deal of fun - addicting phone app worthy for sure. Simple enough idea, yet it becomes very challenging. Great job and good use of the theme.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Minimalistic graphics)
Kinda in trend now)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:03pm

so very addictive ;)

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Very fun and addicting! Absolutely love the miminalistic art style.

sergilazaro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:08am

Simple and enjoyable, I like the polished minimalist aesthetic.

friken says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23am

What a fun game! I scored 161 and I want to play more!

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:26am

Fun game, but why those ads?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22am

A suprisingly enjoyable game as well as a fountain of adds

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30am

nice !

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46736 check out our game

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17am

Really cool game!

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Bogden says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:31am

Ugh. The game is good, but the ads....

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Great game but a bit of lag. Either way, keep up the good work!

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14pm

I really like this OP. Great simple concept, great polish and achievements. It needs music and SFX, then you have a great app. This is the type of app that I could see going viral. It will be staying on my phone and i hope you continue to develop and polish even more.

Ran fine for me BTW with a HTC One (original version)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Awesome game :) love it

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:21am

Nice, simple game

rnlf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Runs smoothly on my HTC One. It was fun an challenging. Only Google+ was a bit annoying. I like it minimal look ab feel!

LMT says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:52pm

A really nice fun game with cool transition and graphics. Gameplay is pretty cool as well though I feel like it could be more complicated

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Simple game with a nice package!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]