Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Egg Empire

by maddogawl - Compo Entry

Egg Empire starts you with an empty chicken coop. Your goal is to reach $500 as quickly as possible. You build roosting boxes, purchase chickens, sell eggs, and keep your chickens happy as you move to build your chicken empire.

Directions:
Click on any square to start by purchasing a roosting box, once you purchase a roosting box you may purchase a chicken.

The happier the chickens the quicker they lay eggs!

I composed the music using free online virtual tools, and then edited it in Audacity. I did all art in Paint .Net, and used Unity3D as the engine. Overall I spent about 9 - 10 hours on this, including coming up with the idea.

Good Luck All!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#396Theme3.72
#420Humor2.70
#726Audio2.39
#879Fun2.73
#889Mood2.54
#930Innovation2.54
#967Overall2.77
#1092Graphics2.17

Comments

Raxsus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 4:16am

Very fun game. A bit addicting too.

maddogawl says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Thank you! My two boys are addicted to it too.

maddogawl says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:13pm

My Record for reaching an Egg Empire is 163 days.

A few tricks:
-The happier the chickens the more they will lay
-Sometimes its better to build cheaper chickens because they require less care
-If your chickens are unhappy for too long they will die!

If anyone plays it long enough to hit $500 be sure to post the time it took you to get there.

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Well i cannot ignore such games aka cookie clicker , and this one is similar, so great work !

chadheim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Clever idea! Needs more progress bars to help visualize the egg laying rates.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17pm

haha the kind of game I like to play when I want to kill time, 10/10 would breed chickens again.

cutandreil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Not a job I would like to do in real life ...
I've made 500$ in day 167.
(I've used nearly the same amount of every chicken)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Hi there. Nice simple clickfarmer. Sell Eggs button was just off screen for first 8 days... so that was a pain... but things went better once found it ;) Liked the flutey music.

dusho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:33pm

interesting idea, good game.. needs more features

charlesque says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:08am

Quite good game, but maybe a bit too slow or too long. It doesn't make me wanna try to make a better score many many times. Still a good job. :)

Budaniel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Note to self: chicken farming is NOT a fast, easy road to riches. It's a nice, simple game and it fits the theme. My biggest complaint is that it rapidly became a game of whack-a-mole as the farm filled up, and once it was filled it there was nothing left to do except whack moles. I would have also liked to have seen more gradients in the level of chicken satisfaction so I could know which one needed my help most desperately.

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:15am

A nice clickfarmer ¡I NEED MORE EEEEEEEEGGGGSSSSS! really, congratulations on finishing LD

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Woah! Did not expect this! Really fun game :)

The loop can get kind of annoying after long periods of time, but I had fun!

grid96 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Fun little game.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:08am

Interesting concept and quite a nice time-killer as well.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Impressively compelling!

Nice touch that the cheaper chickens are easier to maintain; I swamped myself with an army of clicks before I figured that out.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]