Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

OMNI

by Noah Ratcliff - Jam Entry

Play as an action platformer character who suddenly finds himself omniscient after ingesting a strange power-up. With your monitor as your vessel, explore the world outside yours.

Protip: WASD/Arrow Keys to move, spacebar to jump. Click to shoot. Shoot the monitor.

Stick around for the end... There's a wonderful surprise that we worked very hard on for you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Innovation(Jam)4.73
Theme(Jam)4.85
#6Overall(Jam)4.28
#22Fun(Jam)4.01
#47Audio(Jam)3.96
#58Humor(Jam)3.83
#90Mood(Jam)3.77
#123Graphics(Jam)4.14

Comments

Akurn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:41am

This is all round awesome! Use of theme, graphics and gameplay are so unique. Spot on.

Only annoying thing is sometimes I shoot just a bit to high while I'm just standing there, and it causes me to go offscreen then resets :(

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

Great concept and use of theme, also lot of humour in this game congratz !

mactinite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56am

Awesome job! Really love the concept and all the work put into this one. The end was really difficult. I noticed one bug, that was that sometimes I wouldn't be able to jump unless I started moving sometimes.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:55am

That was fun and also pretty challenging. I couldn't make it to the end, but I did have quit a lot of fun failing over and over and over and over :). Great use of the theme. Very fitting music as well.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:03am

This is really rather tough, will come back for that 'wonderful surprise' later :D Outstanding use of the theme, loved playing!
I noticed the same bug as mactinite a couple of times by the way, the character just refused to jump. It was pretty rare though. Did you test this with double jump enabled? Wouldn't want to make it too easy, but maybe it would work nicely ^^

Aske says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Really great implementation of the theme!

rob1221 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:56pm

I'm so used to having W as the jump key whenever A/D are used in a game that I keep pressing it and falling down holes :(

Macecraft says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Great use of the theme. Loved the art, and the music rocked. I found it a bit tricky to control the screen with its momentum, but that's cause I'm a bad gamer! Nice work

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:36pm

The idea is awesome ! But the physics of the screen behave weirdly some times and that makes the game a bit more difficult than I would have liked it to be.

fizzd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Finished it! Man that boss was a pain. Unless there was some trick that didn't require memorization to avoid the leg sweeps? The only thing that kept me going was the great music. But I must say, I did have fun :) I really really didn't see the connection between the level and the boss fight though, heh. But great job all round!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Really creative idea, beautiful to look at, full of humor! But SUPER difficult, owing in part to the sticky jump command and in part to a seemingly endless boss fight. I wanted to see the end but I fear I won't get there. A health bar on the boss would be lovely. As would "check-points" for weenies like me. :)

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Oh my god! Best entry I played so far!
The concept is great and fit the theme super good (+ with the ending it's perfect)
Music was super fun too, and the game is fun really
Also, making sure the player knows he can shoot at the begining was a good/clever detail, surprised to see this on a jam, good work with that

Although there's some less good stuff, like, this bug: sometime the guy just jump when you release space, but sometime the guy jump when you press it. Made me die several times, wasnt so bad but frustrating a bit.
Oh and the boss man, a bit too hard I would say, or, not really hard but the first phase is way too long, and since the other part is die and retry more or less, it's frustrating.
But anyway the ending worth it!
Oh and I would have like some audio feedbacks with the boss (like when he use the beam attack, or stuff like this)

That was super cool, thanks for making this!! :)

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:57pm

This is awesome. One of my favourites, for sure! A bit difficult at times, but also really rewarding. Solid and well-rounded game!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:16am

Wow that was incredibly clever. That is absolutely the best use of theme! :D

It was really fun too! Not only did it follow the theme but it's a super cool gameplay mechanic.

The cat boss was really funny and unexpected, but it was a little less polished than the rest of the game. Still super great job guys! :D

bconrad217 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:44am

Very awesome take on the theme! Great game!

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:53am

Absolutely one of the best use of theme! :)
I enjoyed the colorful graphics and the awesome gameplay.
Sometimes the screen run too fast and it's easy to go out of screen!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:55am

Beyond amazing gameplay and use of theme! There's not a single thing I could critic about this!

