Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Ludum Dare Cereal box

by Silii - Jam Entry

Hi guys !

I'm too busy this time to make a real game ! :(

But i don't forget about you and i make this One game in One screen !

Like me, who played every morning on the game behind cereal boxes, you can now play on the Ludum Dare Cereal box !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#20Humor(Jam)4.11
#62Innovation(Jam)3.94
#400Theme(Jam)3.66
#492Graphics(Jam)3.30
#557Mood(Jam)2.96
#899Overall(Jam)2.69
#978Fun(Jam)2.15

Comments

Silii says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:28pm

I hope you'll love my cereal box. :D
Feel free to comment, so I can see your compo!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:52am

cool

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:22am

=== kappa

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:23am

Some of the roads doesn't fit my pointer.

PeerPlay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24am

Haha, i tried clicking a few times before I noticed the controller was my eyes!

43iscoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:50am

Sad, that you didn't have enough time for LD =( Cereal box is wonderful :D Wish u good luck (and time) for LD32

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:56am

was dissapointed the box didn't fit on one screen :s

gave you 4 start isntead of 5 because of that :p

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:57am

Heh, funny

SumGato says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:58am

Haha, nice idea. I want a real LD cereal box!

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Clever!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59am

XD this is funny :D
also check my project x)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Hi there. Nice board game - of sorts! Very topical (in UK anyway... today...) because manufacturers in food industry trying to get Pizza (among other things) included in 5 a day fruit/veg, if they have a fruit/veg on them! Darn corporations etc. Good job on cereal box!

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Attempting to rate this seriously is... hard. It's innovative, yes. I've never seen a game which is just a picture of a cereal box. But simultaneously, as a game, it's pretty awful. I mean what gameplay is there; there's just a maze. You could at least have made it a sudoku or something. I won't deny that there's a certain absurd humour in this, and visually, it's not bad even though some of your assets are grabbed straight from Minecraft. But it's not fun at all and that's the most important factor. My deepest condolences: 1/5 stars. Would not recommend.
It'd be funny if this wins.

Kim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Kind of clever :P

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Nice...well box.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:01pm

This was a very, very clever idea. 4/5 would buy.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:42pm

GG

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Most original "game" I've "played" this LD :D

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Not very funny, the labyrinth is too easy. And out of theme, a cereal box isn't a screen...

(no, really funny and cool idea: it's in one screen AND one frame!)

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Haha should definitely be a thing! Cool that you made something despite real life getting in the way :)

klianc09 says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:25pm

I don't know what to say, somehow it's really clever, but at the same time it's really silly, which isn't necessarilly a bad thing...
And it feels a bit unfinished with all the lorem ipsum text at the bottom and the tiny unreadable stuff on the side.
At least now we know how Mike can fund Ludum Dare. By selling Ludum Dare cereals! :D

Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Hardcore :o)

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Very, very clever. The side of the box looks kinda weird though, not sure why.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]