Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Network Programming

by hissssssssss - Jam Entry

There was a guy who did nothing but watch soul-sucking network TV...and then the TV stole his soul for real.

Help him take back four pieces of his soul from the four networks. Dodge moving hazards and dangerous things with the arrow keys, but if a situation looks too grim, you can always change the channel.

Controls:
Move guy - arrow keys
Change channel - mouse

TIPS FOR PROS:
You become briefly invincible when you switch channels. Use this to your advantage!


---------------------
Notes:
This game was more asset-heavy than I usually make, specifically because I always dread making assets. Trial by fire, right?

Voice acting was provided by my wonderful and hilarious family members!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#4Humor(Jam)4.43
#73Audio(Jam)3.82
#77Innovation(Jam)3.88
#119Fun(Jam)3.66
#127Mood(Jam)3.65
#165Theme(Jam)3.95
#241Overall(Jam)3.53
#725Graphics(Jam)2.77

Comments

Managore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:36am

Wow! This is absolutely wonderful!

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:57am

Litterally the funniest thing I heard in past 72. But it took me a while to notice the actually character and the game that had to be played. What ever. . .i laughed so kudos for you

Jonapulse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:09am

Favorite lines:
"Right after... Hyenas, the Mean Girls of the animal Kingdom"
'that thing about whose football god is more powerful'
'that other line'

You win all the prizes. Die happy.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:50am

Looks cool

tielbyrd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:32am

Oh my god, five stars for humor isn't enough, this is the funniest thing I've seen all day.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:12pm

New art would make this a really great game.

The game mechanics are really innovative and fun.

Sound is great, such a lot of work must have come in recording everything... You must have had a fantastic time making the game.

Crushenator says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Wow. I actually beat the game and feel very proud about it.

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21pm

ahaha also the art owns idgaf what anyone says

Diventurer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28pm

HAHAHAHA, oh my god, this was so freaking brilliant!
I had a really fun time playing this, and I'll probably keep it on my computer for future playing. :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Hahaha, fun game!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21pm

THIS IS FUCKING AWESOME. HOLY SHIT.

This is honestly my favourite game so far, and one of the only genuinely funny Ludum Dare games I've ever played.

Like, this is just awesome. Normally when I leave a comment I'll try and leave a piece of constructive criticism, but I honestly have none for this, it's exceptional. Gotta send this to SonnyBone, he'll love this.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:54pm

@Managore, TriSquare, error031, tielbyrd, PlasterPhantom: Thank you so much!

@Jonapulse: My personal favourite is the line about blowfish. I must have listened to that clip like 50 times during development and it still cracks me up.

@Rodaja: You're right: I did have a pretty great time making this game. I'm glad it shows!

@Crushenator: I still can't beat it sometimes, so good for you!

@folmerkelly: Haha, glad you like the art. I'm not very proficient at arting. Or sportsing.

@Diventurer: Keeping it on your computer? :D That's high praise for a jam game.

@Alex Rose: Wow, thank you so much. That means a lot.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Whahaha I was playing this alone and was almost constantly laughing out loud. What a blast!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:55am

This was great, nice job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:43am

This is great! Really funny stuff. Reminds me how sad I am that I didn't have time to add voice clips to my entry, but I'm glad someone else is picking up my slack. :P

Gameplay-wise, this reminded me a bit of WarioWare which is always good. I think some better cues about where stuff is coming at you from would be helpful.

Also, your invincibility protip was a little TOO helpful...I was able to spam the same channel button over to prolong it and was able to kick back and just enjoy the show.

sorlok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:49am

Wow, just wow. This game is hilarious! I liked the concept of dodging projectiles while following the hilarious commentary. Great job! Also, your family is wonderful.

Hob623 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:54am

Nice game! The channel changing made it seem even bigger than it was, but I was still surprised how much you managed to get in there. Well done!

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:40am

@TijmenTio: Glad you enjoyed yourself!

@Elemental Zeal Games Studios: Thank you!

@Virtually Competent: WOW, I can't believe I missed that! It didn't even occur to me that the effect continues if you spam the same button. Hahahaha, whoops. There's always a bug, isn't there?
I considered stopping the progress bars while you're invincible, because I knew that there might be people who would spam DIFFERENT buttons to win, but I figured that would be tedious and hard on the fingers (and you miss the show!) so I didn't bother in favour of addressing other things.
Well, I'll fix that in the post-compo version, I guess. Thanks for playing and huge thanks for pointing out the bug!

@sorlok: They are wonderful and I'll tell them you said so!

