Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Window Of WorkCraft

by voidstar69 - Compo Entry

​A spoof of a popular online game.

Controls: left and right arrow keys (click in window if keys do not work).

Aim: collect XP and grow your sword!​


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2251Coolness14%

Comments

laluis1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:21am

The art is not perfect, but the game is great

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:08am

Like the satire.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

Tons of quests)))

BluMist says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:12am

I could just grind this all day. Who needs all that over-rated crap like; a job, a mate, a life, etc.

jpmit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Nice progress since last time I played it :)

error031 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Great idea for the game! I liked it very much :D

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:09am

Skinner-box-tastic.
WoW in a nutshell.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Hi there. Like the grind, very frustrating. More JRPG than WoW though ? Shame no sounds. Good job!

voidstar69 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Thanks everyone for your kind comments.
I got my score up to 786512 XP before I became sloppy and died.
Can you beat my high score? :-)

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:02am

This is exactly what I think of MMORPGs :)

becker929 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:27am

Not much to it: just throw yourself at enemies. Yet there's a bit of fun there :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:40am

I love the concept. I'm not a fan of running back and forth as a mechanic, but I understand the reasoning behind it, and it absolutely serves its purpose here. I also love the imagery of the ever-growing sword, though it would have been nice to have it get more complex or flashy as it grew.

jasonLJ says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:06am

This made me, a bit sad.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]