Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BUMP!

by Toki Anholmes - Compo Entry

Hi everyone.

In this game you will have to jump on monsters to score, whithout touching the ground to keep your combo.

Enjoy if you can !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#148Fun3.61
#277Graphics3.54
#314Overall3.44
#356Mood3.16
#480Audio2.85
#571Theme3.59
#847Innovation2.70
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

aslakhol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:30am

At first I was like, watt. The controls felt a bit sluggish, but then when I got into the comboing and started unlocking other moves it picked up a lot. In the end I had fun with it. still watt though.

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:57am

Fun game, psychedelic gfx.

talecrafter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09am

Great game with lots of fun and beautiful presentation.
Perhaps a bit too psychedelic for playing longer sessions.

Valandre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09am

whooo what a psychedelic game! i like it!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:13am

Nice graphics style. It was fun. My best score is 514.

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Nice game with interesting ideas. Graphics and sound are really unique and make it outstanding. The game needs some bugfixing though as i touched the floor or could stand on those spiky violett monsters several times without dying. Nice work though!

mrhill says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40pm

663, fantastic game and I really liked the graphics. My style I guess. A five in fun and graphics for me :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43pm

The best parts of Mario, presented in the most aggresively colourful manner possible! I wasn't able to play for very long at a time without getting a headache from the pulsing and the music, but in a sense that seemed to add to the mood of the game.

Also, spikeys riding bullet bills are terrifying o_o

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44pm

boing boing boing boing

Really had fun with this (maybe because it's somewhat similar to my game? :P ) Skills are a great idea and I like the way the challenge ramps up. Graphics and sound a really trippy, but maybe a bit too trippy for extended gameplay...that's up to individual taste though.

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10pm

great music and art!

syawqy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:18pm

remind me of skull pogo

ponk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:17am

FuuUUuun !
Nice acid neon graphics

Robotic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:48am

very addictive and avant-garde mr anholmes

Robotic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:50am

I scored about 661 but then I was busy looking at the sun and I died

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:17am

A nice simple game with a lot of "juice". I loved the colors, nice dash mechanic too. Good job! It was fun!

wilbefast says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:47am

Mario meets Super Crate Box ^^

Great little game, nice visuals :) Wasn't able to test sound, it's mute via Wine. I'll have to test it again on Windows later.

You make what to spawn the "double jump, etc" indications at the position of the player rather than the centre of the screen: Kevin had to point them out to me, I was too focused on my character.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:26pm

very funny game, nice visuals, well done :)

wilbefast says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Hehehehehe ^^ Yeah the music fits perfectly :P

I noticed that if I messed up my initial combo I might as well just kill myself. Have an additional multiplier tied to the survival time (ie. the difficulty) might make things a bit more balanced in this regard. Just a thought ;)

Just Tom says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:34am

Crazy fun and psychedelic! The vibrant colours where wonderful to watch but the huge, constantly moving text could sometimes make the game a little hard to read.

I really dug the concept and had a blast, unlocking abilities over time was a brilliant way to teach mechanics!

anotak says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:37pm

oh man, this is a breath of fresh air after the last 10 billion games i rated. i normally haven't been leaving comments just ratings on other people's stuff, so this is to say, good stuff. really enjoyed it.
minor complaint: perhaps the left/right movement was a little bit too acceleraty (the sluggish feeling other person's comment refers to) and not snappy enough.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]