Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Waiting in the Sky

by Ysty - Compo Entry

Audio is required, I'm afraid. Waiting in the Sky is a game about watching an alien race, Humans, waiting for the right time to make contact. The entire game is played on one screen as you screen radio transmissions on the in-game computer screen. I'm pretty happy with how the game came out. It's the first time I've ever made a font during Ludum Dare, and in the end I think it saved me more time that it took me since I didn't have to hand write everything.

Tools Used:
Unity3D (for making the game)
GiMP (for doing the art)
Audacity (for editing the sound)
iFontMaker (for making the font)
Stylophone (for making synth sounds)
iPod (for recording sounds/voice)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#60Mood3.73
#134Audio3.47
#143Graphics3.85
#275Overall3.49
#289Theme3.82
#372Innovation3.38
#677Humor2.33
#916Fun2.67

Comments

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:49am

Really neat game. I liked all the audio transmissions and the atmosphere (or lack thereof since it's in space).

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Really good concept! Some subtitles would have been appreciated, but really great overall! Thank you! :D

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:06pm

It looks cool, but the transmissions always seem to fade out after 2 seconds. Is this intended? I finished it, but didn't get the story.

dekkuran says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Prof. Illjoy... will Americans ever stop... ;D Amusing, like it. Although I thought the puzzles were slightly too simplistic and never really went anywhere. The atmosphere was really cool and original.

indigofiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:12pm

A really unique experience. Best one in terms of mood so far! :D. It's too bad I didn't get to make that atmosphere joke first.

*sigh*

taviandir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Haha you even made the font during the 48 hours? I thought creating fonts takes a really long time? :O Cozy game, for sure. It took me a while to realise that the stars in the background are rotating too :D

Aglavra says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:17pm

I liked the mood of the game and the interpretation of the theme. Two small problems: it is easy to accidentally lose a figure behind the edge of the screen, so I would need to start over; after the second scan I get two round holes and one squared, and circle, square and rhombus to fit in... Or do I miss something?

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Really nice game. Great audio, which sort of goes without saying really. I felt quite happy and relaxed when I finished.

Halfbus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:42pm

website not available :(

Ysty says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:49pm

@Halfbus It looks like the servers I was hosting on had a hiccup, but they seem to be fine now. I've uploaded it to itch.io and added that link as an alternative just in case, though.

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18pm

stuck on one single screen, yet monitoring space...

camdensegal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Really cool, especially loved the earth model (and the moon's shadow passing over it)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Hi there. Nice pacing, just the right sized gaps in activity. Like the childhoods' end prequel aspect. Nice little pastime ;) Got to contact. Good job!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:36pm

I'm not sure about the gameplay, but the graphics and the atmosphere are reaaaaally cool !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Very cool game. Graphics are gorgeous, and everything is well polished. Awesome work!

brokenbeach says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Unusual concept. But very atmospheric and lovely visuals.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59pm

The mood is of the top! Loved the scan lines and the style of it all.
that said the actual mechanics and puzzles were a bit simplistic i think.

never the less very well done :)
this was the first LD31 game that inspired me to stop and think for a while. thank you for that :3

AmyDee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Some of the audio felt like it cut off too quickly. Great concept though. The more advanced shape-matching bits started to get real interesting. Oh and cool font :)

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:53pm

very good indeed

stalker1586 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:41am

Great idea. I think some music, mini games would make it cooler =)

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Simple game and easy to understand. I heard someone say something but after a few seconds it just stoped. Anyway great game, for a compo..

anokta says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:30pm

really liked the mood of the game! gameplay felt a bit odd at start, but i think i got used to it after a few tries. not sure if it lands to an end though? :)

peterkirk says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:49am

I enjoyed this game a lot. The visual and audio were beautiful. Puzzles were a bit simple, but I didn't feel they needed to be more complex.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Loved the graphical style! Simple but cool feeling transmission decoding gameplay. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]