Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Vibrant City

by Anshul Goyal - Compo Entry

This Ludum Dare I made a game called 'Vibrant City'. In Vibrant City you play as a highly specialized agent of Skyward corporation. Skyward corporation excels in planetary security and has an immaculate track record of keeping interplanetary threats away from its citizens. Recently, once such threat was identified in a nearby city and you have been chosen to go to the city and do the needful. You are fully equipped with the required gadgets that would allow you to finish your job from the rooftops without even touching the ground. You'll know why :)

Navigate from rooftop to rooftop, protect civilians and save the city from getting turned into a Vibrant City.

Controls:
WASD : Move player
Left Click: Change rooftops and Takedown enemies
Tab: View game stats
M: Mute music/sfx
Space: for all other interactions in the game

I put together some sounds from freesound.org.

Note: Sorry for not embedding the game here. My game's resolution is 1024x576 and the max supported resolution here is 900x600.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#265Graphics3.56
#372Innovation3.38
#402Mood3.10
#459Overall3.28
#626Theme3.55
#635Fun3.01
#816Humor2.07

Comments

dorkster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24am

Wow, this was intense to play. It took me a bit to understand that I needed to be near the edge of a rooftop to take out vibrants. Once I got that down, trying to stay on top of all the possible targets was mind-consuming in the best way. I thought the gradual progression of the number of people on the ground was a nice touch, and was a good way of letting you know how far in the mission you are.

I would definitely buy a complete game with this concept and style.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22pm

solid game here. Really enjoyed it. you have a strong tone and atmosphere with supporting audio and gameplay that suits the theme. well done.

AMT says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Good atmosphere and visuals. The writing wasn't great but it worked for a small game like this. I couldn't figure out how to tell the difference between Vibrants and civilians but the vantage point / rooftop mechanic was fun.

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Nice graphics, good job!

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Oo this is an intriguing game. Once I figured out how to spot the vibrants (perhaps I'm slow!) this became very engrossing. Looks great too.

TKF15H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Graphics & music fit each other nicely. I sometimes get the feeling that the vantage point should be valid but it doesn't shoot. It should really have a different sound effect for when you can't shoot or miss.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54pm

A very solid game. I would say that some help in finding targets would have made it quicker to enjoy, but once I got rolling, it was a lot of fun. Very smooth!

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Nice game, you turned me into a mass murder of civilians, but the graphic style is pretty cool, and so is the idea and the music, well done!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:26pm

nice

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Did not get the idea at first but got better after a while. The targets are a bit too small. However overall it's good :)

Ellian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Really nice. You might quickly get overwhelmed, and it kinda lacks a goal or game over condition ( if there is one I didn't play long enough / felt it ? ), but it's really nicely done. Good work! :D

cmayhem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Looks very nice and a unique idea. Well done!

Nardom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:38pm

The mood / atmosphere are really nice. The city rooftops with the soothing background music gave me a slight mirror's edge style vibe, but in a more pixelated/simple environment.

Very nice overall!

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:47pm

I can't play the web version; maybe it's my slow connexion? I'll try later ;)

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:08pm

I really liked the game visual and gameplay.. congrats!!!

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Hah, this game is vibrant! =)

BobMorate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Very good entry! It's a bit difficult to get from where to aim to the vibrants (or civilians!), but other than this a very nice concept and fun. Kudos!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Hi there. Like the premise, killed quite a few civilians by accident - honest guv. Like the music and mood. Sound for change building... Good job!

LMT says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Very interesting game - lovely graphics, I just feel like it could be more inituative / explained better.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Really cool, the graphics look great and music creates a pretty nice mood. Nice work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Nice idea, solid execution. Maybe the graphics, at least the characters, could be bigger, as right now it's little difficult to hit anyone when they are such a small targets to click.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:12am

Quite a beautiful game, though I had trouble killing. I Included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Kdfz6b6_ebE

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:35am

Thanks everyone for the valuable feedback and playing my game!!!

Few minor clarifications:
- You have to be on the edge of the rooftop in order to take down vibrants walking on the road.
- Vibrants shake themselves periodically while civilians simply walk quietly.

@regisRquoi: Is the web version working for you now?

nicotuason says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:05am

Really intriguing game! I love the concept of finding the hidden vibrants among the humans. The rooftop travelling works well, I just wish there was more "impact" when you snipe the vibrants.

spazzarama says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:56am

Really liked it, thx. I think I'm slow cause it took me a little while to work out how to get to the other roof tops :P

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Good Work ^^

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:37pm

It took a minute to understand what's going on. Anyway, i's a cool idea. What you should improve for a post-compo version is user-feedback: it's hard to read if I hit a civilian or a vibrant, for example.

sputnik says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:04am

Nice setting and intriguing concept. Kinda hard with a trackpad..

