Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

GrinderX

by Msquirrel - Compo Entry

GrinderX is a Danmaku or Bullet Hell Style Game
Currently there are 2 levels in the game.
WASD to control movment, mouse to aim and fire.
That's about it!
P.S. Unzip the Contents of the Zip to a folder.
P.P.S. Please Let me know if it doesn't work on OSX / Linux as it's only windows tested. I will try to solve the problem ASAP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#799Fun2.83
#814Audio2.19
#840Humor2.00
#877Theme3.33
#943Mood2.47
#1001Overall2.72
#1031Innovation2.35
#1123Graphics2.06
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:29pm

doesn't open on mac :(

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Oh really? I'll look in to that

grid96 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33pm

really cool enemy designs, but kinda hard at some point.

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33pm

I´m not a big fan of bullet hell games. Though this is a solid implementation of one. Nice variety of enemies. Put some background music and actual graphics in it and it is a nice game! Not bad!

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35pm

DaRaziel, Thanks for playing! ^^ I'm going to try and release a post-compo version in the next couple of weeks to improve the graphics, add more levels and fix some of the issues :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:29am

Very hard, but rewarding once effort is put forth. Consider adding a "hook" to keep the players there long enough to enjoy.

Bullet hell, true enough,

rainshapes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Doesn't seem to work on mac...

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:17pm

This game was really hard but fun to play, i also like how you have added the score system, only minor complaint, you only move in 8 directions up down left right, and all of the ones in between, you should make it so that you kind of drift and can curve your movement, overall nice game :)

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:56pm

good work(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59pm

The enemy bullet patterns are good looking!

The game crashed on me as soon as the wave 2 started. I am on windows 7.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:55pm

I find it hard to move around AND shoot precisely at the same time. My eyes can't be at 3 different spots (Me, The ennemy, My cursor)

Otherwise, a well executed game ! Good job !

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:30am

Pretty good, enjoyable game. :) Nice work!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:36am

nice, cool shooter

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:02am

Hm, couldn't get it to work on my mac. Here's the error I got:

JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
_NSJVMLoadLibrary: NSAddLibrary failed for /libjawt.dylib
JavaVM FATAL: lookup of function JAWT_GetAWT failed. Exit

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]