Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sol

by Wuhao - Compo Entry

Are we alone in this world?
The day they arrived on Pluto gave us the meaning of existence.

Survive the alien onslaught
research Terraforming to colonise other planets,
build bases to produce space ships
drag from one planet to another to travel between them
use your launch window wisely

powered by cocos2d-js

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Graphics4.05
#210Theme3.91
#240Innovation3.60
#411Audio2.94
#476Overall3.27
#600Mood2.89
#721Humor2.27
#768Fun2.86
#2112Coolness24%

Comments

Wuhao says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:06am

For best experience, play full screen

Aisland says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:27am

It's a special game with creative control method and beautiful vision. 5-stars!!!

2193q says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:32am

i like it!

dabingnn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57am

Good graphics. I like it.

pandamicro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Nicely done, the idea suite the theme very well ! The graphics is also very beautiful. Need a little explanation about the system though

Kirito says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:56pm

The Graphic is really fantastic. But actually I don't get it...how to play..?

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Awesome graphics! There's no source code commited to the GitHub. Thanks for the game and good luck!

joshg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Neat. Kinda like qonk, but a little more complex. I wish there was a little more feedback when you drag from one planet to another: at first I thought nothing was happening. Maybe put the number travelling in parens on the target planet or something?

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Hi there. Liked the ambition and the look and feel. Found it played a bit slowly. Nice music !

Rnd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:41am

Cool concept, nice graphics, but need more improvement in gameplay and user experience, make it more effect when action to make user know what are they doing.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Really nice graphics, awesome idea :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Cool game, wasn't too sure if I what I was doing was having any effect on the alien invasion though. Graphics are awesome.

Jaenis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Cool game, however it is really hard to see if your actions do anything...

Wuhao says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:07am

Thanks for playing, game was too ambitious for me this time

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:11pm

really nice idea, very nice graphics aswell

Kimau says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Very creative, and a wonderful idea but too much hidden knowledge. Never sure quiet what benefits things gave and the complexity of the systems are not surface very well.

Really solid and but I think more fun to design than play.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Really nice idea. It took a while to work out what to do, but after that it was pretty fun, even though I'm terrible at this kind of game.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Great minimalist graphics! Gameplay itself is pretty meditative, which is nice, but fonts are tad too small and after playing for ~5 minutes I stopped paying attention to graphics, and only looked at numbers.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I did struggle to understand what I was doing and how my interactions were affecting the other planets, but I liked the overall idea and the presentation of it. Think you did really well to go for something ambitious like this in 48hrs

Wirtualnosc says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:44pm

The game is nice, but a bit confusing. I'm not sure what can I do to build more bases on one planet, for example - even though my infrastructure is maxed out. Other than that, good job.

Shampop says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Great great great idea ! Hard to hunderstand, but when you've got it, the game is fun ! IA is a bit hard i think. I would be cool to have a choice of difficulty, or something like it to be able to hunderstand the game before to die. But it's cool, and pretty amazing for a compo game !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]