Loving the spinning pinwheel/beach-ball of death!

wooltech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:00am

Hard, but really creative.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:07am

Very very good game. Great interpretation of the theme, and loads of fun to boot.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:09am

Great answer to the theme and original gameplay!
The graphics and sound are top notch too
Very hard to beat

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:17am

Brilliant! The cat boss was really cool at first, but then took to long to re-fight over and over until I learned the pattern.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:27am

Surprisingly difficult but a very interesting concept and possibly the best take on the theme I have seen so far (in a literal sense). The graphics and audio fit very well and the game overall seems very polished.

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:45am

What a five star game, fantastic use of theme, very fun, and I love the art!

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:49am

This one is great! I had seen a gif of your game during the jam days and I thought it was awesome.

The jumping on the boss killed my patience! For some reason jumping does not work so well on the boss stage, so sometimes I had to jump to not be swept out, I knew it, but pressing space didn't work! :(

Didn't beat it in the end :P

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:00am

Wow, this one really blew me away. Great use of the theme and great design all around!

The boss fight was a really neat idea, but kinda rubbed me the wrong way in the sense that I couldn't really gain a sense of progress as much as I did during the first part of the game. There were points where the cat's tongue stopped flashing, but he still attacked a few more times before moving to the next phase...is that supposed to happen? I feel like he should back off once I've drained his "HP".

I gave it a good couple of tries, but ultimately I gave up on the leg part. I might have been a little more inclined to stick with it if there was a way to dodge if I picked the wrong side during the sweeps (or at least a better cue on which side to go), but I couldn't get it down well enough to get past it (and the one time I did, I got stomped on...which feels a little unfair since pushing too close to the edge means I die as well). I also struggled with the jumping issue that others had mentioned, which contributed to my death a few times.

Anyway, cat boss gripes aside, this is easily my favorite entry thus far and I'd love to see a little more polish on it. Great work!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:21am

this is a great concept!

Warboys says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:31am

Very nifty concept, worked really well. I couldn't figure out jumping for ages (space to jump in the browser version would be helpful), but once I did it was great. I just wish there were checkpoints because I'm awful at platformers and it was too frustrating to start from the beginning every time I fucked up xD

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:20am

This is probably the most innovative entry I've seen so far. Amazing job!

sorlok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Really fun take on the theme (although I think there were some balance issues --death as soon as you were off the screen? What about the overbleed area?). Would love to see this concept expanded on into a full game; you had a very creative take on this!

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Just awesome! Idea was super, although IMHO it would still be pretty fun to bounce around the screen and not die after falling "off" of it.

BroCade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Fun game and nice idea!

trenchgames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Awesome use of the theme!

liamtwose says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:32pm

The greatest interpretation of the theme I've come across! Great work =D

Poupi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Very cool !

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:25pm

bah.... why do i even try... this is such a great idea and use of the theme!

RadStar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Nice and catchy music! Really cool exploitation of the theme! I first though you were just using the easy way of adding a screen in the screen and do a classic game inside, and I was nicely surprised! But, I'm kind of a runner, and I was trying to push the screen as I go, And it seems the space bar doesn't respond really well and making me fail my jump, a bit frustrating ^^ Good job anyway! Most original idea I've seen so far.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:44pm

excelent, very innovative, there's only one thing I could complain, could you make the jump button the up button, instead of space, because I'm with one hand on the direction control, and the other on the weapon, putting jump on the up, or W button would simplify the controls.

Skipi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Absolutely awesome. Only real issue I see is sometimes jumping seems a bit wonky.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:28pm

WOW freaking game! I really liked the gameplay, use of the theme, art.. everything! 10/10 :)

bitserum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:39pm

I really love the idea of this, however it's too hard for me and I get frustrated having to start over again (and not reaching very far in the first place)

But the use of theme here is so, so, so good.

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:06am

"All game on one screen", I see what you did there

skiddings says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:12am

Neat concept, fun but very challenging. Could have benefited from some checkpoints!

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:54am

Really nice concept, I enjoyed playing it. The end was a bit hard. I found that sometimes it wouldn't jump when I wanted to and I died. Also I found that the screen sometimes seemed to shoot off a bit too fast which results in death.

