Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Beast Master

by LionelJitro - Compo Entry

You are a beast breeder. You breed monsters for all sorts. Wicked warlords, eccentric wizards and the rest.

You are given a contract and you must breed a beast to meet the client's wishes. You don't control the beast, but you control its enclosure.

Click things on the wall. Each contract is a bit of a puzzle.

Made using Loom SDK : https://www.loomsdk.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#74Audio3.70
#148Humor3.26
#233Innovation3.61
#254Graphics3.58
#272Mood3.27
#528Theme3.62
#560Overall3.19
#855Fun2.76

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58am

The voices and animal noises got a hearty chuckle out of me. I like the sort of quest-driven gameplay style, it shows a good understanding of mechanics. Nicely done!

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00am

I didn't really understand what I was todo exactly, Its a nice game though, Good Art, Good Sound and I can see it's trying to be something a bit different. Good Work!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:02am

Great game! Only problem is that the beast moves just too slowly. If a chicken (duck?) just barely gets away from you, it takes forever before it's worth releasing the next one.

Carl Graves says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:07am

Not too sure how I can beat that 66 gold contract, it just keeps saying contract failed when i run out of gold, even when the monster is level 3.

prymidion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:21am

Couldn't figure out the second contract... maybe include more of a tutorial?

Like the art, and the music is a nice touch.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24am

"Not too sure how I can beat that 66 gold contract, it just keeps saying contract failed when i run out of gold, even when the monster is level 3."

I had the same issue. Overall, good game though.

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:25am

I definitely love this game. 5 stars!

thristhart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:25am

Seemed really promising, but I too could not get past the 66g contract. Spending all my money on chickens(?) got it to level 3, but the contract still failed, and goats seem to kill it always. Couldn't figure out what the water spout does, either. Voting N/A on theme because this matches the theme in the same way nearly every video game does.

Very impressed by the background audio, btw. Very good!

DXsmiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33am

I like the idea, however I find that watching the monster chase ducks that are *slightly* faster that it is extremely frustrating. Music and audio are suitable. The game lacks some information, such as how much each thing (water, duck, goat) costs.

rjhunter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32am

Well done on the idea A solid "small" game that looks like strategy/arcade but is really a puzzle game in disguise. And the audio! Great music (as simple as it is) and SFX.

I beat the 66gp contract once I figured out the stamina recovery mechanic, but now I'm stuck on how to develop the "swimming" trait. I imagine it's something do with surviving under water for long enough, but I can't figure it out.

I'd love to see a Mac port.

Soron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:20am

No idea how to get past the second contract, and the ducks being slightly faster than the monster make it tedious to retry repeatedly.

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:37pm

A really interesting concept! I got a little annoyed when the ducks that were the same speed as my beast would manage to keep running away from me for half a minute, but other than that I enjoyed it :-)

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:57am

This was really good. The last contract was a bit of a challenge to figure out, since it's never quite explained how to get the swimming trait and the margin of error on it is pretty low. It was also kind of irritating that the beast moved slower than the ducks since they didn't move to engage it. The stamina also filled up a bit slow, which became problematic when you start dealing with the goats. Either way, a few minor tweaks is all it really needs, and if you added more contracts and complex traits with visual changes, I could easily see this doing well on mobile or something like kongregate.

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:20am

Graphics is so cute! It was really enjoyable for me to play this game.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:29am

Neat idea, but the enclosure is too big for the sizes of the starting beast and ducks. The music also sets a mood too serious for how silly this is, IMO.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:04am

I like the idea behind this - basically a resource management puzzle. I don't like watching my beast try to chase down ducks that could dodge for far too long, and I simply could not figure out the second puzzle. I got my beast up as high as I could off ducks while keeping the gold for a goat, charged my stamina all the way up, and the beast still lost the fight. I really don't know what else to try.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

I refused to give up, and checked the source to find out how the goats worked. It makes sense, but it's not immediately intuitive. Also, because of how the beast AI works, it's possible for it to be sitting at the wrong end of the field when the goat is summoned and drop below 110 stamina before the collision. It would have been nice to get some feedback on exactly how I failed the contract instead of just leaving it up to "you failed the contract." The game's still a good idea, and I'd like to see it expanded further.

xaedes says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 2:07am

very nice game! sorry i didn't find this earlier, but i comment anyway. i love the concept. the quest system gives a solid motivation and intetgrates well into the setting. together with the graphics and music and the soundeffects!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]