Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Mossnaso

by Mase - Jam Entry

READ ME: The google sites version has a larger/variable window size, but you might have to click on a download button. It should then play directly in the browser (i.e., no actual download)... just a quirk.

Arrows to move. Space to cast.

When the curly gauge is full and the two sorcerers are defeated, return to the starting room.

The wavy and jaggy gauges can be replenished at pools.

masonlindroth.tumblr.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#29Graphics(Jam)4.54
#57Mood(Jam)3.89
#166Audio(Jam)3.51
#207Overall(Jam)3.60
#233Innovation(Jam)3.51
#308Humor(Jam)2.97
#463Fun(Jam)3.09

Comments

cdwaddell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03am

I think the SWF download is driving people away from this one. It is very artistic and a joy to play!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:05am

I love the graphics and environment on this. Reminds me of the old mac classic!

Mase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:07pm

@cdwaddell I added a web version. Thx.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Very creative! The black/white graphics are very nice, and the 3D style is awesome. I might have tried to make the movement feel a bit more on the 3D side, though; for example, the player could walk/cast parallel to the walls when up against them.

Hammers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36pm

What a lovely looking game!

Pankoman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37pm

beautiful art, I really liked it. What did you use to make it ?

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Wierd, in the good way!! I loved it

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:13am

This is awesome! I love the look and sound and mood. I ran out of jaggy far from a pool and touching things took away my wavy. The perspective makes the shooting pretty weird, and it was often unclear when things were colliding. I want to see a polished version of this very bad.

Good choice not including the "theme" category.

Tortoise says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:15am

Amazing abstract and creepy designs. Loved the audio, and visuals!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:16am

Very creative game and and interesting idea!
I like the art style and the sfx are really funny (and annoying at the same time).

Very good job!

Mase says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:45am

@ETHproductions: Good idea.
@Pankoman: Secret technique.
@Crosstales: The sound is a bit grating... even after listening to it for many hours I still find it annoying... but I really like the randomization. I was thinking of old games with annoying but weirdly compelling sound effects like Batman for the ZX Spectrum.

seraphki says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:35am

How unique! It feels as though I've stumbled into a surrealist art piece, and am being welcomed to take part in it. I consider videogames an art form anyway (It's surprising how many don't), but this has a really cool feel that brings it closer to traditional art. Well done. Cheers!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:38am

The art is kind of creepy...

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:47am

Love the 80's Macintosh-style 1-bit dithering. Looks great. :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Nightmarish art design, though I mean that as a compliment. This reminds me of old black-and-white Mac games.

It is very hard though. I did not even manage to defeat the first sorcerer.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Nice art, not very funny but a visual pleasure :D

SoulGame says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:46am

Wow. really wtf contemporary game. Graphics reminds me the first game i played on a computer : Cats.
Doing music was really fun but sometimes was a mess.
With a nice balancing and less action for more enigma could be cool.
Nice job.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:45am

i remember a previous jam game you made. your games are weird and I love it. absolutely love it. the art, the sound, its great.

christopf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:55am

like people saying this is a "van gogh" about picture they don't know but can associate because the style and mood of the picture you can nearly say this is a "lindroth".
Beautiful technique you are using for your visuals and i also love the roughness of your programming. The sounds are just matching, i like.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I love the visuals. The gameplay was ok, but I still really enjoyed it. :)

LMT says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:10am

Woah, that is awesome!

ceosol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:17pm

This was a great game. It was very smart having most of the bad guys using simple AI. I'm sure it left more time to get the artwork done. It looks like you had a box set up with clay laid out in patterns. You took a picture, and then cartoon 2-tone stylized it. If that is how you went about it - brilliant way to make the building. If you didn't, then I am amazed at your artistry.

OddballDave says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:12pm

I love this. I had a big smile on my face the whole time I was playing. Awesome stuff.

Saf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Great art and interesting game. I wonder how you managed to get that done with the entire game alone in a weekend!
The game is away from the theme, not including theme section here makes sense but then it beats the whole point of a Jam..

Also, there is no Source link anywhere.

Mase says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:54pm

@Saf The source is only mandatory in Compo entries. This is a Jam entry.

peterkirk says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:18am

The look and sound of this game gives it a feeling that is strange and amazing. Absolutely loved it.

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:57am

Graphics and mood are so amazing and unique! It's like Dali got his hands on MacPaint.

Had a hard time getting into the gameplay; the controls felt imprecise and the shooting was not very interesting. Still, mega-wow on the whole feel!

Aru Nyan says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Reminded me a lot of some of the old Mac classics :3
Very well done!

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:36am

This game is unique. The ambiance of the game is really what makes it. Would love to see some text to help guide through the game, but other than that it's pretty neat.

ponk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Beauty .. ! BEAUTY ..!!!
Amazing work :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]