Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Silo

by Azlen - Compo Entry

Silo is a game about harvesting and killing monsters, you kill the monsters by harvesting... what the? (It makes no sense but it's fun once you get good at it)

A good game for people who like 2048, Gridland, or strategy/planning games.

Best played in either Chrome or Firefox, mostly was tested in Chrome. There are a couple bugs that happen from time to time, if the whole game stops working just reload the page.

The controls for this game are simple and listed below:

- Arrow keys or WASD to move your player around
- Space will place the next color to where you are standing
- Pressing "e" will harvest the block of colors you are standing on (you must harvest a minimum of three squares at once)

If you imagine that each cluster of colors is a field, "e" harvests the whole field and gains you points. If a monster is in that field (on the right) when you harvest it, that monster will die.

Don't let the monsters touch you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#98Innovation3.94
#266Overall3.50
#342Fun3.32
#456Graphics3.24
#472Mood3.00
#542Theme3.61
#911Humor1.72

Comments

DrHahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:04am

I'm sorry, I'm not good, and don't quite understand it, sometimes commands do things and sometimes not, and I have no idea why. I like the colour scheme you've used, and I'll come back if I end up working it out.

Azlen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:32am

@DrHahn, sorry I probably was not specific enough with the "how to play" section. To harvest, you must harvest at least 3 squares at once, or else it does nothing.

Because I coded it, I often forget to convey certain things to the players.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12am

This is really cool!
It's a really neat concept you came up with, and it's really well executed!

dethe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:59pm

I can't stop playing! Got to get the monster combos for best results (harvest with multiple monsters on the harvest area for multiplied score). Can't wait for this to work on mobile.

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59am

hahahahaha, very fun! i love minimalistic games!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:14am

Wow, cool idea and better execution! Love to see this game in my phone!!

Maxom says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:20am

I love it. Don't quite understand why you included the second view, that makes the overview much harder.

doos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23am

Made a lot of sense once I saw the screenshot, kept on getting outmanoeuvred!

ianh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:31am

You could put some text on the web page to explain the game -- I didn't understand it the first time I played. This would work really well as a mobile game!

modwizcode says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:02am

This game was really challenging, couldn't figure out the monsters but looked to be cool. Might've just been me though.

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

Interesting game concept. Like it

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:45am

Really cool game. It took me a while to figure out what it was all about, but once I got it, I had fun. This could be a really good mobile game I think.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Found it awkward to not see monsters on main screen... couldn't it be an overlay or does that make it too easy ? Nice sounds and graphics. Clean look. Good job!

Lokiman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I like the concept - simple yet interesting and challenging! Also turn based with nice BG music :D

Logun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:53pm

A very very nice game ! Loved it, nice graphics, simple end very cool game mechanic. I really enjoyed my play time.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:05am

I like the graphics and the mood for this game. Quit simple and fits really well. I liked how simple the mechanics were. More than a puzzle but not as complicated as most strategy games. Maybe try the game on one grid instead of two and see if that works better.

-AlucardX60

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:12am

Very nice! It was so rewarding when I did my first monster-killing harvest! =)

mechabit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:42pm

man, that music is grating lol

mechabit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:53pm

sorry had multiple tabs open, the music in this is pretty nice :)

lexi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Very neat game play. I liked the simplistic graphics and the choice of music as well.

cabezotta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Cool idea! Good work!

phaze112 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:39pm

A bit complex at first, but it's a great concept and fun to play when you get used to it.

dunin says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:09pm

But... but... it's time travel... This game fit perfect to the last theme (connected worlds). Nice headache game.
I think the music would be more quiet for this type of game...

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:32pm

At first this seemed like a game I wouldn't get, I'm terrible at learning new game rules. But it turned out to be really simple but still very challenging and fun. The game and gameplay seems really polished. Great work, I trult enjoyed this!

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Loved it! I didn't think it was my type of game at first but then really got into it haha. I like how simple it is, and the way the monsters track made me really stop and think at first, then seemed natural and easy to avoid, then made me sweat when there were three converging on my position... fun times. Scored 1082!

egor-idiot says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:17am

Very nice idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]