Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

by gre - Compo Entry

☃ is in Panic!

Roads are dangerous, Help ☃ to traverse the roads safely.
Hurry up! Sun is shining, ☃ is melting!
Some guys throws fireballs against the poor little ☃ !
They also throws snowballs, hopefully that makes the little ☃ to regenerate!


N.B.: The map changes everyday (more or less difficult), that's why the highscores also get reset every day.
Play everyday and have fun discovering new spawner patterns (there is a slight chance you will see some rotating fireball / snowball spawners straight from the start).


PS:
The take on the theme is not obvious to some people: I only have "one screen" : the menu / highscores are appearing in the game itself.


Tech:
- softwares: VIM, Gimp, Inkscape – as usual
- rendering lib: Pixi.js (on top of WebGL)
- toolkit: npm + browserify
- score server: Node.js + MongoDB
- other microlibs: Q, Qajax, lodash, raf, seedrandom, smoothstep

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#95Fun3.72
#132Humor3.33
#331Overall3.42
#502Mood2.99
#585Innovation3.09
#673Audio2.50
#701Graphics2.85
#1123Theme2.78

Comments

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:39am

Fantastic game - the highscore "death trail" is brilliant! I love your take on the theme too: highscore screen, title screen, game... all in one screen! Great idea.

ehtd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

cool death trail!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:00pm

It's like crossy road for a snowman, cool!

Boehrsi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:06pm

That's great, really enjoyed it! Especially the "high score / start area" and the saved positions of the dead players are nicely done. Best game for me so far.

dvdking says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I like how the ☃ increases its size. Solid game overall.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Love the highscore system and the saved position of dead players. Very challenging after a while.

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Haha, that was awesome! Really liked the snowball/fireball mechanics. Wanted to have something similar in my ☃ game too!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43pm

so addictive !
great job, high score system is awesome

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Hilarious and really fun ! Good work ...!!

renatopp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:32am

Cool game, bad character (damn you snowman). It was a big surprise when I saw the snowman bigger than cars hahaha.

The hitbox aren't so generous.

Thanks for the highscore system

Nice job.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Hi there. Liked the +snow -bullets addition for changing size&health other than cars. Nice SFX for snowman and ambient car noise. Good job!

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Haha, hilarious. :) Good job!

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:57am

frog is back, and he is a ☃!
first entry with a real good use of the theme (just the restart is out of it, but nevermind...)
And why one player can be on highscore screen more than once? (I hate you rinick)

Beerman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:48am

Very slick - love the death marker idea.

Shpuld says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Got myself to top 5, fun game :)

sputnik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Love highscore game! good job!

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:18am

Very funny and addictive ¡Good job!

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:21am

Enjoyable but I ve experience bad performance

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:00pm

This is fun!. I like the tension of deciding how big you want to be, since a larger snowman can take more damage but is more likely to get hit. Good job!

drnick says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:39pm

I found it quite fun and played until I got to the highscores (3rd place). It is interesting how the snowballs regenerate your life, but also make you bigger and easier to hit by the cars, so there is an strategy in getting hit by an equal amount of snowballs and fireballs.

Kitch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:36am

Finally a challenge! Thanks! Death marking worked really wel for it. Everything worked really well together. Good job!

Gwilym says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:32am

The grumbling snowman was great. Loved the take on the theme and showing the deaths of the other players really added to the game ;D

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Competative multiplayer on LD, yei!

belva1234 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I really like this game but... "Theme: Entire game on one screen"....

gre says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:06pm

belva1234: I think the entire game runs in one screen :-) the menu, highscores...

everyone have different interpretation of what is a "screen" I guess.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Haha the sounds, cool idea with the growing and shrinking :)

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Fun game. I really liked to see where others have melted.

