Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of Hyperlink

by NickName - Jam Entry

Guide Hyperlink through a world of grassy knolls, pages of hidden lore, and a quest that will span your desktop.

Join him as he leaves his quaint little home to embark on a grand adventure...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Theme(Jam)4.32
#47Humor(Jam)3.88
#83Innovation(Jam)3.86
#93Audio(Jam)3.74
#147Mood(Jam)3.62
#157Overall(Jam)3.68
#359Graphics(Jam)3.57
#384Fun(Jam)3.21
#1742Coolness39%

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47am

This is really hilarious.

max_peabody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54am

Very clever take on the theme, and I definitely liked the bits of lore. Feels a bit incomplete - definitely ends abruptly - but a great concept!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:26am

Pretty cool and funny concept. Great job!

sorlok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:27am

Really cool idea! Solid in every category, and just generally a lot of fun to play. Great job!

NickName says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:14am

Thanks! We definitely wanted to get a lot more content in there; we had a few different assets and sequences that didn't quite make it in, but we didn't get the chance to implement them.

Oh well! It's a learning experience, right? Haha!

Jaloko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:24am

I can see you would of had fun making this one. More content would of been great but regardless good effort.

Rothens says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:56am

Needs more content, but it's cool :)

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:05pm

good work(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

Mekuri says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:18pm

So.. this was great. It invoked a very unique mood- Nostalgia mixed with.. something else. Really great mood. The idea was very nice as well! Good job!

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:34am

This feels incomplete, but I love the idea. I would have loved to see what kinds of puzzles you could come up with for this concept.

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:27am

Is it possible to make an executable instead of installing flash to play it ?

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:41am

this is awesome, you win the internet for today

sharp911 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:02am

Nice idea. Good work

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:27am

I'm assuming that when the screen goes white, it means I won...

Was definitely hoping for more. This could definitely go more places. The "Take", "Delete" and "Restore" options hint at that and I can see needing to browse email or programs for bits of information or digital widgets to fill your home folder. Plus, there is hints of a story and I'd be interested to see it unfold.

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:19pm

does your musician have a soundcloud page? I've been listening to the serenity fields track all day

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:06am

My five stars for the theme interpretation. It's a very clever choice, nicely done (what a work on the "GUI", though!)

Good job!

NickName says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:23pm

@Miziziziz Glad you like it! Here ya go: https://soundcloud.com/outsetinitiative

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:18pm

I loved it, nice idea very :D

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Note: biting comment to follow, but rest assured, I liked the game, and gave a lot of stars for it.

I thought the was cute, but the objective wasn't very clear. The controls are a little cumbersome, with the need to wait until wonderlink reaches a location before allowing the only available action, open to take place. Combined with needing to close the window often, I'm often annoyed at how much I have to move the cursor. While I love the music, I thought it was rather unfitting for the game. I expected something more mellow.

Still, great work.

ppupae says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Beautiful little game, nice work :D

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:39am

I feel like there's more to this that I somehow can't get to, since I never had to enter the password (Even though on the screenshot there is a password entry box) and never got to see the room in the 3rd screenshot.

The game just faded to white after I opened Internet Adventurer, which I can only assume is a bug.

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:53am

The music is great!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]