Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Game of the Probability Goose

by Alexandre Szybiak - Compo Entry

Game of the Probability Goose is a board game where you can play with probability.
Pick from different type of dice to better the odds !

Controls : Mouse only

Up to 4 player (humans or bots).

//RULES
Pick a dice
The gold dices are better but costs 2 coins
Try to reach the end first (the blue star)

//EDIT
I fixed a crash that made the game unbeatable, I'm going to bed now :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Graphics4.28
#42Overall3.92
#83Fun3.76
#193Innovation3.68
#255Mood3.29
#268Humor2.98
#350Theme3.76

Comments

FerraWare says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18am

Cool game. I really wanted to rate the other categories, why did you opt them out?

lucassousam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22am

Muito bom, realmente gostei.

DrHahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07am

Dude, I really love the art, and I love dice games, and I loved this ones approach. I don't know why you stopped voting on all the other categories, but those are the ones I would have scored this highest. If you want sound for it, let me know post voting, this is actually really cool.

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:56am

I'm not a board game fan, but this one was OK. The game didn't make a sound here (checked my volume settings), but that and "Mood" is the only things I can rate.

Rundrop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14am

Really neat board game.

molecats says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28am

Oh nice ending stuff !

LittleThor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:29am

Very fun and original game! I also really wanted to rate your art, originality and other stuff, why only compete in audio and mood?
Awesome work!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:07am

Edit: Nice! We can now vote for other categories! Here come a lot of good rate! ^^

okkolobr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:11am

Nice approach of a somewhat boring dice old school board game. Like this one !

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:14am

Very nicely presented - the art is excellent - but what a shame that there's no sound as this would have topped off the game's overall experience.

Pampattitude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:14am

Really, really amazing!
It's simply beautiful, simple, and I love it.

liamtwose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:42am

Nicely done little board game! Get this ported to tablets :)

t4u says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:03pm

SO pretty...<puking rainbow>

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Really enjoyed that! Lovely look and the simple tactics of it are really engaging. Even better that I won :D

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Well done.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24pm

nice, these types of games never get old. cute graphics

ladybenko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:31pm

very cheerful, I'm in love with the art

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Would have liked a few more mechanics, but then again hey, it's a game jam game. Got to love that art though!

drludos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Excellent entry! I love the art style (outstanding graphics 5/5) and the general feel of the game - a board game on steroids :). The gameplay is nice too, you force the player to choose between risky bet and less risky dice throws. I especially like how you can see where you'll end up with each dice, and it's nice that you remove this visual help for the last steps. Excellent game, you should definitively create a post-compo version with sound and release it on Android / iOS :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Fun idea. I love the probability decisions you are constantly making. The art style is also really cute and charming.

Todnut says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Great graphics!

jstzwd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09am

Great game, I like the graphics so much! Remind me of my childhood!

rnlf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:05am

Really cool idea with the different dice. I could imagine this being made into a real board game and actually paying money for it. Maybe you should try to make a deal with Hasbro or so...

Also that must be some pretty heavy dice with all the screenshake :-D

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Hi there. Like the look and feel. Shame no sounds. Wasn't sure how to progress other than just clicking dice, probably more fun with 4ppl as a race game. Good job visuals!

wilbefast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Wow, what a great little game :D

This is a really interesting, innovative concept. I wish more kids board-games had a notion of playing odds rather than just "you won because of luck": we'd have smarter children :P

It's a bit there's no sound/music but in any case great work. It's by far my favourite game so far (but I've only played 3 lol).

lukepilgrim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:02pm

this is totally great!

wooltech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:00am

I love boardgames, and this is a nice twist on one that does something only a computer version can (unless you ship with hundreds of different dice!) Snakes and ladders with some actual gameplay.

wilbefast says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:50am

Oh by the way, is this flashy 'where you may land' marker a bug or a feature? IMHO variably transparency (for different probabilities) would be better than flashing.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:18am

Yes it's a feature but I'd like to change, different transparency would be great, or different size.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Nice polish and polished and casual, all my taste.

