Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

One Room Dungeon

by HacksawUnit - Compo Entry

One Room Dungeon is an action game for one player!

Why explore a giant dungeon full of monsters, keys, and chests, when you can find it all in one room instead?

Use the arrow keys and the spacebar to walk around and use your sword, respectively. Walk over to or whack a key to pick it up. Walk over to or whack a chest to open it.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#145Fun3.62
#147Audio3.45
#219Theme3.90
#222Overall3.56
#271Graphics3.55
#420Humor2.70
#541Mood2.95
#698Innovation2.94
#1742Coolness39%

Comments

Elrobo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:03am

Nice music, sets a good pace. I like the style of game, just some minor nitpicks, I wish you could swing the sword up/down or that it used an arc. The enemies could use another second or so of inactive time as there was many times I instantly died to a sparkle starting under me while moving. Finally I would have liked to see shadows for the jumping enemies.


Got 7 chests.

deathray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:04am

Great use the of the theme, nice graphics and nice gameplay. My high score was 6 chests. The only thing I would improve is to make it even speedier to re-start the level after you die.

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06am

The music is nice, fits well with the game. A bit fast for me, but overall pretty good.

Zabuza says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16am

I like it! Its a fun and simple game, but I cannot hit enemies for the life of me! :P

khahem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19am

Nice gameplay, frenetic and fun. Only managed a high score of 4 but I'll try again !

Sestren says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

Pretty fun and simple, but attacking seems counterproductive. Since the enemies respawn immediately after dying and enemies increase over time, it seems focusing on just running works better.

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:23am

Good job! Pretty fun, took a while to get used to the attacking, but it makes it a nice challenge!

Only managed to get 9 chests though ;_;

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21am

Very nice! I played several times and couldn't do better than 5 chests, so I think the difficulty is pretty good. Graphics and music are good, well done!

Kabukky says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:18am

So much fun! Usually suck at fast paced action games. This is no exception - but it's still an awesome game. Couldn't stop trying, only managed a high score of 6 at the end though.

sanojian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:25am

Wow it is hard. Really smooth movement and animation. Can be frustrating when stuff spawns on top of you. Seems random. Otherwise great fun!

MetroidMan347 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:46am

I like it! :)

dorkster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:26am

Great job on this. I think you did a good job balancing the difficulty. It's difficult (my top score is 4), but it feels entirely possible to do well.

Although, I wish I could swing the sword up/down like others have mentioned.

Miltage says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:47am

Killing enemies is far too tricky, easier to just avoid them and go for the chests.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56am

Fun and fast! theres a bit of a trick to getting a shot on baddies, but running away and letting them build up ends badly too. Nice job!

liamtwose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Only got 4 chests lol. Great little quick-based dungeon game :)

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Your description is like a direct shot at my game--and I love it! Lots of fun, but the melee combat is difficult. Would be nice if the chests had powerups sometimes, maybe increased range would be useful?

Pepelumen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:45am

Love the animations! And the key & chest mechanic to advance through the waves... clever

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:00am

Really like the concept and the art, but I disliked not being able to attack up or downward. Couldn't get past 3 chests :(

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Hi there. Like the idea, pixel graphics and chip sounds. The game is a bit hard I thought, tough to combat and not lose health, got 1 chest eventually... A bit more generosity to start with for those of us with crappy reactions would be appreciated... Good job!

DA_KID says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Crazy polish. Fun but a little difficult. Could use difficulty settings.

LethalyGuy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:43am

Veeery neat game! I liked almost every single aspect of this game. It's simple to play, has cool pixel arts, nice soundtrack, a good take in the theme and very fun to play! The only thing is the lack of content (more monsters, abilities and what not), but that would be simply resolved with more time spent on the game. Good job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:10am

Simple game, but very cute! I Included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Kdfz6b6_ebE

wooltech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:31am

Harder than I expected, but fun! Fits the theme well and I certainly looks the part.

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:31am

Me and my girlfriend enjoyed it. But you know that already :P

svenardo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Fun, simple and hard :)

Murchurl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Feels like one of those fast paced addicting games like flappy bird where you have to keep going back for more! Nice entry!

erik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:25am

Really nicely presented. The visuals, audio, and animation work really well together. Combat against the enemies is so hard though.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Psssst! You're on today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oT_X55pxfvc

freaknarf says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Simple and effective :) it's smooth!

sputnik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Quite fast but nicely done. Good music. Perfect bballoon popping!

Eduardo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Nice entry!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:10pm

It was fun, but frustrating. Would like to have health, even if just two points of it.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Love the arcade feel, the music, the sounds... everything!

