Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Mr Snowman Visits Forbidden Temple

by voxel - Compo Entry

CONTROLS: Click where you want to go. Drag to rotate map.

Help Mr Snowman explore the FORBIDDEN TEMPLE in search of the MAGIC ICECUBE so he can stay cool in this exciting adventure for children of all ages*!

*Not suitable for children.

No web builds. Sorry but the audio doesn't work properly in the HTML5 export and because I used Unity 5 beta the webplayer doesn't work :(

If the game is too hard for you, there's a cheat guide linked.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#93Humor3.51
#95Audio3.60
#132Overall3.70
#205Mood3.37
#230Graphics3.65
#296Innovation3.51
#498Theme3.64
#521Fun3.11

Comments

Crushenator says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18pm

I find the technical proficiency of this intimidating. 11/10 will rate again.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Completely indecipherable logic at play here. I have no idea what is going on ever.

Also no button to exit the game and I had to alt f4. :/

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:27pm

The snowman is so cute ! The ending is really surprising x)

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Nice !

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:58am

Love the style, the graphics and the idea ! But searching the magic cube isn't really fun...

joekinley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:29am

Brilliant.
I loved it. The graphics were pretty cool, overall it looked very nice.
It was a ton of fun playing the game, mostly because of that cute jump sound of that snowman.
It was a fun game.

Best part: The ending. Oh my god the ending was amazing. Awesome. Really awesome. Had a ton of fun, although it took me way too long to finish the maze, until I realized I ran in circles... oh my.

Great work. I love it.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:54am

Great game! So unique concept and fun to play!

Norgg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:20pm

You win this round, Mister Snowman.

Good use of pitch-shifting. Also good use of vocal chords.

the31 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:31pm

A solid Wat/Wat! Great ending, impossible-to-understand maze. Good graphics, nice touch making it so you can rotate around the levels to check them out. And, of course, great audio.

Troilk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:47am

Wow, that was really weird but funny! :)

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:48am

I was expecting some use on optical illusion in game mechanics because I saw that you can rotate the scene 360 degree... Anyway, considering the little time Game Jam gives, this game is still very impressive, from graphics, to audio, to the feel of the game... And I haven't solved the game's puzzle yet, so I'm going back to playing it!
Great job!

voxel says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Just a reminder that there's a link to the 'cheaters map' up above that helps direct you at key intersections.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Cute snowman :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Ha ha! DAT ENDING. Hilarious. :) If I had one (minor) critique I would say maybe introduce the multiple buttons slightly earlier, it all seemed a bit too simple at first and I wondered if I was missing something! Other than that I really quite enjoyed solving the maze and the quirky humour. Nice one!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:50pm

That theme song was inspired.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Found the ice cube. I am cool :p. LOVED THE ENDING!!!
Very impressive game!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Great animations and sounds!

ghostonline says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Winter will never be the same again...

Florent says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Ah ah very nice !

Managore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:56am

Those sound effects! That song! That ending! Incredible.

syawqy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:06am

I just used the cheat

apiotrw says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:32am

Pretty wierd ... I liked it :D

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice idea, nice game. :)

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:36am

Needs an extra something, just not sure what. I still loved it though!

Dezzles says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:35am

That ending

KyleDAudio says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:42am

I really liked the graphics and audio. I think the cheery song is really good and I liked how it slows down to convey progress. Nice mechanic! I really appreciate the unforeseen rewarding ending too! :)

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:12am

That ending! This is the highest ratings I've given to a game so far.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:09pm

I really like the concept, and I think you could make a pretty cool puzzle game out of this. Most levels are just get from point a to point b, I think there should be more puzzles. Great use of the theme though.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:53pm

The game was really funny. I loved the music and the ending made me go 'wtf?' in a good way. :P

I liked the control, moving the bouncy snowman to the beat of the music was fun... But I was just clicking around and going to random places and I won within 2 minutes. I wasn' quite sure where to go or why. XD

Still fun though. :)

vekjeft says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Perfectly crazy, and excellently excecuted.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]