Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ProtoBot

by jhrrsn - Jam Entry

UPDATE 13/12/14: Added a post-compo version, with PS4 controller support, UI improvements & balance adjustments. Give it a go!

ProtoBot is a game about a tenacious little robot getting ready for the outside world.

Decades of research have taught the robotologists at HexCorp that freshly-made robots - 'protobots', if you will - have a tendency to malfunction very quickly if not properly equipped to withstand challenging environments. The required training is fast, hard and often lethal. Many robots don't even make it past the first wave.

You are not those robots. You are *the* ProtoBot. You will survive, avoiding hostile swarms and deadly hazards, and emerge into the outside world battle-forged and ready for anything.


Failing that, you'll at least beat the first wave... Post your high score!


Music, SFX & Art - Chris (@fenixtao)
Code - Jack (@jhrrsn)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#135Fun(Jam)3.61
#157Overall(Jam)3.68
#199Audio(Jam)3.42
#255Graphics(Jam)3.76
#398Mood(Jam)3.18
#552Theme(Jam)3.50
#630Innovation(Jam)2.84

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15am

Really cool game!

Try mine, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21am

Difficulty ramps up pretty fast but definitely a fun game!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:41am

Nice concept and really fun to play! Well done!

5k0d says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Looks great, sounds good and plays well, but i got a nasty bug where the player keeps moving to the right...not funny :(

Jaenis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Nice game, fast and smooth and great playability!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Nice! Cool game, loved the mood and graphics!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Awesome! Great Graphics, Cool Gameplay. Just a bit difficult, I got till Wave 3.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Really cool, found it pretty tough though, it's not very forgiving is it lol. Nice job

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Pretty cool game!
Gets tough fast, just how I like it :D

jthistle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Beautiful graphics and great music. Love it :)

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:31am

The Difficulty made it more enjoyable to play and to re play, nice game! But you should implement key only movement the mouse kind of screwed me over at times. :)

srakowski says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:37am

Really awesome game. Challenging as the waves come in quicker. I like how the one mobs split up, pause, and then attack again. That was a cool, fun addition.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:51am

Simple, but nice game! Good job, I like the graphics.

local minimum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Great game, really fantastic and nice use of those pro effects too. I never did manage the first wave but I had fun dying and though I was failing miserably I was having fun. Music was really superb in combination with the aesthetics and mood.

Things to consider:

Esc to quit the game.

Have the menu/introduction disappear with mouse click or add instructions on what button to click

Add a recharge meter under the hexabot for the blast.

Maybe add some repair kits as well for us less talented players.

pandamicro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Quite lovely effect, the control is a little bit frustrating for me.

orion_black says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:11pm

I like the general feel of the game, a bit on the floaty side, but still pretty responsive. I think the melee weapon should be power up in some way, aside from finishing up crowds after shooting it's kind of useless. Basically if you miss the penalization is too high. Just by running away and shooting at groups of enemies I got to wave 3 on my second try, I think, for an action game like this, having interesting risk-reward propositions results in a more engaging experience.

Mechamew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Fun gameplay and solid action. Nice work!

Scam says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:23pm

All I get is a black screen. I heard sounds, though. Too bad, I would've wanted to play this. I'll give this another shot with more powerful computer during the weekend.

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Good job!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Wow, this game is amazing! It feels very polished.
Though, too hard for me, died at wave 2. =\

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Looks nice, and fun to play.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Such a cute game, couldn't stop playing it!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Quite awesome!

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:58am

Fun, but could use a bit of polish and more enemies/mechanics. Pretty little feedback on killing an enemy/getting hit, also gets repetitive since there were only 3 total enemy types.

tudd says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:57am

Interesting **MELEE** arena game! I don't think I've seen that before. I keep dying and the progression is kind of slow, however :( Music is PUMPIN! and the graphics, although blurry, are really nice.

Being able to open the stock Unity graphics config would be nice, Unity does a terrible job at auto-detecting my screen size and computer power so I got to play with blurry graphics in the wrong aspect ratio (16:9 squashed into a 5:4 monitor, eww)

Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Nice atmosphere and music. The mouse controls are pretty hard with a track pad, but it's better with the control pad. I like how the enemies collide with each other and spawn others.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]