@Hob623: Thanks! I was aiming for about 1 minute of "content" per channel before things started repeating, and double that in audio length so scenes could have multiple audio tracks to make restarting after dying less dull. I'm pleased with how it turned out, but it still feels a bit anemic to me. I'll probably add at least another 30 seconds per channel in the post-compo version.

skonkan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:38am

Haha best audio.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:09am

Very funny and creative idea, never seen something like this before, good job! Very promising if with polishing and more content.

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:57am

This game is awesome! This frog is really freak me out!
For my opinion, overall 5!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:55am

Wow! hahaha

That's hilarious
I love the idea

Olive says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:18am

Loved this! I'm keeping it on my computer too! So much story and jokes! Great use of the theme! TV's really do have one screen, don't they? :P Very creative. Love the drawings and the variety. I actually feel I need to play it more now because I just read a comment about a progress bar which I din't notice. I only got one piece of soul which is another reason to keep playing. But great work! Seems like you put a lot of hardwork into it! Thank you so much for your inspiration and innovation! (I gave you 5 stars for everything btw ;) )

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:39pm

It looks neat. Any chance for Linux build? If so, contact me on Twitter (@ViliX64) when you upload it :)

istlemin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Wow! It's amazing! Really funny and challenging!

talecrafter says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Wonderful trash! How much content you put into this. Of course, individual gameplay could have been improved in some scenes, but as a whole, that was great game with many laughing out loud moments.
Thank you very much.

Meral says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:08pm

This is nothing but pure gold!

VDZ says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Five stars for theme, that should be pretty obvious.

The gameplay I'm less enthusiastic about, unfortunately. While it's hard not to do so when the level is a television program, hitboxes come out of nowhere constantly, dealing damage to you and making you inevitably lose unless you replay the game over and over again until you've learned where the hitboxes will be at which point. Making it worse is the fact that the art is not clear about which things will damage you and which won't; the only way to find out is trial and error. Then there's also several hitboxes which are plain unfair, like still being hit by the blowfish even when you're all the way in the top right of the screen. I think that, with the way your game is, you could've dialed the difficulty back a whole lot, perhaps even to the point where it's hardly any challenge at all; after all, the fun in your game doesn't come from its challenge, but rather by the fact that being in the TV levels if fun by itself. Compare to the Kirby games, which are ridiculously easy but still tons of fun because you can mess around with the abilities and because the levels are interesting.

Most of the humor didn't really click with me, though there were some parts I did find funny. However, since this is Ludum Dare, the game does stand out for its humor compared to other games (which rarely try to be funny and when they do, they usually fail).

I feel the audio was fitting and added a lot to the experience. The voice acting was bad which may have messed up the delivery for a lot of the jokes, but it fits well enough with the 'so bad it's good' graphical style that it works. The audio does get repetitive, though, especially on repeat plays, which reduces the replay factor of the game.

Overall, it's a good game, it's just a shame the gameplay sucks so much fun out of the experience.

exoddinary says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:33am

Creative!

iShadow says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:41am

I really enjoyed this game. It was jaw-dropping every time I switched channel.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Blowfish?! More like... BLOW YOUR MIND FISH!
...to signify that it's their superior god, controlling the outcome of the game...

Oh, man, the humour and voice acting is just top notch. One of the... no .. THE funniest game this LD. Although the gameplay is just about memorizing the patterns, but the voice lines were varied and funny enough, to keep replaying enjoyable.

The sports channel is my favourite and of course the blowfish. Just awesome!

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:54pm

wonderful concept, well done. Also in Python <3

estuardolh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:17pm

lovely game! :D
talk was a surprise for me

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Heh, I got a pretty good WarioWare kinda feeling from this. It was frustrating that I often couldn't figure out what I was supposed to do...I mean, is it even possible to survive the DEADLY HURRICANE in the NEW YORK SUBWAY? But the audio is pretty hilarious, so that's good. ;)

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Ha ha ha! Perfect five! Even though the graphics aren't that good, they match the style of the game perfectly :)

radmars says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:12am

I love this idea! :D Hilarious too. Great work.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:36am

Quirky great entry with nicely done voice over. Found this entry hilarious even if I wasn't quite sure what I was doing, I did enjoy checking out what was on the different channels.

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:38am

Loved it! Would have been even better with more voice actors and sharpened art, but love it as it is. Gameplay could use a bit more polish (feedback, screenshake/static etc when hit by stuff) but idea is creative enough to still warrant max points.

Simon says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:23pm

This is really wonderful. I wasn't expecting that. Well done it's different and clever :)

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:14pm

This game is so funny, I think the graphics dont even need to be perfect, it only adds to the humor.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Funny stuff! Really enjoyed watching all the channels, even though it took me a while to get what I actually had to do.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]