Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Blues

by jrbitt - Jam Entry

Can you find the exit of the Garden? It's hard you can try, try many times. Do you have hope? Where is the exit? There are an exit?

Update 1: 12/10
- Now walls aren't created under player
- Resolved sound problem in HTML5. Now you have full experience in browser too!

Known bugs:
- In movement (tile by tile);
- I know that player is very ungly :-D
- In HTML5 required WebGL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#259Mood(Jam)3.39
#424Audio(Jam)2.91
#449Innovation(Jam)3.12
#600Theme(Jam)3.45
#729Overall(Jam)2.94

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15am

Really cool game!

Try mine, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:32am

Never found the exit, but I liked how it got really creepy if you were in there for a long time.

jrbitt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:36am

@madameberry thanks to play!! Please, say me what did you feel when you played? Thanks!

Inateno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40am

Didn't found the exit, surrender xD

jrbitt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:42am

@Inateno :-D Thanks to play! Please, say me what did you feel when you played? For my game concept the feelings is very important!

misto423 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:44am

Nice job. This was a lot more fun than I was expecting. Wasn't ready for the graphics change either haha.

jrbitt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59am

@misto423 great :-D

ruerob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11am

Nice game. I like the psychological thought behind the game. Is there a door, is there no door, do I think there is no door because I want to protect myself from selfdoubts...

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:14am

This is a neat idea. I think it would be nice to have a visual warning that the walls were going to change soon.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:26am

I played once until the fadeout, didn't found the exit, haha... Or maybe, "that" (the fadeout, game over, "death") is the only exit? A clever game!

markusfisch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Interesting concept. I like the seasons and the slow fade out.

sanojian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Makes me claustrophobic. Good job.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:03pm

NO ESCAPE.... awesome game!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24am

Awww! The plants have come for my soul!!!

Haha jk, neat concept, lends itself to a game that needs no instructions...unlike mine...

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:25am

This game is interesting but their is little motivation to beat a game that is random and hard to see, The textures were nice and I think it was a creative game, but maybe the background could have a more predictable pattern. other then that its a neat game :)

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:26am

I like the part where you find the exit then fight the dragon. jk, i succumbed to seasonal affective disorder. very nice experience that game.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:27am

I can't find the exit too, and I get trapped sometimes by the walls so it made me wait before I can look around for the exit. Guess it's really around there somewhere to find with a limited light.

The game is nice though, good execution. I like the retro style of the game.

sam101 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:29am

I guess there is no exit :). The music and the mood are really great.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:29am

Interesting gameplay, I feel as the game is trying to send a message! nice job!

srakowski says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:29am

I have the blues... I can't find that darned exit! :-) Challenging.

jrbitt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:37am

Thanks for everyone and all comments!! After rate period I promisse will publish a statement explain more about this concept. Of course that now I can't do it ;-)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:42am

Wow, this was really cool. I felt like the music synced up perfectly, and realizing the walls were moving was a nice "Oh shit" moment. good job on this :)

allanolivei says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Never find the exit. I'm getting nervous, maybe the scenario should change less.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Cool game with a lot of thought appears to been put in the seasonal effects on the garden! Would've loved if something more did happen? Merry Christmas!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:24pm

The exit is a lie. Nice game.

Threstle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Nice game ! I like the idea that the playground gets darker until the end.

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Oh my goodness!! It's changing while I'm playing!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]