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:06am

Really cool take on the theme. Despite using a laptop trackpad I found myself really engaged playing the game, which I consider quite an accomplishment. Easily one of the best games I've played so far. The music was sick btw

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:54am

Most innovative game I played so far! Masterpiece! Ending is awesome =))

Wakka says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:06am

brilliant. Perfect implementation of the theme with great graphics and good sound! Only thing missing is some checkpoints, as it's a really hard game that can get frustrating pretty soon. Definitly one of the best entries I've seen so far

Frenchie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:53am

Awesome! I love what you did with the concept! Jumping sometimes didn't work for me (after standing still) but overall control was pretty good.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:18pm

AMAZING game! Great concept and very wel executed. One of my favorite games so far. Really great job, guys!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Amazing!! 5* for Innovation and Fun. Very cool music.

You game was loading in a tab of my browser, then i heard your cool music and i was blown away from the gameplay!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:32pm

5 stars is not enough for such innovation / theme usage. Amazing idea and very well done execution. A bit too hard but that's ok for me. Top 10 of LD31

Tuism says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Awesome creative with theme use, very cool mechanics. Pretty good graphics. Really awesome :)

Gripe: the way the mechanics makes the game play is a bit cautious slowy, it doesn't feel super exciting. But is fun.

Then the way you die without knowing you die really irritated me. Also I felt like I didn't have to shoot the cat at all, it was gonna do what it was gonna do whether I shot or not.

I never did finish the game because after the cat swiped me off for the 3rd time I've had enough. Strict pattern memorising attacks I dislike. It's not skill based, just gotta remember stuff.

Falling off the screen during the cat fight felt ridiculous. Also I found that I often couldn't jump, specifically more so on the edge of the screen. What gives? It felt broken.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Man, this is overall really great, but I kept getting stuck on the cat swiping with its leg, and the bug wouldn't let me jump over it. Really awesome use of the theme, I think you deserve to win in at least one category.

Yarek says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:37pm

This is the best use of the theme I've seen so far. Really cool, good job :D

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:25am

Awesome idea, and great execution! I loved the first part of the game, but next time I would recommend a controls screen in case people don't have QWERTY keyboards, or don't like space for jump. However, I didn't actually end up completing the game. I couldn't find a way besides memorizing attacks for dodging the boss's leg sweeps, and the battle dragged on for a long time. Adding sounds to the boss could've helped with this, but I'm guessing you probably ran out of time.

allanolivei says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:38am

Best .... Best .... For me this game wins in innovation and theme. Congratulations .. fantastic idea.

voidqk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:42am

5/5! we have a winner!

flyingbear says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:14am

This is incredibly clever! Also incredibly difficult! (until you figure out that you have to shoot the left side of the screen to slow it down) Some checkpoints would have helped a bunch. Great job, super high marks in innovation and theme. I wish I could come with stuff as clever as this!

panda says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:32am

Awesome! Just... awesome. I love this game!

gre says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:46pm

difficulty too high to me, but incredible concept and gameplay.

sputnik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Awesome idea!

Rothens says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Great interpretation, great music, great everything :D

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Ha, really cool idea! Nice graphics and music, only complaint is about the "monitor physics" which are a little too sensitive - you die by getting offscreen too easily when accidentally shooting in the wrong direction.

Good job!

syawqy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:59am

it's haard

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:41am

A little hard to control, would have been tighter gameplay if the "screen" was preset-controlled.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:18am

Simply brilliant. When you get it right and everything falls into play it's awesome.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Psssst - You are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rdf4FdafRVw

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Loved the implementation of the theme! Liked the graphics and music too. This is a really all-around solid entry.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Perfect theme implementation (I'm obviously bringing nothing new here), you also created a really unique mechanic and that's cool. This is really hard... the little cubes... Aarrgl! Controls inertia and unstable screen acceleration might sometime be a bit frustrating. Great work anyway.

