Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Insecticide

by nkling - Jam Entry

INSECTICIDE
@NateKling
@TheProperCrunch
Design: Vinh Duong, Nate Kling
Art: Vinh Duong
Code: Nate Kling
-----
Insecticide is a two-player-simultaneous-turn-based-chess-like-tactical-strategy game. Issue orders to your bug soldiers and capture your opponents Queen in this game of insectoid-wits.
-----
Controls:
Player 1: Arrow Keys
Player 2: W A S D
------
Note: We highly recommend first-time players briefly read through the in-game rules for the best experience.
-If you are playing the browser version on the Ludum Dare, make sure to fullscreen the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#106Graphics(Jam)4.19
#233Overall(Jam)3.55
#249Innovation(Jam)3.48
#277Fun(Jam)3.35
#296Theme(Jam)3.77
#432Humor(Jam)2.71
#447Mood(Jam)3.11

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15am

Really cool game!

Try mine, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

lukz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17am

Nice idea, great graphics.

Warboys says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19am

The pixel art is gorgeous, great animations and unit design! Got to wait for when I get into the office to play multiplayer, playing against myself at the moment xD

Kuupu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19am

Amazing visuals, I just missed a better feedback for when my command is accepted or not

nicotuason says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:35am

Really great pixel art and animation! I just wish there was an indicator/arrow to show which direction was selected per unit.

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Wonderful game! Completely week thought out and I like your solution to shared screen strategy! (That's something I been debating how to do for a personal project for a long time with no success!)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:53am

not really my style - but like the idea and the graphics were pretty great

error031 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:52pm

nice graphics!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:19am

This is awsome! The rules make for a very elegant, fun game. And the art and animation, sound! Outstanding all around!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:27am

Really great game! The only suggestion is that you might consider ending the planning phase once both players have used all their energy.

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:31am

I like this game. Good depth for the time we had. Art was great. I feel like the game goes a little fast during planning.

Sharky says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:36am

Great start, I think you should continue post LD add AI enemies, a way to chose your unit's and upgrade them, more lvs, etc

lase says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:30am

A well done title, but there instructions were lot to take in initially. It would be cool if there was an on-demand key to see if the matchups would be favorable or not, rather than just the info screen at the beginning.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Awesome submission, I was a little confused at first, an in game tutorial or button prompts would be good but otherwise, loved it :P

danidre14 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Nice game! :D Took me a while to get used to it, but afterward, it was good!

sprawl says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Presentation is very good. The graphics and music fit very well together. It wasn't very clear which units kills which. It might be written in instructions, but it's quite easy to forget, I'd be nice to have a little chart on the game screen.

Otherwise, this is one of the most polished game I've played this LD. Good job.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Beautiful graphics. Good sound. congratulations.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:52pm

I had noOne to play with it would have been nice to make a fast IA ( even a dumb one ) to play with.
The simultaneous commands looks interesting to play. I wonder if it would work for 8-16 players tactical games

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Really complex for a jam game - other than reading the rules, which are really long, there isn't much way to figure out how to play the game. It would be nice if it led you slowly into it, or there was a reference every turn. The music and graphics are really neat. However, there isn't much indication of what you're doing. It might be better as an online game with proper ladders, as you could show what each player is doing without worrying about the other team seeing it.

jachepe says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Awesome game, very fun!

Lacaranian says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

dem bugs what are they?!?!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

really nice concept

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Lovely bugs! But gameplay is harder than expected

andreaswitzen says ...
Jan 4, 2015 @ 2:18pm

I just wanted to say thank you for your very nice review of my game! Felt good to "go out" on such a positive note.

I don't have anyone to play your game with at the moment but I messed around with it by myself and can say that I really like the graphics, audio and mood of the game. The gameplay seems a bit innovative as well. I believe it could be quite fun to play with a friend!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]