Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Maze Escape

by Thepattybeast - Compo Entry

NOTE: Your level progress will not be saved, your global settings and unlocks will be.

Source is included in main download
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
if it is not working try updating your java, then if that doesnt work post a stack trace in the comments
if you are getting a unsupported major.minor version error it means your java is outdated and must be updated to version 7 or higher
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PLEASE include java version, os, and as many details as you can (and please include the error message) if it doesn't work.

windows_debug.bat will output console messages to debuglog.txt you can copy and paste errors from there

The screen in this game is the 40 by 22 tile grid you play on. Almost everything (including ui) is done on this grid. The only exception are some parts of the editor and the highscore/level number display. the goal of the game is to navigate the maze and get to the checker board.

CONTROLS:
GAME:
WASD - Move
E - Activate
ESC - pause
SHIFT - walk

EDITOR:
LMB - Place
RMB - delete
MMB - Edit metadata
S - Save
1 - tile mode
2 - entity mode
P - Toggle edit mode (DEBUG CHEAT)

See included text files if you want more info.

-------------------------------------------------
if you think you are randomly dying see hints.txt
-------------------------------------------------

LIBRARIES:
slick2d
LWJGL

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#749Humor2.22
#1027Innovation2.36
#1028Mood2.27
#1049Graphics2.26
#1071Fun2.38
#1093Overall2.56
#1122Theme2.79

Comments

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:36am

The game cannot be launched. :(

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

It looks like you got quite a bit done. I don't really understand the fail condition, though. Also, it's a good idea to separate the jar from the source. Having to download your source is a bit of a pain ;-)

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07am

@ChronusZ if you look some tiles are slightly lighter those will kill you (See hints.txt for more info). If you want to make the more visible edit res/images/trap.png. Also the source is only ~40kb so i figured it was easier to include it in the main download instead of having 2 downloads)

@Crafting4U cant really help with only that. Please read the top part of my submission.

funkysquid says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:23am

Hrm – OS X Yosemite, upgraded to JDK 8 Update 25, ran mac_linux.sh, can't get rid of this error for some reason "Caused by: java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path" https://gist.github.com/alexking/96e9cd34da100c04c4bb

Crefossus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56am

Love the level editor. Ai could be more consistent.

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56am

@funkysquid no mac natives included
this has been fixed

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:48pm

User with a mac that hates java :(

cutandreil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:51pm

It's hard!
I've got trouble to select a level.
(It takes me ten 10 to pass)
And I've died a lot, most of the time because I haven't see a killing tile.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I can't start the game. Win7 x64, Oracle JAVA SE build 1.7.0_71-b14

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:41pm

@CatOnMars i don't know why it wouldn't work. are you using the .bat file? can you post the console output.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Download it and didnt work.

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43am

I think the core idea is cool but there are some flaws in the design as I told you during the stream yesterday. It needs some more work, because as it is now, it's confusing (at least for me). Cool concept, and really cool editor :D

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24am

It's nice to see another Java entry. Good work, you clearly put a lot into this. I find it a bit frustrating that I keep walking into walls that I can't see and having to restart. Also the new release is working fine on OS X Yoesmite + JRE 8.

sorlok says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:37am

Plays fairly well, but it's hard to tell what to do. Good job overall.

Sharky says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Couldn't get the game to launch:(

Canyon says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Well done on finishing and including an editor!

The game is pretty frustrating, but that could be resolved without too much work.

ShadowStryker says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:33am

Windows 8 x64 could not run the game.

01rafael says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Great style! So simple and fun!

efux says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Cool little game. But the "dangerous" fields are very hard to spot. But fun anyway, I enjoyed playing it.

Aden Manson says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 5:48pm

nice and simple!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]