Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Paper Wars

by abuzreq - Jam Entry

I had always played a similar game on paper or on Microsoft Paint
, of course it was more colorful and filled with imagination back then .
I wanted to transfer this experience to a game .
The game have serious bugs and might not be really playable
the game-play is extremely short but I really didn't had time
If you volunteered to play though , I would love to hear your opinions on the concept of the game or what would you like to see implemented in it


Game Description :

You play using the mouse
you can move the mouse over the map to see each territory
resources (what you gain from them each turn)
also by moving the mouse over the small squares of top right you have information on each faction in the game to decide whether you should attack or supply your faction .

the winner in an attack is the faction that has a larger value when multiplying army size by the army health
army health is the division of the supply over the total faction area

* You should press SPACE to move to next turn when you finish
**I might fix some critical bugs If I were able

Have Fun !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2296Coolness10%

Comments

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:23pm

I'm not sure what the aim is here. If you included a tutorial, then I feel this would be much better. As far as I can tell, it's not working properly though. Sure seems like a nice idea though, by the sounds of it, it's a little bit like Risk. Also, the entire game seems to be on the left-hand side of the screen, perhaps consider adding areas or make the current ones bigger?

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Wasn't quite sure where to start - as mentioned a tutorial may have helped point in the right direction. Also wasn't sure when phases transitioned.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Blue Army had a negative number of soldier, 10/10 :D

Cool little concept overall but in didn't really taken into account modifiers. Just waited to have more men than my oppenent.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:32am

A bit confused of what I should do when I play this game. Seems to be an innovative idea though... Looking forward to improvement in the future!

ssheep says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:34pm

this game has a good concept but i was a little confused at the start and also at the end i took over everything but the two top areas and no matter how many troops i had it wouldn't let me take it over

Rothens says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Some in-game tutorial would be great, and AI isn't too clever (always wanted to attack a territory that isn't theirs), but it's a nice concept :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:16am

It was really hard to tell what was going on, and I think at one point I was defeated, but it seemed like I then took control of that army, so maybe I'm just misunderstanding things. It might be good, but there is too little feedback as to what's going on for me to really be able to play it.

01rafael says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Psychodelic!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]