Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pzaton

by unpronounceable - Compo Entry

Simple arcade style game.

You control your rotational acceleration with the left and right arrow keys (or A and D). There is no way to directly control your speed.

There's a fuel meter in the lower right corner that is constantly consumed as you're playing. When you run out fuel you'll no longer be able to steer. To increase it you have to pick up the green barrels that appear around the board.

The speed and rate of fuel consumption is based on how many barrels you've picked up. The more you've picked up the higher each is. Snowmen will cool you down, decreasing both your speed and fuel consumption.

Avoid the spinning saw blades as long as possible. Hitting them ends the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#458Audio2.88
#636Fun3.00
#667Theme3.52
#718Innovation2.91
#789Overall2.97
#869Graphics2.61

Comments

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20am

Basic but cool game. Turning felt really heavy.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47am

Tried to play game but it minimises the window straight away. wont run at all

chadheim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Clever idea! Turning was always a bit scary because I couldn't get a feel on how fast the turn was going to change. Maybe some sort of ghost dot running ahead of you to help determine where you are heading.

maddogawl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:03pm

This game is stressful in a good way :)

swedishbacon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Harder then it looks! Nice work! :)

goblin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:15am

Hey! very nice game. its funny!! look my game ;)

piotrevic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Little bit similar to my game, nice idea of the way to changing direction :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:11am

Not too bad, presentation is decent, gameplay is simple but fun enough. The turning felt kinda bad though, the way it starts slow and speeds up just makes it feel a bit heavy and clunky. Turning at a constant speed but making the environment harder to negotiate might have made for better gameplay. Pretty cool stuff anyway though.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:35am

Was initially confused by the controls, but I see it was probably just a typo on the title screen ;)

Have to agree with the previous comment, I'm not a fan of the accelerating turning speed, but each to their own!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:12pm

awh the game wont run for me :( it looked so nice

hbocao says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:09am

At first I thought "Snake game. It's going to be a piece of cake!". I was so wrong. haha Not that is super hard, but it's very challenging. The controls were a bit "hard", but overall you did a very good job!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:20am

It tooks me time to get use to the control, but after 3-4 games it was quite funny to play. My highscore was 48 after 15-20 games.

colludium says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:38am

The control mechanics are challenging, but that's the point! Good fun and quite hard.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:47am

Heavy turning, but it was fun.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Fun game. It was unexpectedly hard. But after a few games I understood the controls better

01rafael says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Really harder than looks! xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]