Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Raptor Polo

by Bensonance - Jam Entry

NEEDS 1-4 PLAYERS! (you can play with 1 player, but it's built for 2 or 4 players).
Best with Xbox controllers rather than the PC controls.

Let us take you back to the past, the 80s, to take you forward to the future that could have been... but wasn't really.

Raptors, 80s music, and neon color schemes: we give you "Raptor Polo"! The sport for the 80s sci-fi, upper class, ork that wants to make a statement!

NOTE: MANY SNIFFLING HUMANS ARE USED AS BALLS IN THIS GRAND SPORT!

PC CONTROLS:
P1 Movement: WASD
P1 Grab Ball: Hold Down 'C' until you catch the ball (by running into it).
P1 Swing Axe: 'V'

P2 Movement: Arrow Keys
P2 Grab Ball: Hold Down 'M' until you catch the ball (by running into it).
P2 Swing Axe: 'N'

Controller CONTROLS:
Left Analog Stick for Movement
Right analog stick for axe rotation

Hold down left trigger until you make contact with ball and pick it up, release left trigger to throw it up
Right trigger to do a 360 degree rotation of the axe
Left bumper/Left analog stick pushed down to sprint

Score 3 points in the goal that's opposite to your color to win!

Credits:
Code, Design: Ben Myres (@Ben_Myres)
Art, Design: Luc Wolthers (@LucWolthers)
Sound, Music: Adam Linder (@Playground_Snd)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#44Humor(Jam)3.89
#67Graphics(Jam)4.35
#67Fun(Jam)3.80
#136Overall(Jam)3.72
#169Mood(Jam)3.57
#202Innovation(Jam)3.58
#221Theme(Jam)3.87
#236Audio(Jam)3.35

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:14am

Really cool game!

Try mine, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:52am

You Better hurry with the pc controls, no one will play it with out that support

jhice says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:54am

Can't play it because no gamepads. Upvoted theme and graphics because I think it deserves it! Well done.

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:55am

Can't play because it requires two players. =(

But the graphics look really good and I like the audio.

Pankoman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:58am

Great One!

Gabbmonkey says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35am

Graphics reminds me Hyper Light Drifter :B

Arovoid says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:39am

Great game, I loved the graphics and the sounds. Also, every little part of the game has its own details. A great entry for sure!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:44am

This is truly awesome. I do feel bad for that little guy that we hit all of the time. The skulls are super cool.

herofresh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45am

nice multiplayergame

bitserum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:57am

The graphics and attention to detail is really nice. I find the game incredibly hard though, that little guy is too evasive for my liking and is frustrating me. I was playing with an Xbox controller.

Lars Faust says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:02am

Hot damn this is good.

Best entry i have played so far. Perfect fit for the theme, really using the whole screen, wonderful smooth and responsive controls and visual feedback, fantastic art.

Great fun.

Bensonance says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:06am

Thanks for all the graphics and audio praising! The music and art people can't wipe the grins off their faces :).

@TriSquare Thanks for the advice! Crunched a few hours afterwards to get the PC controls working, and it seems to be better for people :).

@bitserum Yeah the difficulty is a tough one - when you play with two players it's a little easier, I think :).

@Lars Faust Thanks for the wonderful comment :). Coming from you and the gorgeous looking, "S", that's a big compliment! :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:56am

Yep, the controls are a bit of a problem to get people playing, but hey it looks stunning and the mechanics seem sound!

Speaking of mechanics, why can't you move forward with the ball? (I know why mechanically but it just doesn't make sense in the theme) And is the only way to get a ball flying by mouthing it first? Couldn't you ever hit it with the axe without biting first? (seems so)

I think you could increase the interactivity by letting more things happen more of the time instead of it being a strict sequence of bite > hit. I do see you can hit them backwards though :) Fun :)

Rad work guys :)

RetroEpic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:36pm

So cool! Would love to try this out 2v2! :D

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Love it. Intense

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Nice idea ! Keep up the good work ! :)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Played it with the keyboard, and it was a little awkward. The timing for attacks seems a little weird. I love the art and the colors and the idea though! A little more time, and this would be completely awesome!

radmars says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:47am

Controls are a bit tough on keyboard, bet it's a lot better on a controller!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:27am

Played this with my gf it's really fun! Amazing artwork! Nice entry!