MonoS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Neat, polished, colorful and fun.
Your game is cool and you're a pretty cool guy

Ashtom says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:34am

Nice board game that looks polished but doesn't feel well probably due to lack of sound. I could win and had a good fun. I liked having different dices to choose from, that was a good game design decision.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I love the core mechanic here. It's a really interesting mixture of luck and strategy.

When you hover the mouse over a die, the head icons flicker really quickly over the spaces where you might land. I don't know whether that's intentional, but it's a visual annoyance in an otherwise beautifully drawn game.

Great job!

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:32am

I really enjoyed this. The idea was great, the art was well done, and I enjoyed the probability puzzles. I would have liked some simple sounds, even just something from bfxr to fill it in. Still, I enjoyed the play through very much. This would make a fantastic app (since that seems to be the best place for boardgame style videogames).

hjfrew says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:43am

Very nice graphics, very tight presentation, though if all the players were bunched up together at any point in the board, especially the left side, I couldn't see what effects a tile might have if I landed on it.

renatopp says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:29am

AWESOME! First board game I see here, pretty good change to the basic mechanic of dice rolling. The art is lovely! I would like to see a version of this to IPAD with 2+ human players option! Great job.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:08am

nice approach on board games! :D

wanna try it with some friends <o/

ripatti says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:54am

Nice entry! Catched me for 20 minutes!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:13am

really well done - adding to my faves list

Hammers says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Really good idea. I absolutely love this. Fantastic job!

Having to role an exact number to win the game got a bit annoying as it meant I was stuck at the very end for quite a few throws, and on the left side of the board the players cover up the spaces making it hard to see where you're going to land. Other than that though this was a really polished and fun experience.

Tifu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:42pm

The dice decision system is really cool, really clever mechanic!
My two little critiques: When you're going 'up' near the end of the board, your head obscures what the square above you is - and when a bot won on a 4 player game, the game ended immediately putting me in third place (second place was still a possibility, if the second AI had got some bad rolls/I had got some good ones :P)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:11pm

This was neat, lovely graphics. Well done!

MaesK says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Really nice game. Simple but beautiful graphics, and a great money/probability mechanic for this classic game. I miss some music, but excellent work.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:14am

Very clever game, and the art is brilliant! I love the way the die rolls in from the side, screen space is very well used. Quite excellent!

pht59x says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Where pseudo-randomness is put to pleasant use. A pity I could not hear those dices rolling.

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:15pm

I won! Fun little board game and would be fun with a bunch of players as well. Great idea and fun game. Played on stream http://www.twitch.tv/integershift

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Yep, totally brilliant. Captures something fundamental about board games in general and makes it explicit.

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:00pm

I like board games. Nice work on the innovation, interesting mechanism. Graphics are really cool.

dunin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:55pm

cool concept!

lemmily says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:39pm

:D great implementation! It definitely would have added something to have sound - but I know those woes, no sound for me either. The graphics fit nicely and I was nearly beaten by a dastardly bunny ai, but I made it!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Innovation 5/5: Pretty innovative!!!

Fun 2/5: A bit boring.

Theme 3/5: The game runs in a single screen.

Graphics 5/5: Great graphics!!!

Humor 5/5: Funny characters!!

Mood 4/5: A bit bored after a while.

Overall 3/5: May if I play with friends is better.

