Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ATTACK ON RADMARS

by radmars - Jam Entry

ATTACK ON RADMARS
An unknown alien force is attacking your home planet of RADMARS! The planet can only withstand 10 missile impacts! Divert the missiles, block them with your body, do whatever it takes to survive the incoming onslaught.

Shoot tiny black holes to redirect their attacks!
Don't forget to protect the escape pods!



left / right or a / d = move
up / w = shoot black holes!

Team:
Spacemars
Adhesion
Emarcotte
Brendo
Steakzzz

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#42Fun(Jam)3.91
#51Overall(Jam)3.95
#67Audio(Jam)3.85
#91Innovation(Jam)3.83
#100Graphics(Jam)4.21
#129Theme(Jam)4.02
#150Humor(Jam)3.40
#165Mood(Jam)3.58

Comments

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:41am

Great job. I liked it very much. Great concept. well an all around good game.

duon44 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:33pm

really challenging game with amazing graphics!

Vtor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:35pm

You, sir, made an awesome game.

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Graphics are very glorious. Mechanics are tricky, but very fun to play with.

ajopart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Huge !! Guys, rate some other games so this one gets more visibility. It deserves it !! Good job

Bensonance says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:40pm

This is really awesome! Love the black hole mechanic to push away missiles! Probably my favorite jam entry so far! :D

Bensonance says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Also, I totally feel our jam game about Orks playing Polo should be set on Rad Mars :P.

ThatsMyJam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Hah awesome graphics and cool concept! Hope you do well!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Very cool idea!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:58pm

The mechanic feels slightly clumsy, but is quite fun and promising. Excellent graphics, audio and feel. It would be a lot better if you added player life and other such gamey stuff as otherwise it feels more like a polished prototype than a game.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Oh my, this must be my favorite entry so far. The graphics, music, gameplay, everything spot-on. I'll be playing this a bit more now actually!

Shampop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:15pm

The Force is great in that one.
That's a really good game, one of my favorite (if not the one) !

YourNerdyJoe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:48am

Rad Dude! Love the black hole mechanic.

CullenCoyote says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:52am

As soon as I realized that they were black holes that I was shooting and WARPING FREAKIN GRAVITY, this became one of my top entries....scratch that, the intro sold it to me. Good work

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:53am

Wow, this is one of the better ones I have seen. Artwork is beautiful, mechanic is solid. Could totally see playing this on my iPad.

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:57am

Wow! This game has such a well-integrated original mechanic! Extremely fun :-)

karol says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:09am

Really solid. Great graphics, audio and gameplay. I'd give extra points for using javascript but there weren't any more available. 40/40

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:25am

I really liked this entry, it's awesome! I love everything about it, graphics, design, audio everything! Only thing i think that could improve it would be upgrades. I believe this would give it more gameplay and increase fun rating. Awesome physics and title screen! I'd love to see this as a full game with multiple levels and more! if you do make it please link me cause i think this idea is awesome!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:27am

Fantastic. That was really fun!

The difficulty curve felt very appropriate, and the controls were tight and responsive. Great art, fitting music too!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:07am

Rad.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:19am

Pretty cool, neat concept never seen before (reminded me of Gravity Golf :P)

tcarter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:17am

I loved the pixel art! Reminds me of Mega Man somehow.

seraphki says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:52am

Love it! Graphics are awesome, and I love the mechanic. Super fun! =D

chakitp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:30am

Awsome game. I liked the Concept.. and it Was fun to play..

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:11am

That is a really great game. The graphics are very nice, the controls feels very good, the gameplay is challenging and addictive. A post compo version with sound would be great. Thank you for this great peace of entertainment.

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:13am

Sorry My headphones where of. You have also great sound and music. Very nice job!!!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:51am

Rather fun, though dizzying game with the spinning.

Positives:
1. Great graphics
2. Funny planet
3. Neat mechanic of blackholes redirecting missiles into themselves, ships, and pods.

Negatives:
1. It would be nice to have a win condition instead of playing forever and losing. Maybe destroying a set number of ships or saving a set number of people.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:36am

I rated it very high :D ... i like it very much ... 5 stars in almost everything ... the black holes !! great idea... keep it this way

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:00pm

I really like this game. It's easy to play and hard to master :)

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Had a ton of fun with this one. The art style and soundtrack are delightful. Mood is dark yet cute at the same time. Love how you have to use black holes to turn the missiles back on the bombers - very clever. Great work!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:43pm

This was actually really fun to play, good job! Maybe check out ours?

Mikel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I liked it very much, good idea and great graphics and humor...
I miss some indicator of how far I am from dying...

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Cool Mars and cool graphics! I have not seen this gameplay, I liked the game =)

fancypants says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Awesome game, very addictive and very original.

gene-z says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Very fun, congratulations

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I like the concept a lot of what's going on with the mechanics and the indirect way you are dealing with the missiles vs just shooting them down. However, the camera made me extremely nauseated so I had to quit relatively early on x_x I'm not sure if there's anything to be done about this, like if it was a framerate issue, or the speed of rotation or what, but there you go. The art was super cute. Nice job!

Lyxilion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Great game, very nice concept ! I like it !

hoqjed says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:34pm

AWESOME. Gameplay, graphics, and audio are also superbly polished. Great concept and humor.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Awesome game, becaomes very hard very quick ! Great music !

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Bravo. Nice game, challenging, fun, addictive. Cool concept, art and music. Good Job. My best score 2128.

The game make my pc lags and i think is there a limit to where you can go because there are too much missile that you can't avoid after a certain time.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Mars is cool as heck. I Included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Z4bPWwSnLLA

Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:02am

Very cool. Quite an interesting mechanic, I think it could do with some tweaking (there seems to be a point where the missile hasn't hit but you're powerless to stop it). Otherwise very slick - great art and catchy music too.

Warpgames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:21am

Wow that game you've done is really good! It is the best jam game i seen so far. I like this badass-look mars with glasses and mechanics! Sound and overall graphics is good too. Well done!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Pssst! You are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FpmlKDMEGYo

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Very cool and very fun! Loved the black hole mechanic!!

As per my observation, all the enemies are always in the same orbit. It would be cool to introduce multiple enemy types with different behaviour and difficulty level and place them in several orbits. I would definitely play the complete version of this game with proper progression and other stuff.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:04pm

A little laggy on my old computer, but I managed to play this nice entry with fun, trying to destroy those bad aliens who wants to destroy my little cute planet. Well done. :)

kaa says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:34am

Good game! Very nice game mechanics!

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Ooo that was pretty cool. Nice gravity gimmick. I loved the graphics and the detail in the effects, too. Great entry!

Sestren says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Once I got the feel for how to deflect rockets back at the enemy ships, it became really fun!

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Very good game. Congratulations.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: using cached page]