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I usually vote like 4 starts for the theme, but I realized that it doesn't give me enough space to actually reward games like this. Like some random platformer that technically takes place on one screen. It's much better to take rules creatively. This is what LD is about.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Wow, that's a really clever concept. It's a lot of fun, except I had two gripes with it: first, the annoying jumping bug people have been complaining about.
And second: that boss. The first phase is just boring and takes a long time, and then the second phase is just unfair pattern memorization and when you fail... redo phase one... very frustrating.
It just felt so out of place and I would have rather had a bonus level, (maybe with the screen riding on the back of the cat... or whatever) than that boss-fight. (I'm sorry)

Oh, and the music is really dope.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:26am

Hey, we loved playing the game, but it needs a lot of balancing. The character needs to move and fall faster. We did beat the game, though!

srakowski says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:56am

Fantastic.

asobitech says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:42am

Very cool. Very Challenging.
Love the use of the theme.
Look forward to seeing a completed version.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:12am

I really thought that the implementation of the theme was strong with this one. One of the more interesting "screen-ception" games developed this Ludum Dare. The graphics and audio were really good. I like how it started close on the screen, and then branched outward to survey the "real" world -- which, in turn, became the platforms inside the monitor.

The little guy moved alright, he wasn't too hard to maneuver, though I felt the jump button was a little sticky, and I wasn't jumping while pressing the space bar, which made it a little frustrating when the monitor wooshed across the screen and completely engulfed me several times. Shooting the side of the screen was a fairly sensitive mechanic, and it took awhile for me to learn how to maneuver myself around by shooting it just a little bit at a time -- though I would've loved to have gone faster without it wiping me out. :)

Paisley Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:16pm

I like the way you drew the little pig!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:34pm

best use of the theme.

Stending says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Awesome entry!
Loved the end =)

Halleflux says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:29am

I would like to finish, but given that I've now restarted the boss fight about 10 times, I have to quit.
This game does have a great use of the theme and great mechanics, but I can't help but get annoyed at the lack of checkpoints. If you screw up once, you have to go back to the beginning. (Apart from the boss fight, but then you just go back to the beginning of the boss fight.)
This is even worse in the boss fight, as the attacks are seemingly random, even though there isn't any randomness. This means the player has to play through and just memorize what the boss does, without any hope of winning until they completely get the routine down. (For this, some form of life to give the player a little wiggle room would be nice, or some warning of what is about to happen. The first part does the latter nicely, but the foot-stomping is impossible to predict or dodge if messed up on.)
Overall, this is a good game, but it requires some polishing in order to be a great game.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:49am

The scrolling screen concept is brilliant, keep working on this idea.

Dec 25, 2014 @ 10:33am

Great concept !

Aru Nyan says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

Very nice! Although the end was somewhat unfair, based on memorisation + trial and error, really :)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 10:57am

Wow, this game is *hard*!
I've wanted to play this since I saw that gif on the IRC :)

Lokiman says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Great implementation of the theme! :D

The game is rather difficult platformer but I love the challenge. Also thanks for nice retro music! :D

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:46pm

This is a really good idea! You get a 5 for theme. Turns out it's incredibly frustrating, though. It's SO easy to lose, and there are no checkpoints. You can lose by going too slow, going too fast, missing a jump, holding the jump button down too long so you jump when you shouldn't...(And of course, it's a little annoying that space is jump, everyone seems to forget that WASD includes "W") Kind of disappointing that such a good idea wasn't quite executed well. ;)

jpmit says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Totally awesome in every way I can think of (and also probably in many ways I can't think of).

disease says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Amazing game! One of the best LD games I've ever played!

Dec 26, 2014 @ 1:06am

))))))))

Impmaster says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

It was overall good, but I found it a little unfair to try and go through the level, cause it was hard to know how much the box would move.

rojo says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Definitely high marks for innovation and theme! I didn't get very far - some checkpoints would have made life easier.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Probably the best theme I've seen so far. Too hard for me, but the gameplay was still great.

Dans17 says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:26am

Nice way of turning the theme into an innovative game mechanic! The only thing I would have done differently is have a health system instead of insta-death on exit of screen, that way you could get away with being outside of the screen for a couple seconds without dying, so it would be a little less frustrating.

Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Very good take on the theme, but I'd wish the jumping controls are tighter.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Very fun game and a very good take on the theme. But it felt like the jumping was a bit unresponsive and didn't jump when I pressed the button sometimes.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:26am

I'm really happy to test few more games before the voting ends because I discover great games and some really clever concept (as the one you've made).

Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Fantastic idea, love the presentation and the music is awesome. A few control issues with jumping, felt a bit unresponsive at times, but other than that, great stuff.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Great concept!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

great idea. very hardo to focus on two controling the player and the screen at the same time but very good difficulty balance. Uber hard on laptop touchpad :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]