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Hey, I really loved the idea behind this game! Being able to choose your dice brought an interesting element of choice into snakes and ladders. My main issues were that money was pretty hard to come by, and that some portions of the board were extremely unforgiving. I liked the very clean art style you chose to go for, I thought that it suited the game nicely! Some music might have been nice, and it'd be cool if the potential locations you could land on didn't flash so much. Overall, a great entry - keep up the good work in future! :)

zillix says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:41am

Very adorable! I really enjoyed the design of the choices in the game- picking a die gives you just enough control of your movement to make it fun :)

barryrowe says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Silly Bots! You can't beat me at silly board games!
I love the simple vector art style! The incorporation of AI is great since we don't all readily have 3 other friends to join us for a quick play.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Really great concept. Just a simple modification of a classic an you got yourself a super clever/fun game to play ! :D

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:21am

Nice idea! Very cute game. I smashed that rabbit. Would've liked some sound though.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:55pm

I did not understand a thing but graphics and polish were really smooth !

farwyler says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Amazing game with a really fun idea.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Nice take on the digital board game idea. The graphics fit well in this context. Enjoyed playing it and won in my first run ;D

Shivur says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Very fun and solid gameplay!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I loved this all around. Simple, fun and pretty! The Dice has really nice feel to it.

xaedes says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:32pm

i really like the idea to play with different dices. especially that you see the the probable outcomes of using this dice is neat. you did a nice work further improving this in the post-compo version.
the graphics feel kinda clean and its enjoyable to play a round or two against bots. the feedback you get when (e.g.) landing on a -1 field is very nice. overall are the roumble effects creating a good immersive feeling.

post-compo: some nice polishing. the music is enjoyable and quite appropriate for this kind of game

Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Oh, I really liked the idea and the feeling/feedback of the game. You actually made the Goose game fun! Congrats!

Madball says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Great graphic design! Everything fits the game's style. And nice idea as well!

gana0 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:29pm

The concept was a very good one! It made the player decide whether spending coins for a dice with higher numbers was worth it or not (sometimes it did not give favorable outcomes). Great work on the graphics, they all look very cute and crisp. The dice graphic looked really well done. An idea to expand on this game more: have more punishing spaces closer to the end of the game rather than having them evenly dispersed throughout the whole board. It would create more tension to be the first person to finish. Additionally, as a player, I felt very little incentive to not immediately spend coins. Perhaps if there were even more rare (rarer?) dice that cost 5 coins, there may be an added layer of decision for the player to decide whether or not they want to spend or save. Overall, great game, great concept and awesome graphics.

Lynx says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:03am

This is super cool! It finally takes the one part of board games I dislike (pure luck of the roll) and gives just enough strategy to make it super fun for me!

One small critic is sometimes my enemy's piece would be so tall it blocked what was written on the square above him and I found that a little annoying and had be scared: is good is it neutral is it a -3? I can't tell!

Maybe make the enemy or player pieces semi transparent when travel vertically

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:12am

Your average board game but with a choose your own RNG twist. I like it. The board (compo version) had a few sadistic spots in it that were still fair because everyone had equal a chance of falling into it as they did of passing it. I only won 1 of my 3 games but it was a great feeling when I finally did win.

-AlucardX60

LMT says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Quite nice board game. Really good for 48hours. I especially liked the graphics and the gameplay.

panda says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:04am

Very good game! Good graphics and you found a nice twist on the usual dice mechanic! Well done!

Halleflux says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:58am

I really liked this game! It was a lot of fun to play (I like games like this a lot =P), and I though I didn't really think there was a huge amount of innovation, I still think it's a nice twist to be able to change which die you use. It helps reduce the random element, which is a godsend for this type of game.
I could see this as a bigger game, if you were willing to add more content to it. Right now, there isn't too much. However, for 48 hours, this was fantastic. Well done!

hoqjed says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Huh actually a pretty interesting concept considering quite a bit relies on luck... but it still feels very strategic. So great job on balancing those aspects so it doesn't feel like you've been cheated by the game's random properties.

I played it solo against a single bot and it beat me haha. I was sort of disappointed halfway through because the bot was a solid 15 or so spaces ahead of me, but I was really surprised to see how the end of the board worked (and it was a fantastic design choice to prevent someone from wanting to quit because someone is ahead). This was pretty polished overall, the game and its graphics were both solid and clean. It seemed pretty well thought out for a compo entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]