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Interesting concept. Reminds me of the old style gta which is never a bad thing.

yosh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Tested with a touchpad... and gosh that was hard!
I like the idea though!
Something that could have been cool is to be able to zoom to have a better precision on a giving area.
Maybe also show/increase the scope of the hero.

Good job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Pretty fun gameplay. Moving from roof to roof felt great.
Took a while before I figured out how to actually shoot the baddies. I really enjoyed the music.

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:02pm

I have some gripes: it's hard to click on enemies. Clicking almost always results in "find better vantage point" or "I can't aim from here" even though I'm still able to hit things. Also, sometimes enemies move behind buildings so I can't see them.
Besides those things, I think this is a really cool game and would like to see more

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Fun little game. I found the aiming a little frustrating - I realize it's a sniper game but I felt there should have been a little more room for error - or maybe the targets could be a little larger. Otherwise great game with an interesting premise. Good work!

gladers says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Great game, really enjoyed it. Well done creating something so interesting for the theme :D

LabOne says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:58pm

I did nothing and became the best person they know for this job :)

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Beautiful game with a great atmosphere. Having to switch between rooftops and find vantage points adds a layer to the gameplay that can make things really intense. I also appreciate that you have to spot the enemies yourself instead of just pointing them out with an arrow or something. Great game, one of the best to come out of this LD!

udo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:25pm

That was very well done, even though it took a bit of figuring-out what was going on. Nice job!

RetroEpic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Really enjoyable game! It was sometimes difficult to work out which angles I was allowed to shoot at, and the buildings' relative heights. But great otherwise :)

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Great music. Always fun to assassinate people from above. :)

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:19am

Visual style is fantastic. I just couldn't figure out what to do. I double checked the controls, read the game description a few times, read the comments and still couldn't figure out what I was doing. Finally figured it out a little but I couldn't help killing civilians and ran into issues trying to even shoot at vibrants when I saw them. Maybe a better explanation or tutorial would help. But still, this is a cool game with an awesome visual style.

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:14am

Nice concept! Could be really good with some more fleshed out gameplay and graphics.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:01pm

I liked it

jpmit says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Great entry, good idea, nice graphics and sound, all well executed.

However: you didn't make the music yourself, therefore breaking the rules of the compo (as I understand them)! Thus I've chosen to not mark you for a couple of categories ;)

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:13am

Attractive, nice mood, love the city. Loved the teleporting sound-effect! Swooop! I'm not super into a game about a sniper, so I didn't play it for very long. Also: man those targets are so finicky and small!

voxel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:17pm

I'm glad you kept the visuals fairly simple here. I think it works really well and although the targets *are* tiny, they're not that hard to click on and it adds an element of challenge. Music was cool, and I'm glad you took the time to include a little intro to set the scene, made all the difference in mood. Nice work, send my condolences to the families of all the civs I accidentally splatted

Shivur says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Very good game. The only thing is it's so hard to aim since the targets are so little and always move. Maybe making the cursor a target and if the vibrant is in it kills him.

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Pretty hard game, but a cool concept. Making citicens and vibrants a bit bigger could solve that problem.

The game looks pretty good and was fun to play!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:07am

Well done! I liked the graphics style and atmosphere much

Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:34am

Love the art style! It was a bit strict on where you could shoot from and the targets were a little small, but great nonetheless.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Nice one. Love the way you put in there what you had in mind. I think the music is mandatory to create this atmosphere between a conspiration and solitary killer of "Vibrants". Love it :D

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Great art style, I love how the buildings look like blueprints. The sound is great as well, overall I love the presentation. Aiming seemed to be weird telling me I needed a better vantage point when I don't think I should have.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Nice, I love the concept! However, I found it fairly difficult to hit vibrants, even when I knew where they were. I would often not have line of sight, or be unable to click on them.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:11am

Great entry! I like the way player can teleport from one building to another and the feeling of a game! Graphic is simple but nice.

guimonpa says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:35am

Nice concept, simple and addictive!
Sometimes it was difficult to hit the vibrants because of the way the aiming system works. Maybe it could be made more visual by having a laser sight from your position to the mouse that turns red to show that you can't aim from there?

Florent says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I was a little hard to see who was who but nice game !

Chris M says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:27am

Very nice! Great theming and after I got the mechanics it was very engaging as I struggled to stop the entire population turning vibrant. I noticed a while in to the game I'd only play in one specific area, which means I wasn't using the cool building-switching mechanic as much as I'd have liked to. Perhaps bigger, more noticeable threats would incentivise the player to move around the map a lot more?

Riocide says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:23am

I had no clue what I was doing. Cool music but needs better instructions...

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:27am

It's a bit hard for me. But nonetheless, it's a solid game!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:20am

Sometimes I had feeling like the shooting isn't working even though I was standing on the edge.. Otherwise it was somehow fun to play. Good job

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 5:04pm

could not really figure it out - my problem - what i saw i like and will try it again

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]