Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Defense the Base

by Jordan Kniest - Compo Entry

Defense the Base is an top down Tower Defense kind of game. After the time there are more enemies with special functions like canons.

You can unlock Lasers, Rocket Launchers, Automatic Guns and a little bit more.

Controls:
A-D / Arrows -> Rotate the Tower
Space -> Shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#753Theme3.45
#838Overall2.92
#906Fun2.68
#923Audio1.29
#1022Graphics2.34
#1047Mood2.21
#1118Innovation2.13
#1605Coolness44%

Comments

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:56am

Love it! A little frustrating at first but then you keep on buying the rotation speed upgrade and it gets freaky :p

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:30am

Yes, Very good, I spent 15 minutes playing, and want to go again. I'd allow some kind of partial heal.. I was trying to heal, but each time I'd check the price was higher than I had, and the next 2 rounds would take me even lower.. just a 'spend $x to gain 10%' would have saved me.

oh and the arbitrary.. not all elements were in one screen.. tanks came from off screen..

SolomaZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:57am

It's really nice to get instant direct deposit cash for each kill!

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:05am

It's lots of fun, and I could play it for a long time. My only complaint is that it's hard to line up the barrel when the health bar is in the way.

crewderek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13am

It was a fun game, not sure if glitch or feature but when I would fire the MP bullet it would actually collide with the bigger bullet which kind of made them useless. Slow start but other than that it was a fun game

nexyon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

Tried it on Linux, there's no UI showing up unfortunately.

Jqmfg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:06am

Good game, but would have loved some sound effects. Seems like it starts off too slow, and some instructions would have been nice. Also would be cool to see more upgrade paths.

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28am

A bit slow paced, and hard to tell when you could fire next - perhaps a cooldown timer?

Sublustris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:34am

Too slow :(

Lynx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:48am

I liked it, quite fun. Added visual and audio feedback would be cool, like a sound and lighting up the purchase button when and upgrade is unlocked and anding general SFX. But I must say: I love that fluid camera swoop animation when you go into the store!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:54am

Good game, I loved the progression. Add a bit of sound, decrased the size of the player health bar and the game is golden :)

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:18am

Took a bit to get used to, clearly I've played too many the first night, kept forgetting to shoot with space bar, but once I got going, had some fun. Nice and clean, good job!

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08am

I like defense games so thank you. Pace at start a bit slow and needs sound effects. Like the enemy models or sprites.

Keep up the good work.

paperweight says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:39am

Far too slow to start!

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:47am

Oh I was disappointed until I saw what you did with the power-up purchase system! That was nice!

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:02am

Yeah, a slow start. I didn't have the patience to play more than 5 minutes, but I'll believe all the other comments saying that it gets more fun later )

caporaltito says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:29am

Excellent! Took me some time to get in but then I was hooked! Reminds of those nice little tower defense game I used to play! Simple, yet addictive!

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Cool game, like the upgrade feature!

Johan Blade says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Fun game. I had two main problems, 1: health bar was in the way for aiming, 2: I would have liked a partial healing option

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Cool game! Love the zoom-in effect for upgrading the turret.

Shampop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Not a bad tower defense. I like the zoom on the tank, the possibilities. But it could be cooler with sound and EXPLOSIONS. But still prety cool !

Blockers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:12pm

i really love the way the camera pans inward when you go into the buy menu. ill have to agree that it was frustrating at first (Andrea) but it definately makes up for it once you have a few upgrades under your belt :D

crazyrems says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:21pm

A nice rendition of a unique screen game.
Maybe having some waves to pause between in order to buy upgrades would be better.

grid96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Nice game, a little slow though. And a cool background would have been nice ;)

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I was hoping the upgrades would do more. Could benefit from a little more balancing as even tho I spent all I had and took minimal damage, those "V" shaped wheelie enemies swarmed me and killed me very quickly. Good idea tho and feels nice to play.

vogon101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Nice game. Some flaws good goodoverall

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Simple concept which seems to me similar with a good tutorial in order to understand instantiate and controls functions. Il like too the system in order to buy features. Thank you for this pleasant entry. Well done ++

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:46pm

It is just like the title, no twists.

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Cool upgrade menu. I thought I was playing something incomplete until I clicked that, but it changed my mind.

I'm not really a fan of left/right rotate controls like this. Some of the other games have the same issue. When the turret is facing down, left/right gets inverted.

goblin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Hey! very nice game. its funny!! look my game ;)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Hi there. Liked the idea and implementation, just the right frustration on rotation speed at start I think. Shame no sounds. Be nice if the upgrades menu was keyboard operated as well, especially when closing it then jumping back into middle of battle. Probably could get harder faster after initial learning to first couple of upgrades. Good job!

TimtheBo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Too slow at the beginning! I colud'nt figure out where my rockets wehere going either.
Other than that, a great game!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:23am

The camera animation when you entered the shop was pretty neat, nice entry!

Jordan Kniest says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Thank you all for the comments!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]