Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Battle of the screen

by Bevilacqua - Jam Entry

A game made for the Ludum Dare competition (Jam). The theme was: Whole game on one screen. We took that theme quite literally and the entire game is played on the menu screen. Fight enemies and destroy the menu as you play. Get as far as you can and see if you can do better than the GameJolt community!

WASD / Arrow keys to move

SPACE / Left click to shoot

Everything is destructible but some things are stronger than other.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#475Innovation(Jam)3.08
#495Audio(Jam)2.71
#497Theme(Jam)3.56
#632Fun(Jam)2.88
#650Overall(Jam)3.04
#733Mood(Jam)2.71
#736Humor(Jam)2.11
#867Graphics(Jam)2.40
#1818Coolness36%

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15am

Really cool game!

Try mine, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

billrizer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:42am

Having the game on the menu screen was a pretty cute idea :)

Halleflux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:59am

Great concept, but I feel like it's lacking a bit. Understandable, though, given the 72 hour time limit.
Well done!

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

Lol the bullets are sooooooo tiny!
Generally it's a good one fitting the theme.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:51am

Very nicely done!

MaesK says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Nice idea! I thought there were some errors with texts, but they are part of the game as well! Great work

Larzan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:54am

Nice little space shooter, had problems controlling it though as the wads keys on my keyboard are far away and it didn't change after keyboard layout switch (osx/dvorak).

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:42am

Cool game!
But I still don't get why sometimes yoou take free dmg...
I like the idea ofscreen destruction! :D

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:31am

Really neat how all the UI was destructible. Not fair that the enemy could shoot diagonal and I couldn't :P Good Job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]