Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Resize

by haloflooder - Jam Entry

This is a joke game with an interesting concept. Was made in around 8 hours.

Dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt

Resize, featuring dickbutt!

Programming/artwork/sound by Haloflooder

*note: I noticed that this game sorta works on HTML5 so I'll try to port it on there. All I need do is give it a harsh shove.

**note: Need to render vector graphics to raster in order to get 100% compatibility for the web browser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Innovation(Jam)3.88
#98Humor(Jam)3.62
#120Theme(Jam)4.04
#506Fun(Jam)3.04
#524Overall(Jam)3.19
#565Audio(Jam)2.50
#839Graphics(Jam)2.50
#886Mood(Jam)2.38
#1659Coolness41%

Comments

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07am

WOW I love it. You really took the theme and ran with it. good job.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10am

I've always wondered what Dickbutt sounds like when he walks... now I know! Cool take on the theme!. However, there were times when walking to the right that the entire window would go offscreen and i couldn't figure out how to go any further. Is the game supposed to start off-screen at the very top left of my monitor? Great work in any case!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17am

Very original take on the theme!
Too bad the screen goes way up when I fall down and I can't see.
Good game.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:22am

My life was incomplete until this moment.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:24am

impressive audiovisuals :)

haloflooder says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:34am

I didn't test this game on any computers besides mine. the game is supposed to center the player at the middle of the monitor.

I have a 1920x1200 resolution so it worked fine with me when I was testing the game. I only had around 8 hours to make this game. I'll make the bug fixes for the smaller monitors.

angela says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56am

There were so many things I love about this game. First of all it has dickbutt in it. Also - the the actual window grows with the game(it filled up both of my monitors) the dead dickbutts that hang around on the screen, being all dead, the sound effects are so incredibly fitting, and also - dickbutt. (it's worth mentioning twice). the bad: the collision detection on the sideways spikes was really touchy, and I didn't finish it, because I couldn't figure out how to get past that one part without dying. There were dead dickbutts everywhere. I'd love to see this game play-reviewed by someone on you-tube. That would make my day.

Zi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:30am

Dickbutt? Dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt! Dickbutt, dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt, dickbutt dickbutt dickbutt.

Dickbutt, dickbutt!

But seriously, really cool game! Too bad it has some issues on my display where the window eventually disappears.

Divitos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:42am

Kept crashing for me.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:26am

Ha nice game made me laugh

5k0d says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:39am

nice idea! sometimes
window moved out of screen

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44911

Linear says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:14am

Apparently when I played, resizing the game so much broke the Windows Desktop windowing system and caused a memory crash due to how much resizing, haha.

The concept was very cool - definitely a unique twist on the game, but it could have used something in the levels to spruce up the game (pick ups or something along those lines).

haloflooder says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:18am

I'll make a mode where it'll make the game full size but it'll black out the rest. It'll give the same effect of moving the window around though.

aidinviper says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:34am

nice game.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:50am

Hah! Interesting concept, but the game definitely does not work on all resolutions =(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]