Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Spectrum

by dark_hunter - Jam Entry

Controlling only one space ship, equipped with advanced tech, facing many enemies at once. That is SPECTRUM.

In order to defeat all your enemies, you have your basic attack and 3 special attacks, each with its own energy bar.
When an attack is not used, its energy will recharge over time.
Using special attack will change your ship's color. In this mode you can absorb enemies' projectiles with the same color and restore health.

CONTROLS:

Arrows - Movement
Q - Laser Beam
W - Ice Mode
E - Energy Shells
Space - Reset to normal attack
Pressing Q,W and E will toggle its special attack. Press it again to reset to normal attack

ABOUT RESOURCES
Except for the code, particles and user interface, everything else is from free to use sources.

REQUIRMENTS
.Net Framework 4.0
XNA 4 Runtime (included in the rar)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#377Graphics(Jam)3.54
#379Fun(Jam)3.22
#479Audio(Jam)2.77
#554Overall(Jam)3.15
#693Mood(Jam)2.77
#748Innovation(Jam)2.64
#813Theme(Jam)3.15
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

chibiFlux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39am

This unfortunately requires a specific version of the .NET framework, I imagine a lot of people (me included) don't want to search for that separately. The screenshots do look pretty cool though.

Zayron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:43pm

This was fun. I like how you can switch weapons and the energy bars on the side.

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

I have played your game and i have a lot of fun. These are my comments:
- Very nice music and graphics, but the game needs more sounds for the weapons, damage, etc. That touch would improve the gameplay, but in general, very good entry.

borgi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:52pm

I always liked shmups. This is a good one! Good job!

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Nice use of free resources.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:33pm

My first to LD entries were in XNA - And seeing how much you've done in such a short time is impressive! Good job! I liked the idea about the special weapons, and the ability to absorb the colored projectiles accordingly. I enjoyed playing this! Some sound effects would've really added to the experience though! Good job!

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Worked fine here. I don't like to download, but since it is a shmup... :P
I missed some sfx only, but overall pretty decent shmup :D
Gratz!

ketura says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Ah, so it's a multispectrum Ikaruga, nice! The ice power is a bit hard to actually regenerate with since it keeps bullets at bay. Add some audio and baby, you got a real game goin.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Well, I've got XNA 4.0 installed already, but XNA always fails as hard as it can. Never rely on it...
Aside from that, gameplay wise the stuff is cool, I love the mechanics, the music is cool, but additional sound effects could help. Cool.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:07pm

The assorbing energy of certain colours is a nice touch. It could do with some more sound effects though.

-C

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Scrolling shooters will never die! :)

semdog says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Nice work. I liked the regenerating weapon supplies idea, and the different characteristics of the weapons. Well done :)

Sublustris says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:52am

Love it

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]