Skoggy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Almost like a shmup, nice work!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:02am

Pretty nice. I like how the snowman's size changes when getting more snowballs, as it makes them not strictly positive.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:18am

Ha ha I got 2nd ranked on the first try! (I'm bob...) Loved the simple concept and especially the smooth controls which allows great precision. Nice job.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:15am

nice, challenging and fun game, like how you keep the last position of the players on the screen, well done

Lynx says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:30am

This concept is HILARIOUS! Just needs some great kooky theme music to help the mood, the 8-bit sound FX aren't doing it for me, they kinda clash with the newer style, vector graphics

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:29am

Ha, interesting :) Took me a while to understand about the snowballs and the size and the road crossing aspect of it. I tried to dodge everything and that got very... meh.

Once I realised I didn't need to dodge everything it was a lot better.

The online score keeping is a great touch :)

The sound, that sounded like a steaming iron :P

The theme application however sucked :P

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:55pm

☃ didn't win ;)
But this is fun to play.

gre says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:04pm

it is not written in the rules that it is forbidden to also match other themes ;-)

I've tried my best to match the "Entire Game on One Screen" as explained in the description. I just didn't interpreted the same way some did, I guess it is very subjective.

AlbertoSM says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:17pm

It could do with some music, but the game is addictive! The moment I noticed that there was a leaderboard, I just had to try again. And again...

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:46pm

What an awesome game! Very nice and simple mechanics, so are the graphics. The highscores makes it more addicting.
☃/10 - "Great game!" - ☃ 2014

qristofer says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Not sure about the theme, but it's fun and well implemented. The snowballs adding to your size instead is a great idea. Good!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Cool game, i liked it, it's nice to see the other player's graves !

Ovidios says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:37pm

The idea of having randomly generated maps daily is great and kept me going back to this over and over again. But I just ignored those snowballs, 'cause it seemed way to hard to really avoid them and I didn't feel like collecting them. Great game overall!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:37pm

6300 - Oh well. Convincing youself that you'll do better next time doesn't work here. It gets insanely hard after a while. Fun to play though, & the leader board makes you want to try that much harder. Good game.

okkolobr says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Cool take on a classic ! Fun game !

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Really nice game, seing other people score in the game does make thing more interesting.
Great work !

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Neat concept for a game. I like that the snowballs don't kill you, but they make you a larger larger so it's easier to get it. Nice fun game.

Larzan says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Wow, nice, very simple but very addictive, nice gfx, a bit hard on the resources, but great game.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I am giving 4 stars for innovation, even if its a classic game, I really loved how Ice makes you bigger. and red things make you smaller. also nice features especially for a compo entry. like when you can see where the other players went down. that was pretty cool.

not the best use of the theme in my opinion, but making all stuff even high score on this screen is not bad either. and innovative!

Paisley Games says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:26am

Pretty cute and fun.

Gins says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Pretty fun, addictive to play.
It's a cool idea how being stronger also makes you an easier target, and it's fun to see other people's noses on the way :)

Knowledge says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:45am

Cool game.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:25am

This was a solid little "Frogger on Steroids" game. :) Easy to learn, hard to master! The death trail was really cool, I liked being able to keep track of where I died so I could work on getting past those points to get a better score. The art was good, the sound effects were great, and I LOVED the grumbly, mumbly snowman! :D

It was really clever how you increased in size as the snowballs hit you, that you decreased in size via the fireballs, and you had to play around the bullets and cars. While you had to start from the beginning when you died, I didn't find it frustrating it all. All the mistakes were mine -- I never died due to flunky controls or weird gameplay mechanics. Fantastic work! :)

Wirtualnosc says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Pretty fun little game, the snowman's mumbling sounds really funny.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Very nice! I like the snowballs/bullets mechanic. The game gets tougher the further you go, as you get bigger and bigger. I managed to get second place, dying on the wrong side of the road that first place died on... Oh well. :)

BroCade says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Death trail is epic!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Really cool game! I Included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

shadow64 says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

I would REALLY love to play this on my phone. I think it would be crazy successful. I definitely can see myself trying to get a better score every time - as I walk by my graves.

I didn't understand why getting more health would be bad at first, then I realized and it was really great how each element built on the last.

I'd love it if there was some music here - that's probably my only complaint. Otherwise, great job.

Thanks again for commenting on Natquik and congrats on your entry! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]