Totally dig the distillation of a dungeon game down into a one-screen game.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Nice game, I dig the pixelart and the overall polish. It's really fun but there also some annyoing things.
The enemies should just be one-hit, the way they are pushed out of the sword hitbox got me killed several times. Also stuff shouldn't spawn right below you, or make the time before it appears a little bit longer, it's no fun when there is not time to react, and it instead depends more on luck.

Highscore was 17 chests.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:05am

I only wish if it was easier to hit enemies :( freakin bastards

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:27am

It was fantastic though I think you should speed up the respawn time.

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:05am

fantastic, i love how well the music goes with the game

OttersDen says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:10am

This is awesome! Short, difficult, fast-paced gameplay. Super addicting and fun! Attention to detail, like the screen shaking, is a huge plus! Nicely done.

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Good job! I like the real Atari feel that this game produces. It's fast paced, well balanced and sounds amazingly good.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:42am

Man I dig this! Very well designed, and very fun! Lowrez pixelart is really cohesive with the style/mood, it all just works. Bravo!

TehSkull says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:34am

Fun! Needs a bit of hit detection work, but definitely worth developing further. I like it!

A gift from MrTorb: http://puu.sh/dtTae/cb3301fadb.png

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:08am

The felt fast paced and hectic. There were time when I knew I was going to get hit by an enemy but it felt like the death animation played early. The enemies definitely needed more time before activating to let the player avoid them.

If you were to continue this postcompo I'd tell you to work on the game feel and either remove the sword and focus on movement or make swordplay feel better.

-AlucardX60

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:20pm

The first monster spawned on top of my head so... I died. Twice.

I really like the way the controls feel in this game. I can tell a lot of though went into it. Good job

alfie275 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Awesome game, I got a high score of 9 :D
Video is here btw: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rzv85NktiR4

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:56pm

love it, very simple and cute little arcade, great sounds and visuals, well done :)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:35am

I really liked this. Simple, slick and well done. Felt like a 2600 game updated :) Agree with some of the above comments on combat.

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:34am

Wow this game is really good! It was punishing, but most of the time I felt the death was my own fault and I wanted to keep playing.

There as some nice depth to this game.. The enemies were each interesting and took a little while to figure out, and even then they were tough. There was also a good balance between strategies of keeping the board clear vs sprinting ahead for chests.

I wasn't very good, I only got 5, but I could see myself coming back for another try on this one, it was memorable.

Plus it had a great look and a very nice feel with lots of attention to detail.

Very nice work.

TrentSterling says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Pretty hard. Felt like my weapon didn't really do anything. I did better just running around in circles than fighting.

radmars says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:31am

Nice! Really fun, great audio too. Dealing with things spawning on top of you can be pretty annoying though. Got some occasional lag in Firefox as well btw.

davient says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:55am

Nice concept. Needs rounding out to add up and down attack. Could expand with some secondary objectives and upgrades? Solid little entry

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Almost a perfect package. Had a lot of fun, although the weapon is practically useless.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:05am

Pretty cool little arena combat game. Very simple mechanics, but it builds up to be very difficult rather quickly without getting too frustrated. I like how fast it is to get back into the game, and I found myself playing over and over again even though I had just figured I'd play one more time. The fact that you cannot attack up is rather difficult to deal with considering the enemies have a fair amount of vertical movement. The jumping enemy was particularly difficult to deal with since it was immune to damage while jumping and seemed to have a little bit of immunity after it was just hit. The rusher enemies were fun to fight since you could kind of combo them against the wall, however doing so would sometimes push them off your horizontal plane so that you had to adjust to be able to attack them again. This would happen somewhat randomly, which was frustrating. I really think if you were able to hit the jumping enemies while they were mid jump animation, the game would have been a lot more fun for me. I think the spawning sometimes put me in unrecoverable situations without me being able to do much about it. The rate at which enemies spawned in became unmanageable after maybe a minute, which is pretty good as far as the difficulty ramp goes, but the fact that the key and chest spawn in random locations each time the level resets meant that I was mostly lucky to get a higher score than more skillful. I feel like maybe there should have been some kind of rebounding mechanic to keep you in the game once it got to the point where there were too many enemies. The art was really good for being as low pixel density as it was. The enemies and player character were pretty expressive, and the play field was very clear. The music was pretty spot on for this type of game and the sound effects gave good feedback for hits. Pretty solid entry overall. Thanks for letting me play your game!

Maxw3ll says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:08am

Sweet! Good choices on the blocks appearing, and would love to see more content on it

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]