Bensonance says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:40am

@Tuism thanks for the rad and comprehensive feedback! The controls are definitely something we want to revamp a little bit: make them a lot simpler :).

You can hit the ball while its on the ground, but only when it's lower than your raptor. Currently it's a bit awkward, so we want to make it easier to hit it on the ground.

Agreed about the strict sequence, we want it to flow a lot more freely :).

@ben_pxlplz Thanks for the art praise! We're totally keen to work on it it a bit more and iron out that control weirdness.

@Murchurl So glad you were able to play it two player! :D

OttersDen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:56am

That was really cool! Fast paced, and lots of detail. Scoring points felt so satisfying. Great work!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:01am

Very impressive art! Animations fit well with the art too.
Controls are a bit clunky, it isn't als fluid as I would like.
Very good job!

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Nice and intense gameplay. The graphics are cool also.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:32pm

The art and sound are absolutely fantastic, super polished and professional looking. It all goes together to make a cohesive package.

The only issue I have are with the controls and gameplay. The "ball" moves around way to fast and the controls are as smooth as they need to be. But those are minor things that can easily be fixed.

Well done!

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:34pm

I like how this game fit's the theme, also the graphics are really nice :)! Congratulation on making this game ^^

Mechamew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:45pm

YYEEEAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHH!!!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:36pm

One of the more funnny game in LD31 Nice job :)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:44pm

This is really impressive work. Fantastic art, with a color palette that really stands out, and great music as well.

It seems really difficult to actually catch up with the ball. I think its agility could be toned down a bit.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:10am

Really cool! The gameplay catch/hit work really good. I love the art too. Congrats!

Riocide says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Cool game, funny stuff guys! Controls say C for player 1 axe swing but its actually V...might want to change that :D

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:19am

i love the logo and the colour palette!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:23am

Hyperlight Drifter, Titan Souls, Nuclear Throne, Raptor Polo. BOOM.

Seriously, I think your team has absorbed the Vlambeer game feel lessons, and the Fez/SB:S&S EP pixel art styles... so good, so right.

BroCade says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:42am

Once I figured out how to catch the human, this game is hella fun!

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:50pm

FUNNY !

Teesquared says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I had fun playing with my dad. It was hard to understand how to win but once we got it, it was easy.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Amazing work! Really fun game, great audio, and truly excellent pixelart! On of my fave 5 so far!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Look nice, I try the mechanism alone and I keep it on my harddrive to play this with some friends.
Good work.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:33am

Very cool game, just played it with someone else. Graphics and audio are phenomenal, and the whole game is hilarious. Nice work!

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:34am

Inventive and funny multiplayer game, I loved the presentation! It was a little too easy to catch an opponent's thrown ball by holding the grab button though, which led to huge stalemates. Art was wonderful, music fit the style and the gameplay was beautiful.

Still, it's everything I dreamed of and more. Now I want REAL RAPTORS for REAL RAPTOR POLO.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Psssst - You are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rdf4FdafRVw

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:40am

We plugged in two controllers, and it worked just fine the first time around. When we booted the game again it didn't.

Anyway, the game's graphics and gameplay was actually really cool; The music, however, was most bogus.

Good game!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Love the graphics and concept. I Included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/3dnkCRJktbw

recursor says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:06pm

I actually found someone to play this with and it was pretty fun. That poor little "ball" takes a lot of punishment.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:29am

Sometimes the ball goes slowly downwards and then dissappears sometimes forever, if you've let it go high and not touched it on it's way down.

Also, if you grab the ball and someone right in front of you is pressing the left trigger he'd get the ball before you can hit it.

We've discovered those things after playing for a while, so the game is good enough that it kept us playing quite a while.

Sound and graphics are quite good, blood is oddly pretty.

good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]