Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Metal Killer Bee vs. The Gangstas

by zompi - Compo Entry

Gangsters have stolen precious mercury honey from metal bees and now it's time for revenge!
Order the killer metal bee to pierce and cut through the enemies. Be ruthless! The more you kill the better.

(just unzip and run exe file)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#154Fun3.60
#385Theme3.73
#393Overall3.35
#460Innovation3.25
#528Humor2.52
#641Mood2.85
#936Graphics2.50

Comments

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:18am

I just get an error screen when trying to download the file (didn't rate, of course).

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Really fun to play :D

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Very fun game, great work!

AndresGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Was a fun game. Wish I could have made it full screen due to the fact that I kept clicking on other windows. Only managed to get 17 kills but ended up playing it longer then I was planning. Would make a great mobile game, consider publishing it to one of those.

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Nice work, this was really fun! It took some getting used to, but once I'd figured out how to avoid the shots properly, it was fun to play. I managed to scrape 39 kills, and played it for longer than I'd intended to try and push up my high score. Perhaps a cool feature would be to display your high scores when you die? I found the graphics a bit simple, but the player moved pretty nicely, and the particles when enemies died were cool. In my opinion, I thought the enemies moved a bit too erratically, because it made them hard to hit, and I frequently died while trying to hit enemies and they shot me just as I hit them, but this is a really cool entry on the whole.

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Same as AndresGames, I kept clicking outside the window :D
Quite a fun game though, it's simple but fun!
Didn't manage to get past 20 gangsters though, I think the fact that you can't get shot more than once is a little too harsh :p

Odefus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:15pm

A fun game to play. Pretty challenging as well. On most runs I struggle to break ten kills, but managed to score 24 as my highest. Nice clean aesthetic. Good job overall.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Frantically silly. I liked it.

error031 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Had a lot of fun with this game, love it

Beerman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42am

That's pretty fun. Tricky to get the hang of the controls but really satisfying when you manage to slice through a gangsta.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:57pm

very cool, excellent job at making me feel powerful and vulnerable at the same time

cyrixd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13pm

That was fun! Nice to play a game with a decent skill ceiling. Full-screen would've been nice, as I also kept clicking other windows.

someone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Fun game. I managed 67 kills.

5T4MP5 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:40pm

This was really cool. It is a bit tough to get a handle on it, but once I got used to the controls it was very cool. I think maybe starting enemies with a single shot, then giving them the spread shot would make the curve a bit more manageable at the beginning.

banana4life says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Great idea, it would be even better if the mouse was caught. I accidentally moved folders around on my desktop

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Fun game, good job!

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Nicely focused on the gameplay. Quite addictive :)

Harsay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:34pm

It was fun to play, but definetely it would be better if I could play it on my phone while riding the bus home ;)
I really liked that enemies had some intelligence and tried to dodge player, also the way they informed about attack. Game just needs "jucier" graphics and more polished AI.

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Tough game, but cool! I got to 18 kills. Interesting how much I had to move the mouse to do fast slashing, I was flinging that thing all around!

Why did you opt out of audio? You have sound effects and even background music!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:06am

Good take on the theme and I love the gameplay concept (That bee is insanely fast -maybe a bit too fast-).

OttersDen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:59pm

This would be nifty on a touch screen! I got a score of 24. Well done!

mahalis says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:14am

It’s amazing how much fun this is for how simple it looks. Feels like a really good classic arcade game. The click-farther-away-to-go-faster mechanic is clever—adds a bit of depth to it. I agree with the other commenters: this would be fun on a touch screen. If you spent some more time on the graphics and sound this could do very well on the App Store :)

TriSquare says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:20am

Fun game, I like it

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:52am

Interesting idea, fun game, but should eiher capture the mouse or be fullscreen, because this way it doesn't react to the mouse when it's outside the window frame.
Also, don't forget to make a Linux build next time!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:51pm

It's quite simplistic, hard, but fun!

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:20am

Nice work, simple and super easy to get into. Sadly I don't use a mouse (trackpad) so it was a bit more difficult to play. Didn't affect my rating though, it's just a bit more challenging.

Also, works with Wine under Linux, good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]