Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

OUTRANGE

by Snuux - Compo Entry

This is small tower defense game. You must protect circle from enemies.

The aim of game - get max score.

Press arrow keys, to rotate circle and towers. Press space, for add turret on the right part of circle.

Submit your score!

To run on mac, download love2d from official site https://www.love2d.org/ . And then, open my game, with love2d.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#162Graphics3.79
#200Fun3.51
#386Overall3.36
#436Innovation3.28
#577Mood2.91
#726Theme3.47
#871Humor1.90

Comments

SloZigec says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Very interesting :)

I had a much harder time the second time I played it (beginner's luck I guess). A cool game!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:05am

I like the minimalistic graphics. It gives a good aesthetic. Gameplay was somewhat interesting, but lacked variety.

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:07am

I like it, kind of a new take on missile command. It was a bit confusing at first to notice that new turrets spawn in the same place every time. Also that the cost of turrets was associated with the gold in the top right. Once I got the hang of it, I actually found myself playing quite a few rounds.

Good job! :)

Valtaroth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08am

Nice visuals and concept! It gets quite addicting. I didn't get any audio though and the window was a bit to high to fit in my laptop's screen, otherwise great game. :D

rsergiu2003 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10am

i'm on a mac.... can't run it on mac...

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:12am

making turrets place only on that one part made it rediculously diffcult early on.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:12am

Helps when I read the instructions. I did find that once I got enough turrets I could just spin them constantly and win.

Also, might want to make the hitboxes a bit bigger. It was hard to hit them when I was actually aiming for them.

qleonetti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:13am

would love to play it, can you make an osx version ? I think you can do it with Love

indigofiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:20am

Once you got like 15 turret the game got significantly easier. You should make it harder as time goes by, maybe add diferent enemies?

Overall very good, it looks very clean and neat. XD

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:22am

Nice game. Dig the aesthetic. The gameplay is repetitive though. The second time I played, I got to the point where there were so many turrets that I didn't have to move to get the missiles anymore.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:25am

You'd think that having dozens of guns would make this game easy. Solid game. Like the art style.

MrPhil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:32am

Nice look, good game play and fits the theme perfectly. MY only beef is I couldn't figure out when the new turrets showed up.

Odefus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:41am

I like the clean minimalistic aesthetic. Very nice.

volkoivan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:49am

Very cool design and concept! Interesting and pleasantly to play. Liked it very much.
One of the best I've seen so far here :)

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32am

Great game!
Love the graphics.
One suggestion: Make the shots a different color from the enemies.

Other than that, well done!

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:03pm

I see you opted out of the sound category, so the lack of sound didn't affect my score, but a little bit of sound would have gone a long way. Otherwise a fun little game - I always enjoy radial movement in games (though I may be a bit biased ;)). Graphics are clean and crisp, use of particles is nice, game is challenging. Good work!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice visuals (as everyone else noted) and the game was very fun. Raising the difficulty when you get a higher score could've improved the game somewhat. Good luck! :)

GFM says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51am

Did I overdo it? XD
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/55733901/LD48/outrange.png

The "trail" effect is really cool!! =D

The game definitely should get harder over time... and maybe turret's price should grow at a higher rate. XD

PriorBlue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:14am

Very cool art style and it's very challenging.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:13pm

We like your simple and stylish minimalistic graphics.
5 stars! =)

MjSpeCter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I love the particles implemented, though I am sad they shoot down missiles. The game itself is beautiful! Would do nothing different, this would be a good way to train my brain to react quickly =D Awesome entry!

chakitp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:10am

nice concept. pretty simple, still fun to play

blackmagic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:15am

Great game, really fun to play. Too bad there's no sound, it would have make the experience even more intense :)

hbocao says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Really good job! I loved the graphics, simple but effective and pretty. Missed some sound effects and music, but I get it. Love how easy and simple is to get engaged with gameplay. Tweak a little bit more and keep working on it. Really great job!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:14am

Very nice. I love your graphic style and it's a novel, simple and fun game idea. It might be good to have an indicator for exactly where the tower is going to be.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]